NAC Indigenous Theatre

Launching in 2019

January 20, 2017

2017 has arrived!

2017. The year the first Artistic Director of Indigenous Theatre begins their role at the National Arts Centre! It has arrived.  Getting to here has been a full and rewarding time and we are now up to the final bend in the road. Interviews for the applicants are taking place in February. The Elders Council will be meeting as a group for the first time during that month as well, and the Advisory Committee continues its work supporting all the endeavours. We will have more news about all of this in next month update.

Leading up to the new year, Sarah Garton Stanley and Kari Cullen along with Natali Zuniga, Cultural Heritage, City of Ottawa,  have been working with Chief Kirby Whiteduck from Pikwàkanagàn and Chief Jean-Guy Whiteduck from Kitigan Zibi Anishinabeg to form an Algonquin advisory committee. We are looking to this advisory group  to help focus the National Arts Centre on identifying and developing symbolic, programmatic and visual opportunities to build a more respectful, welcoming and inclusive building. The plan is for this advisory to meet for the first time in February. More details to come next month!

January 17th marks the 4th educational session for the employees of the NAC. This time it is facilitated by Wanda Botsford and Alicia Blore, both Education officers with the Métis Nation of Ontario. The first presentation will provide an overview of who the Métis are: their history, culture and contemporary identity. The second presentation is a hands-on or more appropriately a “feets-on” interactive presentation on Métis Dance. The third presentation is a Métis perspective on Louis Riel that offers a different view than those found in most history books.

Looking way down the road to June 15 and 16,  we are excited about an Indigenous focus Symposium taking place as a part of Canada Scene at the NAC. Sarah Garton Stanley and Brittany Ryan have been working with PhD candidate Lindsay Lachance who will curate and facilitate a critical discussion on developing tools for artists/scholars/writers/practitioners to mobilize around the discourse of Indigenous Theatre in Canada.

As always if you have any questions, or just want to be in touch please contact Brittany at brittany.ryan@nac-cna.ca

‹ Back to timeline
Menu

Théâtre autochtone CNA

20 janvier 2017

2017 est là!

Nous voici enfin en 2017, l’année où le tout premier directeur artistique du Théâtre autochtone du Centre national des Arts entrera en fonction! La route fut longue, mais extrêmement gratifiante, et nous arriverons bientôt à destination. Les entrevues des candidats auront lieu en février, le conseil des aînés se réunira également durant ce mois, et le comité consultatif poursuivra son travail de supervision du processus. Nous vous tiendrons bien sûr informés de la suite des choses lors de notre mise à jour du mois prochain.

Juste avant l’arrivée de la nouvelle année, Sarah Garton Stanley et Kari Cullen, en collaboration avec Natali Zuniga, du Patrimoine culturel à la ville d’Ottawa, ont travaillé avec le chef Kirby Whiteduck de la nation d’Oikwàkanagàn et le chef Jean-Guy Whiteduck de la nation de Kitigan Zibi Anishinabeg à la création du comité consultatif algonquin. Ce groupe-conseil aidera le Centre national des Arts à développer les éléments symboliques, visuels et de programmation pour que l’immeuble soit plus accueillant, respectueux et inclusif. La première réunion du comité est prévue pour le mois de février. Plus de détails suivront le mois prochain!

Le quatrième atelier éducatif à l’intention des employés du CNA a eu lieu le 17 janvier. Wanda Botsford et Alicia Blore, toutes deux agentes pédagogiques à la Métis Nation of Ontario, en étaient les animatrices. La première présentation consistait en un survol de l’histoire et de la culture des Métis et de leur identité contemporaine. La deuxième présentation a consisté en un atelier pratique sur les danses métisses, alors que la troisième présentation portait sur la perspective métisse sur Louis Riel, perspective fort différente de celle que l’on trouve dans les livres d’histoire.

Nous attendons avec impatience la tenue, les 15 et 16 juin, du symposium qui se tiendra dans le cadre de la Scène Canada au CNA. Sarah Garton Stanley et Brittany Ryan travaillent en étroite collaboration avec la doctorante Lindsay Lachance, qui animera une discussion sur le développement d’outils qui permettront aux artistes, chercheurs, auteurs et praticiens de donner une direction au Théâtre autochtone du Canada.

Comme toujours, n’hésitez pas à communiquer avec Brittany à brittany.ryan@nac-cna.ca si vous avez des questions ou commentaires.

‹ Retour aux mises à jour
Menu