NAC Indigenous Theatre

Launching in 2019

December 20, 2016

What a year!

Every month of it has brought us one step closer to the launching of Indigenous Theatre at the NAC. We hope you have found our monthly updates informative and that you will continue to contact us at  brittany.ryan@nac-cna.ca with questions and feedback.

It has been a full and exciting fall as we finally slip into snowy winter. In November, Tanya Tagaq performed to a sold out crowd, with an incredible and improvised show based on her new album ‘Retribution’. On the Monday following her show, Tanya Tagaq also gave an artist talk to the NAC employees. It was a direct, informative and educational talk about the realities of living and working as an Indigenous woman in Canada.

Also at the end of November, Sarah Garton Stanley and Brittany Ryan had the pleasure of meeting Alannah Johnston, an intern working with the Alianait Arts Festival in Iqaluit, NU. Alannah visited the NAC to meet with several leaders in Ottawa and attended CINARS in Montreal to learn more about arts administration, with a particular interest in music presentation. Alannah’s passion to support her community and the arts is astounding. It is incredibly important to continue to build up our emerging Indigenous arts leaders, managers, administrators, and presenters.

Moving into December, we saw the application deadline for the Artistic Director of Indigenous Theatre close. Since May of 2016 the Advisory Committee has been focused on gathering feedback from the community and making recommendations to the NAC on a process for this historic and momentous hiring. The committee will remain active in supporting all involved in a positive, energetic and healthy move towards the eventual announcement of the leadership.

On December 12th, documentary filmmaker Alanis Obomsawin, was at the NAC to show her film Trick or Treaty?  She followed the screening with a frank, informative and inspiring artists talk with the NAC employees. Alanis shared stories of her filmmaking process and the importance of listening and building relationships with her subjects before a story emerges. The bilingual (French and English) afternoon was presented in collaboration with the National Film Board of Canada. Alanis Obomsawin is the longest standing employee at the NFB and the only director still on salary. Her stories, like Tanya Tagaq, were inspiring and filled with hard looks at reality. That said, and repeated often, Alanis Obomsawin said how she saw the 7th generation in today’s youth, and that she is certain that we are at a great moment for Indigenous people, the likes of which have never before been seen.

Since September 1, and Suzanne Keeptwo’s first bilingual educational workshop, the NAC employees have been afforded a monthly opportunity to learn more and more about Indigenous perspectives and histories. In October Kevin Lamoureux, from the University of Winnipeg was here, in November, Tanya Tagaq, and finally, to finish the season off, Alanis Obomsawin with another bilingual (French and English) session.

It is anticipated that the NAC will continue these educational interventions in 2017:

  • in preparation for Indigenous Theatre,
  • towards  building right relations with the Algonquin Anishinabeg people, upon whose unceded land the NAC resides,
  • to become more broadly shaped and inspired by the First Peoples of this country.

Amidst the inspiring music, film, and conversations, the Advisory Committee along with Sarah Garton Stanley and Brittany Ryan have been working to form the Elders Council who will advise and support the hiring process as the various committees begin to go through the applications for the Artistic Director. It is also important to note that the size of the Vetting and Selection Committee increased to 8 and 6 respectively. Our first diagram sent out to you suggested 7 and 4. This was done to ensure broader representation for all. Debbie Collins, Director of Human Resources and her team received questions, feedback  and applications from potential candidates, and have been prepping the applications for the Vetting Committee. Thank you to those who have sent feedback, concerns, and questions along the way. Your voice is important as it shapes how we move forward with this new process.

We wish you all a warm, safe, and happy holidays. As always, if you have any questions or comments please contact us at brittany.ryan@nac-cna.ca.

See you in 2017!

‹ Back to timeline
Menu

Théâtre autochtone CNA

20 décembre 2016

Quelle année nous avons eue!

Alanis Obomsawin et Sarah Garton Stanley
Tanya Tagaq pen prestation au CNA

Chaque mois de l’année nous a permis d’avancer dans la création du Théâtre autochtone au CNA comme en témoignent nos mises à jour mensuelles, et nous espérons que vous continuerez à nous faire parvenir vos commentaires et questions à brittany.ryan@nac-cna.ca.

Nous arrivons à l’hiver après un automne fort occupé. En novembre, Tanya Tagaq a donné une extraordinaire prestation improvisée à guichets fermés, interprétant notamment les chansons de son plus récent album Retribution. Le lundi suivant le spectacle, Tanya Tagaq a rencontré les employés du CNA et leur a parlé avec franchise de ce que signifie vivre et travailler lorsqu’on est une femme autochtone au Canada.

À la fin du mois de novembre, Sarah Garton Stanley et Brittany Ryan ont eu le plaisir de rencontrer Alannah Johnston, stagiaire au Alianait Arts Festival d’Iqaluit, Nunavut. Au CNA, Alannah a rencontré plusieurs leaders du milieu et a aussi participé à CINARS à Montréal pour parfaire sa formation en administration des arts, plus particulièrement dans le domaine de la prestation musicale. La passion d’Alannah pour les arts et le développement de sa communauté est remarquable. Il est extrêmement important de continuer à soutenir nos leaders, gestionnaires, administrateurs et diffuseurs autochtones dans le domaine des arts.

En décembre s’est terminée la période d’appel de candidatures pour le poste de directeur ou directrice artistique du Théâtre autochtone. Depuis mai 2016, le comité consultatif a recueilli les commentaires et suggestions de la communauté sur cet important et historique processus d’embauche. Le comité poursuivra son travail de soutien à tous ceux qui sont engagés dans ce processus à la fois positif, dynamique et transparent qui mènera à la nomination du directeur ou de la directrice artistique du théâtre autochtone.

Le 12 décembre, la documentariste Alanis Obomsawin a présenté au CNA son film Ruse ou traité?  Après la présentation du film, dans une discussion franche, inspirante et informative avec les employés du CNA, la cinéaste a parlé du processus de réalisation de son film et notamment de l’importance d’être à l’écoute de ses sujets et d’établir avec eux une solide relation avant que l’histoire du film ne prenne forme. Tenu en après-midi, cet événement bilingue a été présenté en collaboration avec l’Office national du film du Canada. Alanis Obomsawin est aujourd’hui la plus ancienne employée permanente de l’ONF et la seule cinéaste salariée. Comme ce fut le cas avec Tanya Tagaq, Alanis Obomsawin a tenu des propos inspirants et très lucides sur la réalité vécue par les peuples autochtones. Mais elle a aussi parlé du concept de la septième génération et des jeunes d’aujourd’hui, soulignant que les peuples autochtones vivent aujourd’hui une période extraordinaire et unique dans leur histoire.

Depuis le 1er septembre, Suzanne Keeptwo anime, à l’intention des employés du CNA, des ateliers bilingues sur la perspective et l’histoire des peuples autochtones. En octobre, nous avons eu la visite de Kevin Lamoureux, de l’Université de Winnipeg, puis ce fut Tanya Tagaq en novembre et, pour clore la saison, Alanis Obomsawin qui a animé une autre rencontre bilingue (français et anglais).

On pense que le CNA poursuivra ces rencontres éducatives en 2017 en vue :

  • de préparer l’arrivée du Théâtre autochtone;
  • de développer de saines relations avec la Première nation Algonquine Anishinabeg, dont le territoire non cédé abrite le CNA;
  • d’être influencé et inspiré par les Premières nations de notre pays.

En plus des présentations de films, et de musique, et des rencontres d’artistes, le comité consultatif, en collaboration avec Sarah Garton Stanley et Brittany Ryan, a travaillé avec le conseil des aînés qui agira comme groupe-conseil et de soutien aux divers comités engagés dans le processus d’embauche du directeur ou de la directrice artistique du Théâtre autochtone. Il importe également de souligner que le comité d’examen est passé de sept à huit membres, et que le comité de sélection est passé de quatre à six membres afin d’assurer une meilleure représentation. La directrice des Ressources humaines Debbie Collins et son équipe ont reçu les questions, les réponses et les demandes des divers candidats et ont préparé les documents de candidature pour le comité d’examen. Merci à tous ceux qui nous ont fait parvenir leurs commentaires, leurs préoccupations et leurs questions sur ce processus. Votre opinion est importante pour nous tout au long de ce processus.

Nous vous souhaitons de chaleureuses et joyeuses fêtes, en toute sécurité. Comme toujours, n’hésitez pas à nous faire parvenir vos commentaires et questions à brittany.ryan@nac-cna.ca.

Au plaisir de poursuivre nos échanges en 2017!

‹ Retour aux mises à jour
Menu