NAC Indigenous Theatre

Launching in 2019

October 20, 2016

New and exciting paths...

Secret Path
Secret Path

As Fall starts to show, the Advisory is beginning to move onto new and exciting paths. We have a few different updates to share with you. But first off, we want to extend further thanks to those who responded to the proposed recommendations from the Advisory to the NAC with respect to the hiring process. Your feedback is highly valued and we are grateful for your thoughtfulness. The recommendations were submitted to the NAC on September 30, 2106. Since then, the advisory committee along with Brittany Ryan and Sarah Garton Stanley have been working with Human Resources on the job announcement and for the first Artistic Director of Indigenous Theatre. While the technical aspects of the hiring process has now shifted to human resources, there is still much for the Advisory Committee to do.

The Committee comprised of Reneltta Arluk, Dave Jenniss, Annie Smith St. Georges, Jesse Wabegijig, and Kenneth T. Williams will be coming together for another day long meeting on October 24th to discuss next steps. Now what?

Some of the goals of this meeting are to discuss what it looks like to shift into a committee of support for the Community and for the NAC, generating ideas and suggestions for the specifics of the hiring process -- namely, what the “Community Engagement” process looks like, the process for engaging with the Elders Council, and helping provide names for for the different committees that will need to be formed as the applications for the Artistic Director, Indigenous Theatre move forward. October 24th is timely because the committee’s role will be shifting as soon as the job description is released to the public and community at large.  The announcement is expected to go public at the end of October. Exciting times!

On October 18th, Sarah and Brittany had the tremendous pleasure of witnessing Gord Downie’s Secret Path in concert at the NAC. Gord’s questioning of what it means to be “Canadian”, the words of Justice Murray Sinclair and, of course, the story of Chanie Wenjack moved him to write an album exposing Canada’s truths. Secret Path is completely dedicated to Chanie Wenjack who died while fleeing the Cecilia Jeffrey Indian Residential School near Kenora, ON. You can read Gord Downie’s full statement here and see the NAC event description here.

The NAC has also been continuing its work with a variety Indigenous educators and speakers. We’re very excited to share news that Kevin Lamoureux, Associate Vice President - Indigenous affairs at the University of Winnipeg, will be leading a small group of NAC employees through “a range of topics including: treaties, research, consultation and engagement, as well as exploration of how Indigenous youth are reshaping universities and the wider Canadian society.” He will be spending the day with us, at the NAC, on October 25, 2016

Kevin’s biography is below:

Kevin Lamoureux is the Associate Vice President – Indigenous affairs at the University of Winnipeg. He comes into this role having served as an award winning course Instructor for the U of W, the University of Manitoba, and several other post-secondary institutions. He is a well-known public speaker, a writer, and co-host of the popular podcast The Frank and Kevin Show: In Colour (a free, sometimes funny resource on topics of Indigenous education and politics). Lamoureux served as co-Chair for the Provincial Task Force on Educational Outcomes for Children in Care in 2015 and his writing and reports have been featured in the Winnipeg Free Press, Grassroots News and many academic journals. He has been seen on local television (including APTN and the CBC news), heard around the world through his podcast (which is downloaded in over a dozen different countries), and he has given presentations around the globe (from Australia, to Thailand, parts of Europe, the United States and throughout Canada). Lamoureux was named Scholar in Residence and Divisional Day Speaker for the Seven Oaks School Division, Diversity Coach for Sunrise School Division, Divisional Day Speaker for St. James School Division, and works closely with education authorities across the country. He has consulted for government, justice, philanthropy, and throughout the private sector.

Kevin Lamoureux is working towards his PhD in the University of Manitoba's Wellness and Sustainability cohort. He works closely with schools throughout Manitoba in support of Aboriginal education and the inclusion of Aboriginal perspectives; enrichment and talent development, as well as working with troubled and disengaged students. He is the recent recipient of the Aboriginal Circle of Educators Honouring Our Ways award, the Robin H. Farquhar Award for Excellence in Contributing to Self-Governance as nominated by his colleagues, the University of Winnipeg's Merit Award, the International Center for Innovation in Education (ICIE) Young Scholar Award, and the University of New England’s Merit award for outstanding academic performance. As the Associate Vice President of the University of Winnipeg, Lamoureux is working in partnership with many to nurture safe space for Indigenous learners and knowledge.

Thank you for taking the time to read these updates.
As always, we welcome your feedback/thoughts/suggestions…
Please feel free to send them to Brittany at brittany.ryan@nac-cna.ca.
We look forward to sharing more updates with you!

‹ Back to timeline
Menu

Théâtre autochtone CNA

20 octobre 2016

Nouveaux et forts stimulants sentiers...

Secret Path
Secret Path

En ce début d’automne, le comité consultatif emprunte de nouveaux et forts stimulants sentiers. Nous avons donc quelques nouvelles à partager avec vous. Mais d’abord, nous voulons remercier tous ceux et celles qui ont commenté les recommandations que le comité consultatif a faites au CNA relativement au processus d’embauche. Vos commentaires, très pertinents, sont fort importants pour nous. Nos recommandations ont été présentées au CNA le 30 septembre 2016. Depuis cette date, le comité consultatif, accompagné de Brittany Ryan et Sarah Garton Stanley, a travaillé avec le service des ressources humaines sur l’offre d’emploi et le poste de directeur artistique du Théâtre autochtone. Si les aspects techniques du processus d’embauche relèvent maintenant des ressources humaines, le travail du comité consultatif n’est pas terminé pour autant.

Formé de Reneltta Arluk, Dave Jenniss, Annie Smith St. Georges, Jesse Wabegijig et Kenneth T. Williams, le comité consultatif se réunira le 24 octobre, toute la journée, pour discuter des prochaines étapes.

Cette rencontre a notamment pour but de discuter du changement de vocation du comité consultatif en un comité de soutien à la communauté et au CNA en vue de soumettre des idées et des suggestions relativement au processus d’embauche – plus particulièrement en ce qui a trait au processus d’engagement de la communauté, au processus d’engagement du conseil des aînés et à la suggestion de noms de personnes pour faire partie des divers comités qui devront être formés au fur et à mesure de l’avancement du processus de recrutement du directeur artistique du Théâtre autochtone. La date du 24 octobre est fort appropriée, car le mandat du comité sera appelé à changer dès que la description du poste sera diffusée publiquement et au sein de l’ensemble de la communauté, ce qui devrait être fait à la fin d’octobre. Ce sera un moment grandiose!

Le 18 octobre, Sarah et Brittany ont eu l’immense plaisir d’assister au concert Secret Path de Gord Downie au CNA. Les propres questionnements de Downie sur ce que cela signifie d’être canadien, mais aussi les réflexions du juge Murray Sinclair et, bien sûr, l’histoire de Chanie Wenjack, l’ont amené à faire cet album qui traite des « vérités » canadiennes. Secret Path est entièrement dédié à Chanie Wenjack, qui est mort alors qu’il s’enfuyait de la Cecilia Jeffrey Indian Residential School près de Kenora, Ontario. On peut lire la déclaration de Gord Downie (en anglais) en cliquant ici et la description du spectacle au CNA en cliquant ici.

Le CNA a également poursuivi sa collaboration avec des éducateurs et conférenciers autochtones. C’est avec plaisir que nous avons appris que Kevin Lamoureux, vice-président associé aux Affaires autochtones à l’Université de Winnipeg, travaillera avec un petit groupe d’employés du CNA pour les sensibiliser à divers enjeux autochtones comme les traités, la recherche, la consultation et l’engagement et voir comment la jeunesse autochtone est en train de remodeler les institutions universitaires et, plus largement, l’ensemble de la société canadienne. Il passera la journée avec nous au CNA le 25 octobre 2016.

Biographie de Kevin :

Kevin Lamoureux est vice-président associé aux Affaires autochtones à l’Université de Winnipeg. Il entreprend ce mandat après avoir travaillé comme chargé de cours primé à l’Université de Winnipeg, à l’Université du Manitoba ainsi qu’à plusieurs institutions d’enseignement postsecondaire. Il est un conférencier et auteur bien connu et le coanimateur de l’émission balado The Frank and Kevin Show: In Colour (une ressource gratuite et souvent humoristique qui traite d’éducation et de politique autochtones). Lamoureux a été coprésident du Provincial Task Force on Educational Outcomes for Children in Care en 2015 et ses écrits et comptes-rendus ont été publiés dans le Winnipeg Free Press, Grassroots News et plusieurs revues spécialisées. On l’a vu à la télévision locale (dont APTN et aux actualités du CBC), son émission balado est entendue dans plus d’une douzaine de pays et il a donné des conférences dans le monde entier (de l’Australie à la Thaïlande ainsi qu’en Europe, aux États-Unis et dans tout le Canada). Lamoureux a été nommé chercheur résident et conférencier divisionnaire à la Seven Oaks School Division, formateur en diversité à la Sunrise School Division, conférencier divisionnaire à la St. James School Division et il collabore étroitement avec des institutions d’enseignement dans tout le pays. Il a agi comme consultant pour les gouvernements, les instances juridiques, des organisations philanthropiques et des entreprises privées.

Kevin Lamoureux poursuit actuellement des études doctorales en bien-être et durabilité à l’Université du Manitoba. Il collabore étroitement avec les écoles du Manitoba sur des sujets liés à l’éducation des Autochtones, à l’intégration des perspectives autochtones et au développement des talents, et il travaille également avec des jeunes décrocheurs ou ayant divers troubles d’apprentissage ou du comportement. Il est le lauréat du Aboriginal Circle of Educators Honouring Our Ways award, du Robin H. Farquhar Award for Excellence in Contributing to Self-Governance (prix remis par ses pairs), du Merit Award de l’Université de Winnipeg, du International Center for Innovation in Education (ICIE) Young Scholar Award, et du University of New England’s Merit Award for outstanding academic performance. À titre de vice-président associé de l’Université de Winnipeg, Kevin Lamoureux travaille en collaboration avec plusieurs autres personnes afin de créer des lieux d’apprentissage sécuritaires pour les Autochtones.

Nous vous remercions d’avoir pris le temps de lire cette mise à jour.
Comme toujours, nous serons heureux de recevoir vos commentaires et de répondre à vos questions…
N’hésitez pas à les faire parvenir à Brittany à l’adresse brittany.ryan@nac-cna.ca.
Nous avons hâte de vous donner d’autres nouvelles!

‹ Retour aux mises à jour
Menu