NAC Indigenous Theatre

Launching in 2019

September 20, 2016

Hiring process for the artistic leader of Indigenous Theatre

Hiring Process
Hiring Process

September already! This month we want to share some news about the hiring process for the artistic leader of Indigenous Theatre at the NAC. Following a day-long session held in Ottawa at the NAC on August 23, 2016, the Advisory Committee comprised of Reneltta Arluk, Dave Jenniss, Annie Smith St. Georges, Jesse Wabegijig, Kenneth T. Williams, Elder support and Métis Elder Robert Smith St. Georges, Brittany Ryan, and Sarah Garton Stanley, a list of recommendations /thoughts were put together that will eventually be put forward to the NAC. As part of the committee’s process, these draft ideas were sent to the larger community for feedback.

We have received great feedback and would like to express our gratitude for the response. It is anticipated that the recommendations put forward by the Committee to the NAC will be fully considered. On Thursday, September 21st, 2016 the recommendations from the Advisory Committee that will incorporate feedback from the community will be brought forward to the NAC for consideration. The NAC will then begin posting for the job and launching more fully into the hiring process.

In October the Advisory Committee will turn their attention to supporting and enabling a healthy, transparent process through to selecting the hiring. The Advisory Committee will endeavour to stay in contact with interested community members and to share responses and concerns arising out of the process with the NAC. The Committee will also work to clarify communications coming out of the NAC whenever required. It is anticipated that the job posting will go out in late October and the first leadership of Indigenous Theatre will be hired by the end of June 2017.

As the list of recommendations is being finalized, we would like to share with you the proposal being put forward for the hiring process. This diagram clearly depicts step-by-step actions that the various committees will undertake to select the final leadership of Indigenous Theatre.

The description of the diagram is as follows:

  • An Elders Council (First Nations, Inuit, Métis) from different communities to advise and provide support on an “as needed basis” to the Hiring committee and Advisory Committee is  shown in the outer circle of the diagram
  • The Advisory Committee comprised of Reneltta Arluk, Dave Jenniss, Annie Smith St. Georges, Jesse Wabegijig, and Kenneth T. Williams will continue to advise and liaise throughout the hiring process.
  • Two additional committees will be struck:
    • Vetting Committee (7 members)
    • Hiring Committee (4 members from the vetting committee will remain)
  • Between October 21st - 31st 2016 the career ad/press release will be announced to begin the search for the first Artistic Director
  • The Vetting Committee will receive applications from all candidates to create a long list of approximately 15 candidates
  • The Hiring Committee will receive the long list and interview the candidates
  • The Hiring Committee may have to phone applicants with 2-3 clarifying questions about CVs prior to interviewing
  • After the first round of interviews, the Hiring Committee will make decisions to create a medium list (5-8 applicants) to go to the next round
  • A short list of 3-5 applicants will participate in a community engagement event that will happen in each of the applicant’s own communities for an opportunity to engage with their peers on a social level
  • After the community engagement event, the Hiring Committee will decide on a shortlist (2-3 applicants) to meet with Peter Herrndorf, President & CEO of the NAC
  • Peter Herrndorf will meet with the 2-3 candidates separately to make the final decision
  • The successful applicant will be offered the job
  • The applicant must be in place by June 30th, 2017

The Committee along with Brittany and Sarah share in a desire to be in communication and consultation throughout. For any response that you have, we ask that you please contact Brittany Ryan at: brittany.ryan@nac-cna.cabrittany.ryan@nac-cna.ca

In other news, we want to share that Suzanne Keeptwo offered a workshop to NAC staff on September 1st. It was really well attended. Suzanne offered the workshop in English and French and kept participants fully engaged from 10-2:30. NAC employees have been talking lots about Suzanne’s class and the issues it raised, and the information she shared. The NAC is undertaking several pilots towards determining their longer range plans for Indigenous education. Suzanne’s workshop was a great start.

From all of us to you, thank-you for your time and interest and please be in touch.

‹ Back to timeline
Menu

Théâtre autochtone CNA

20 septembre 2016

Processus d’embauche du directeur artistique du Théâtre autochtone

Processus d'embauche
Processus d'embauche

Nous voilà déjà en septembre ! En cette fin d’été, nous voulons vous informer des derniers développements relativement au processus d’embauche du directeur artistique du Théâtre autochtone du CNA. Suite à une réunion d’une journée tenue au CNA à Ottawa le 23 août 2016, le comité consultatif formé de Reneltta Arluk, Dave Jenniss, Annie Smith St. Georges, Jesse Wabegijig, Kenneth T. Williams, avec le soutien des aînés et de l’aîné métis Robert Smith St. Georges, de Brittany Ryan et Sarah Garton Stanley, le comité a émis une série de recommandations et de commentaires à l’intention du CNA. Dans le cadre de la démarche du comité, ces recommandations et commentaires ont également été diffusés au sein des communautés autochtones afin de recueillir leurs commentaires.

La rétroaction a été d’une grande qualité et le comité tient à exprimer ses remerciements à tous ceux qui ont participé à cet exercice. Le comité s’attend à ce que les recommandations qu’il a soumises au CNA soient pleinement prises en compte. Le mardi 21 septembre 2016, ces recommandations, accompagnées des commentaires reçus de la communauté, seront présentées au CNA. Le CNA procédera ensuite à l’affichage du poste pour lancer le processus d’embauche.

En octobre, le comité consultatif suivra avec attention le processus d’embauche afin de s’assurer qu’il soit conforme et transparent. Le comité maintiendra également le lien avec les membres de la communauté qui s’intéressent au processus afin de les tenir informés de la conduite du processus mené par le CNA et des préoccupations qu’il peut soulever. S’il y a lieu, il verra également à préciser les communications diffusées par le CNA. On s’attend que l’affichage du poste soit fait à la fin d’octobre et que le premier directeur du Théâtre autochtone  soit embauché à la fin de juin 2017.

Alors que le comité est en train de finaliser la liste de ses recommandations, nous voulons vous présenter dans le détail le processus d’embauche que nous avons mis de l’avant. Le diagramme ci-dessous décrit chacune des actions menées par les divers comités pour faire la sélection du directeur du Théâtre autochtone.

Voici le déroulement détaillé du processus :

  • Un conseil des aînés (Premières nations, inuit, métis) formé de représentants de diverses communautés agira, lorsque le besoin se fera sentir, comme conseiller et consultant au comité d’embauche et au comité consultatif, et forme le cercle extérieur du diagramme.
  • Le comité consultatif, formé de Reneltta Arluk, Dave Jenniss, Annie Smith St. Georges, Jesse Wabegijig et Kenneth T. Williams agira comme conseiller et comité de liaison tout au long du processus d’embauche.
  • Deux comités additionnels (comme indiqué ci-haut à la section  Qui/Pourquoi) :
    • Comité de recrutement (7 membres)
    • Comité d’embauche (4 membres du comité de recrutement)
  • Entre le 21 et le 31 octobre 2016, le poste sera affiché dans les journaux et par communiqué annonçant le début du processus de recrutement du directeur artistique
  • Le comité de recrutement recevra les candidatures et dressera une liste de la quinzaine de candidats les plus intéressants
  • Le comité d’embauche mènera les entrevues avec les candidats figurant sur la liste
  • Avant les entrevues, le comité d’embauche aura peut-être besoin de communiquer par téléphone avec des candidats pour préciser certains points de leur curriculum vitae
  • Après la première ronde d’entrevues, le comité d’embauche préparera une liste des cinq à huit candidats qui accèderont à l’étape suivante
  • Une rencontre sociale avec les pairs sera organisée dans la communauté de chacun des candidats retenus à cette étape
  • Après ces rencontres, le comité d’embauche dressera la liste des deux ou trois candidats finalistes qui auront été retenus pour une rencontre avec Peter Herrndorf, président et chef de la direction du CNA
  • Peter Herrndorf rencontrera les deux ou trois candidats finalistes séparément et procédera au choix final
  • Le candidat retenu se verra offrir le poste
  • Le directeur entrera en fonction le 30 juin 2017

Le comité, avec la collaboration de Brittany et Sarah, souhaite être en communication et en consultation tout au long du processus. Pour toute question ou commentaire, nous vous demandons de communiquer avec Brittany Ryan à l’adresse brittany.ryan@nac-cna.ca

Par ailleurs, nous voulons vous informer que Suzanne Keeptwo a donné un atelier au personnel du CNA le 1er septembre. Cet atelier, qui s’est déroulé de 10 h à 14 h 30. Les employés du CNA ont abondamment discuté de l’atelier de Suzanne et des enjeux qui y ont été abordés. Le CNA a mis en œuvre plusieurs projets pilotes dans le but d’étendre ses activités éducatives destinées aux autochtones. Cet atelier a constitué un magnifique point de départ.

Au nom de tout le comité, merci de votre  temps et de votre intérêt, et n’hésitez pas à communiquer avec nous.

‹ Retour aux mises à jour
Menu