Ollikainen & Sibelius's Legends

NACO Live

Eva Ollikainen © Nikolaj Lund
Music Classical music Piano
  • SOFIA GUBAIDULINA Fairytale Poem
  • Tchaikovsky Piano Concerto No. 1
  • Sibelius Lemminkainen Suite, Op. 22
  • In-person event

In recognition and thanks for invaluable donor support, the NAC Orchestra and NAC Dance grant insider access to donors to audit a working rehearsal in Southam Hall. Often, an artist or member of the artistic team gives insights into the creative process and invites questions from donors. Seating is limited.

The artistry of Venezuelan-born pianist and NACO creative partner Gabriela Montero might well defy description, but it is always magically rewarding. Her masterful execution of classical repertoire and her uncanny ability to improvise complicated musical pieces in real time, often based on themes suggested by her audience, make her truly a one-of-a-kind musician. In Montero’s hands, Tchaikovsky’s beloved Piano Concerto No. 1 moves effortlessly between the enchanting, the titanic, and the lyrical.

The Russian composer Sofia Gubaidulina’s Fairytale Poem was inspired by the Czech children’s story of a piece of chalk destined to write boring mathematical equations and language exercises all day, despairing that it would ever reach the dream to which it aspired—to create “wonderful castles, beautiful gardens…and the sea” before it became too small to continue. “It seemed so symbolic [of] an artist’s fate,” Gubaidulina wrote.

One of composer Jean Sibelius’s most essential works, Four Legends, Op. 2 is an aural panorama that portrays the picaresque exploits of Lemminkäinen, a questionable but engaging hero of Finnish mythology. The Four Legends marked a true turning point for the composer, leading to the “most fertile, confident, and colorful writing for orchestra thus far in his career” (sfsymphony.org).

All this under the baton of superb Finnish conductor Eva Ollikainen, whose infectious enthusiasm and nuanced technique have led her to the podiums of prominent orchestras worldwide. She is currently Music Director and Artistic Director of the Iceland Symphony Orchestra, and Principal Conductor of the Orchestra della Toscana.

Menu

Ollikainen et les légendes de Sibelius

L'OCNA en direct

Eva Ollikainen © Nikolaj Lund
Musique Musique classique Piano
  • SOFIA GOUBAÏDOULINA Fairytale Poem
  • Tchaïkovsky Concerto pour piano no 1
  • Sibelius Lemminkainen Suite, Op. 22
  • Événement en personne

En guise de reconnaissance et de remerciement pour leur précieux soutien, l’Orchestre du CNA et Danse CNA offrent aux donateurs un accès privilégié à une répétition dans la Salle Southam. Souvent, un artiste ou un membre de l’équipe artistique donne un aperçu du processus créatif et répond aux questions des donateurs. Les places sont limitées.

Bien qu’elle puisse en confondre plus d’un par son talent, la pianiste et partenaire créative de l’Orchestre du CNA Gabriela Montero, née au Venezuela, crée toujours chez l’auditeur un sentiment d’épanouissement musical teinté de magie. Ses interprétations magistrales des classiques du répertoire, tout comme sa troublante capacité à improviser des pièces complexes – souvent à partir de thèmes suggérés par l’auditoire –, en font une musicienne vraiment incomparable. Sous les doigts de Gabriela Montero, le bien-aimé Concerto pour piano no 1 de Tchaïkovsky prend vie avec charme, grandiloquence et lyrisme.

L’œuvre Fairytale Poem, de la compositrice russe Sofia Gubaidulina, puise ses racines dans un conte pour enfants tchèque racontant l’histoire d’un morceau de craie qui, destiné à écrire des équations mathématiques et des exercices de langue sans grand intérêt à longueur de journée, rêve plutôt de créer des « châteaux merveilleux, de superbes jardins et… la mer » avant de devenir trop petit. « Ça représente bien la vie d’artiste », a d’ailleurs écrit Sofia Gubaidulina.

Œuvre incontournable de Jean Sibelius, Four Legends, Op. 2 est un panorama auditif des exploits de Lemminkäinen, héros controversé mais attachant de la mythologie finlandaise. Les Quatre légendes marquent un tournant pour le compositeur, qui signe son « œuvre pour orchestre la plus fertile, assumée et colorée depuis ses débuts » (sfsymphony.org).

Tout cela sous la direction de la superbe cheffe d'orchestre finlandaise Eva Ollikainen, dont l'enthousiasme contagieux et la technique nuancée l'ont conduite sur les podiums d'orchestres de renom dans le monde entier. Elle est actuellement directrice musicale et directrice artistique de l'Orchestre symphonique d'Islande et chef principal de l'Orchestra della Toscana.

Menu