Become Ocean

SPHERE Festival - NACO Live

Sat, September 24, 2022
10:00 AM
Alexander Shelley © Rémi Thériault
Music Classical music Festival events
  • OUTI TARKIAINEN Songs of the Ice
  • Anna Clyne Restless Oceans
  • JOHN LUTHER ADAMS Become Ocean
  • In-person event

In recognition and thanks for invaluable donor support, NAC English Theatre and NAC Indigenous Theatre reserve a limited number of complimentary seats for designated preview performances. Often, before the evening’s preview, a member of the production’s artistic team gives insights into the creative process and invites questions from donors.

We honour the voice of Mother Nature with music dedicated to the critical ecological milestones our planet faces, including two works from ground-breaking female composers Anna Clyne and Outi Tarkiainen.

British composer Anna Clyne wrote Restless Oceans for Marin Alsop and the all-women Taki Concordia Orchestra for performance at the World Economic Forum in Davos in 2019. In addition to playing their instruments, the musicians are called upon to use their voices in song and strong vocalizations, and their feet to stomp and bring them to stand united at the end. “My intention was to write a defiant piece that embraces the power of women.''

Songs of the Ice, by Finnish composer Outi Tarkiainen, evokes the slow and silent breathing of the Earth’s ice as it swells in winter and contracts in summer in an age-old rhythm that is gradually being lost. Songs of the Ice is dedicated to Iceland’s Okjökull (Ok glacier), which was declared “dead” by the Icelandic Meteorological Office in 2014, by which time the glacier had lost almost 80 percent of its mass and was no longer a living, moving glacier.

Our concert closes with John Luther Adams’s epic Become Ocean, an all-encompassing sonic seascape that engulfs us in “roiling waves of sound, curling up and out…not so much ebbing as subsuming everything else” (npr.org). Winner of the 2014 Pulitzer Prize for Music, Become Ocean is written for three orchestras, each of which moves on its own sonic journey before meeting as one in crucial moments. If the ocean of our planet has a song, then Become Ocean is it.

***This concert is presented as part of the NAC Orchestra’s SPHERE Festival which will take place on September 22-25, 2022

Menu

Become Ocean

Festival SPHÈRE - L'OCNA en direct

Alexander Shelley © Rémi Thériault
Musique Musique classique Festival
  • OUTI TARKIAINEN Songs of the Ice
  • Anna Clyne Restless Oceans
  • JOHN LUTHER ADAMS Become Ocean
  • Événement en personne

En guise de reconnaissance et de remerciement pour leur précieux soutien, le Théâtre anglais et le Théâtre autochtone du CNA offrent un nombre limité de billets de faveur aux donateurs pour des avant-premières désignées. Souvent, avant la représentation, un membre de l’équipe artistique de la production donne un aperçu du processus créatif et répond aux questions des donateurs.

Avec une musique consacrée au tournant écologique décisif qui attend notre planète, dont deux œuvres des compositrices avant-gardistes Anna Clyne et Outi Tarkiainen, nous rendons hommage à notre Mère Nature.

La compositrice britannique Anna Clyne a écrit Restless Oceans pour Marin Alsop et l’Orchestre Taki Concordia, une formation entièrement féminine, en vue du Forum économique mondial tenu à Davos en 2019. Les interprètes jouent bien sûr de leur instrument, mais chantent aussi, font des vocalises, frappent le sol de leurs pieds et se tiennent debout en un groupe uni à la fin de l’œuvre. « Je voulais écrire un morceau provocant, qui s’imprègne du pouvoir des femmes », explique la compositrice.

Songs of the Ice, de la compositrice finlandaise Outi Tarkiainen, évoque la lente respiration silencieuse de la glace terrestre, qui enfle pendant l’hiver et s’amenuise pendant l’été, suivant un rythme ancien qui se perd peu à peu. Songs of the Ice rend hommage au glacier islandais Okjökull (le « glacier Ok »), déclaré « mort » par le bureau météorologique islandais en 2014, car il avait perdu quatre-vingts pour cent de sa masse et n’était dès lors plus vivant et actif.

Le concert se termine par Become Ocean, œuvre épique de John Luther Adams et grand paysage sonore marin nous enveloppant dans « le son du roulement des vagues, qui montent et se retirent… pas pour se dissiper, mais plutôt pour engloutir tout le reste » (npr.org). Gagnante du Prix Pulitzer de musique en 2014, Become Ocean est une œuvre pour trois orchestres qui naviguent chacun dans leur propre parcours sonore avant de se rejoindre aux moments cruciaux. Si nos océans avaient une chanson, ce serait celle-ci.

***Ce concert est présenté dans le cadre du Festival SPHERE de l'Orchestre du CNA, qui aura lieu du 22 au 25 septembre 2022.

Menu