Croall’s Zasakwaa: There Is a Heavy Frost

Thu, September 19, 2019
10:00 AM
video: Shelley Notes
Shelley Notes
video: Joanna G'froerer on Croall's Zasakwaa
Joanna G'froerer on Croall's Zasakwaa
Barbara Croall
Indigenous arts Music Classical music Masterworks Vocal New works Canadian Festival events
  • Andrew Balfour Ambe
  • Ian Cusson Dodo, mon tout petit*
  • Barbara Croall Zasakwaa (There is a Heavy Frost)
  • Grieg Peer Gynt

In recognition and thanks for invaluable donor support, the NAC Orchestra and NAC Dance grant insider access to donors to audit a working rehearsal in Southam Hall. Often, an artist or member of the artistic team gives insights into the creative process and invites questions from donors. Seating is limited.

Ambe

Ambe Anishinaabeg

biindigeg Anishinaabeg

Mino-bimaadiziwin omaa

Ambe

Come in

Come in, two-legged beings

come in all people

There is good life here

Come in!

Celebrate the works of Canada’s Indigenous composers, with music by Andrew Balfour, Ian Cusson and Barbara Croall. Métis composer and long-time friend of the NAC Ian Cusson offers a moving new lullaby, and Odawa First Nations composer Barbara Croall greets the coming winter with Zasakwaa (There is a Heavy Frost), featuring the NAC Orchestra’s principal flutist, Joanna G’froerer and mezzo-soprano Marion Newman.

It’s impossible to be a regular consumer of TV or film without having heard Norwegian composer Edvard Grieg’s wonderful Peer Gynt, written in 1875 to accompany playwright Henrik Ibsen’s five-act play of the same name. Acclaimed Canadian actor and singer Tom Jackson narrates the story of Gynt, a lovable but imprudent scoundrel who fantasizes that he might someday be ruler of the world. If ever a piece of music was written that perfectly captures the story it accompanies, Edvard Grieg’s Peer Gynt is it!

*Commissioned by the National Arts Centre and the Canadian Opera Company

Performance is approximately 2 hours including intermission


Menu

Zasakwaa (Présence d’une forte gelée) de Croall

video:
video:
Barbara Croall
Arts autochtones Musique Musique classique Chefs-d’œuvre Voix Création Artistes canadiens Festival
  • Andrew Balfour Ambe
  • Ian Cusson Dodo, mon tout petit*
  • Barbara Croall Zasakwaa (Présence d’une forte gelée)
  • Grieg Peer Gynt

En guise de reconnaissance et de remerciement pour leur précieux soutien, l’Orchestre du CNA et Danse CNA offrent aux donateurs un accès privilégié à une répétition dans la Salle Southam. Souvent, un artiste ou un membre de l’équipe artistique donne un aperçu du processus créatif et répond aux questions des donateurs. Les places sont limitées.

Ambe

Ambe Anishinaabeg

biindigeg Anishinaabeg

Mino-bimaadiziwin omaa

Ambe

Entrez

Entrez, êtres à deux pattes

Entrez, tous autant que vous êtes

La vie est bonne ici

Entrez!

La musique des compositeurs autochtones du Canada est à l’honneur dans ce programme proposant des œuvres d’Andrew Balfour et de Barbara Croall ainsi qu’une nouvelle pièce courte d’Ian Cusson, compositeur métis ami du CNA. Originaire de la Première Nation des Outaouais, Croall salue l’arrivée de l’hiver dans Zasakwaa (Présence d’une forte gelée), qui met en vedette Joanna G’froerer, flûte solo de l’Orchestre du CNA, et Marion Newman, mezzo-soprano.

Ensuite, les amateurs de télévision et de cinéma reconnaîtront sans aucun doute la merveilleuse musique de Peer Gynt, que le Norvégien Edvard Grieg a composée en 1875 pour accompagner la pièce de théâtre en cinq actes du même nom d’Henrik Ibsen. Sous la narration de Tom Jackson Peer Gynt fait le récit des aventures d’un aimable mais téméraire vaurien qui rêve de conquérir le monde, une histoire que l’œuvre musicale raconte de façon sublime.

* Commande du Centre national des Arts et de la Compagnie d’opéra canadienne.

Durée approximative de 2 heures avec entracte


Menu