Copenhagen

Theatre Theatre classics Drama Canadian Storytelling
"Gripping. A brilliant play." London Guardian
  • By Michael Frayn
  • Directed By Jillian Keiley

NAC English Theatre Production

In recognition and thanks for invaluable donor support, NAC English Theatre and NAC Indigenous Theatre reserve a limited number of complimentary seats for designated preview performances. Often, before the evening’s preview, a member of the production’s artistic team gives insights into the creative process and invites questions from donors.

“But why?”

So begins Michael Frayn’s Copenhagen, the enigmatic thriller that details the unravelling bond between Nobel Laureates Niels Bohr and Werner Heisenberg – once great friends who had revolutionized atomic physics in the 1920s. Years later, the world has changed, and the two find themselves on opposite sides of a catastrophic world war.

Copenhagen asks the purpose of Heisenberg’s clandestine trip to see Niels and Margrethe Bohr in 1941. Was it to rekindle their broken friendship or were Heisenberg’s motives more sinister? This riveting play questions what is true and what is certain, while revealing why things must be the way they are.

Copenhagen is presented by special arrangement with SAMUEL FRENCH, INC.


Artists

  • By Michael Frayn
  • Directed By Jillian Keiley
Menu

Théâtre Répertoire Drame Artistes canadiens Conte
« Captivant. Une pièce brillante. » London Guardian
  • De Michael Frayn
  • Mise en scène Jillian Keiley

Production du théâtre anglais du CNA

En guise de reconnaissance et de remerciement pour leur précieux soutien, le Théâtre anglais et le Théâtre autochtone du CNA offrent un nombre limité de billets de faveur aux donateurs pour des avant-premières désignées. Souvent, avant la représentation, un membre de l’équipe artistique de la production donne un aperçu du processus créatif et répond aux questions des donateurs.

« Mais pourquoi? »

C’est ainsi que s’amorce Copenhagen de Michael Frayn, le thriller énigmatique qui expose le lien effrité entre les lauréats du prix Nobel Niels Bohr et Werner Heisenberg – autrefois de grands amis qui avaient révolutionné la physique atomique dans les années 1920s. Des années plus tard, le monde a bien changé, et les deux se retrouvent dans deux camps opposés d’une guerre mondiale catastrophique.

Copenhagen s’interroge sur le but du voyage clandestin de Heisenberg pour aller voir Niels et Margrethe Bohr en 1941. Était-ce pour renouer une amitié, ou Heisenberg cachait-il des intentions plus sinistres? Cette pièce fascinante remet en question ce qui est vrai et ce qui est certain, tout en révélant pourquoi les choses doivent être comme elles le sont.

Copenhagen est présenté grâce à une entente spéciale avec SAMUEL FRENCH, INC.


Artistes

  • De Michael Frayn
  • Mise en scène Jillian Keiley
Menu