Charles Hamann and Frédéric Lacroix – noon hour recital

2022-07-19 12:00 2022-07-19 12:45 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 NAC: Charles Hamann and Frédéric Lacroix – noon hour recital

https://nac-cna.ca/en/event/30957

In-person event

NACO’s Principal Oboe Charles Hamann has established himself as an enthusiastic champion of new music and over the past decade, he has commissioned many works from leading Canadian composers for solo oboe and oboe with piano. This recital with him and pianist Frédéric Lacroix features three recent commissions by Kevin Lau, Kelly-Marie Murphy, and Ian Cusson. Each work is an expressive response to striking scenic images—be it conjured up in a writer’s imagination,...

Read more

Atrium O’Brien,1 Elgin Street,Ottawa
Tuesday, July 19, 2022
12 PM EDT

≈ 45 minutes · No intermission

Repertoire

Kevin Lau

In the Garden of Endless Sleep for oboe and piano

Inspired by a fictitious place in Gene Wolfe’s science fiction novel The Book of the New Sun, Kevin Lau (b. 1982) was sparked by an image of “a garden that moves through time, flickering between present, past, and future” to create In the Garden of Endless Sleep for oboe and piano (2020). He notes that the piece explores the “idea of viewing the garden—a cultivated slice of natural beauty—through various stages of growth and decay.” He was also interested in capturing the juxtaposition of “simplicity versus impermeability,” as influenced by Wolfe’s elusive prose. In Lau’s words:

I tried to capture this in part by evoking musical memories from older time periods in a somewhat hazy fashion, and in part through texture—in particular, the use of the piano’s sustained pedal to blur certain harmonies together. The structure of the piece is “fuzzy” as well, invoking not so much rondo form as its afterimage. Although there is an earthy, organic aspect to the piece—the melodious but often asymmetric oboe lines, for example, suggesting the contours of vines and roots and the sprawl of overgrown vegetation—the music is otherwise steeped in a dream-like and uneasy vagueness. 

Program notes by Dr. Hannah Chan-Hartley

Kelly-Marie Murphy

Glacial Ablations

I. Crystalline Elements
II. Ice-Sizzle
III. Runoff

With music described as “breathtaking” (Kitchener-Waterloo Record), “imaginative and expressive” (The National Post), “a pulse-pounding barrage on the senses” (The Globe and Mail), and “Bartok on steroids” (Birmingham News), Kelly-Marie Murphy’s voice is well known on the Canadian music scene. She has created a number of memorable works for some of Canada’s leading performers and ensembles, including the Toronto, Winnipeg, and Vancouver Symphony Orchestras, The Gryphon Trio, James Campbell, Shauna Rolston, the Cecilia and Afiara String Quartets, and Judy Loman. Born in 1964 on a NATO base in Sardegna, Italy, Murphy studied composition at the University of Calgary and later received a PhD in composition at the University of Leeds in England. She is now based in Ottawa, from where she pursues a career as a freelance composer.

Murphy composed Glacial Ablations in 2022 for NACO Principal Oboe Charles “Chip” Hamann, who tonight, with pianist Frédéric Lacroix, performs the work’s world premiere. She describes the piece as follows:

Chip Hamann invited me to create a new piece for oboe and piano for a recital and recording project featuring a number of Canadian composers. The theme for the project was nature in Canada—things to do with our climate or landscapes. As my subject-matter, I chose glaciers, specifically, how we are losing our glacial ice and permafrost due to climate change.

For my piece, I chose three terms from the field of glaciology and tried to create music that responds to them. The title Glacial Ablations refers to the loss of ice and snow in a glacial system. The first movement, Crystalline Elements, is slow, and features not only delicate structures in the piano, but also space and drama, in which translucence and opaqueness mingle with the human response.

The second movement, Ice-Sizzle, is very fast, powerful, and urgent. The term refers to the sound glaciers can make, which is like carbonated water.  The final movement, Runoff, has to do with evaporation and deterioration of the glacier. It begins with cadenza-like moments in the oboe and piano and features upward moving lines. The runoff intensifies as the forces of moving water grow in ferocity and urgency.

Ian Cusson

Sonata for Oboe and Piano, “The Haywain”

Ian Cusson’s Sonata for Piano and Oboe, “The Haywain” (2020), is the second of three works by the composer (b. 1981) based on images from the late-Medieval painter, Hieronymus Bosch. The sonata unfolds in three movements, titled Dignified, Simply, and Wild, respectively. These are, as Cusson explains, “in dialogue with Bosch’s The Haywain Triptych, painted in 1516, and follow the painting’s three panels as they progress from an Edenic state to Hell with all its absurdities. The image is dominated by a giant bale of hay at the work’s centre around which crowds of people cavort under the benevolent watching eyes in the clouds above them.”

Menu

Charles Hamann et Frédéric Lacroix – récital-midi

2022-07-19 12:00 2022-07-19 12:45 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 CNA : Charles Hamann et Frédéric Lacroix – récital-midi

https://nac-cna.ca/fr/event/30957

Événement en personne

Hautbois solo de l’OCNA, Charles Hamann s’est imposé comme un promoteur enthousiaste de la musique nouvelle et, au cours de la dernière décennie, il a commandé de nombreuses œuvres à des compositeurs canadiens de premier plan pour hautbois seul et hautbois avec piano. Ce récital dans lequel il se produit aux côtés du pianiste Frédéric Lacroix présente trois œuvres commandées...

Read more

Atrium O’Brien ,1 rue Elgin,Ottawa
mardi 19 juillet 2022
12 h HAE

≈ 45 minutes · Sans entracte

Répertoire

Kevin Lau

In the Garden of Endless Sleep pour hautbois et piano

Inspiré par un lieu fictif dans la nouvelle de science-fiction de Gene Wolfe Le livre du Nouveau Soleil, Kevin Lau (né en 1982) crée In the Garden of Endless Sleep après avoir été frappé par l’image d’un « jardin qui se déplace dans le temps, alternant entre présent, passé et avenir… » Il mentionne que l’œuvre explore « l’idée de voir le jardin, une tranche cultivée de beauté naturelle, passer par différentes phases de croissance et de déclin. » Il voulait également encapsuler la juxtaposition de « la simplicité et de l’imperméabilité », comme le lui inspirait la prose insaisissable de Wolfe. Dans les mots de Lau : 

Je voulais refléter cela d’une part en évoquant des souvenirs musicaux de périodes plus anciennes d’une manière un peu floue, et d’autre part en me servant de la texture, surtout en utilisant la pédale forte pour fondre certaines harmonies. La structure de l’œuvre est « trouble » elle aussi, n’évoquant pas tant la forme d’un rondo que son écho. L’œuvre est imprégnée d’un côté naturel et organique – où par exemple les lignes mélodieuses, mais souvent asymétriques, du hautbois tracent les contours des vignes, des racines et de la végétation surabondante –, mais autrement, la musique est infusée d’un vague à la fois onirique et dérangeant. 

Notes de programme rédigées par Hannah Chan-Hartley, Ph. D.

Kelly-Marie Murphy

Glacial Ablations

I. Crystalline Elements
II. Ice-Sizzle
III. Runoff

On a dit de sa musique qu’elle était « à couper le souffle » (Kitchener-Waterloo Record) et on l’a dépeinte comme « imaginative et expressive » (The National Post), « un trépidant tir de barrage sur tous les sens » (The Globe and Mail), et « Bartók sous stéroïdes » (Birmingham News) : Kelly-Marie Murphy est une voix qui compte sur la scène musicale canadienne. On lui doit plusieurs œuvres mémorables pour des interprètes et des ensembles de premier plan au Canada, notamment les orchestres symphoniques de Toronto, Winnipeg et Vancouver, le Trio Gryphon, James Campbell, Shauna Rolston, les quatuors à cordes Cecilia et Afiara, et Judy Loman. Née en 1964 sur une base de l’OTAN en Sardaigne, en Italie, elle a étudié la composition à l’Université de Calgary, avant d’obtenir son doctorat en composition de l’Université de Leeds, en Angleterre. Elle est maintenant établie à Ottawa, où elle poursuit une carrière de compositrice indépendante.

Elle a composé Glacial Ablations en 2022 à l’intention de Charles « Chip» Hamann, hautbois solo de l’OCNA, qui en donne ce soir, aux côtés du pianiste Frédéric Lacroix, la création mondiale. Voici en quels termes elle décrit cette pièce :

Chip Hamann m’a invitée à créer une nouvelle pièce pour hautbois et piano, pour un projet de récital et d’enregistrement réunissant un certain nombre de compositrices et compositeurs du Canada. Ce projet avait pour thème « la nature au Canada » – sous l’angle du climat ou de nos paysages. Comme sujet, j’ai choisi les glaciers, plus précisément la façon dont nous perdons notre glace de glaciers et notre pergélisol en raison du changement climatique.

Pour ma pièce, j’ai choisi trois termes empruntés au domaine de la glaciologie et j’ai tâché de créer une musique qui y réponde. Le titre, Glacial Ablations (littéralement : « ablations glaciaires ») fait référence à la perte de glace et de neige dans un système glaciaire. Le premier mouvement, Crystalline Elements (« éléments cristallins »), est lent, et met en relief non seulement les structures délicates du piano, mais aussi l’espace et le drame, où la translucidité et l’opacité se mêlent à la réponse humaine.

Le deuxième mouvement, Ice-Sizzle (« pétillement de la glace ») est très rapide, tout en force et en urgence. Le terme fait référence au son que peuvent produire les glaciers, qui ressemble à celui de l’eau gazeuse. Le dernier mouvement, Runoff (« écoulement »), fait allusion à l’évaporation et à la détérioration du glacier. Il s’amorce sur des passages semblables à des cadences pour le hautbois et le piano, et comporte des lignes ascendantes. L’écoulement s’intensifie à mesure que les forces de l’eau en mouvement gagnent en fureur et en urgence.

Ian Cusson

Sonate pour hautbois et piano, « The Haywain »

La Sonate pour piano et hautbois « The Haywain » (2020) d’Ian Cusson est la deuxième de trois œuvres du compositeur (né en 1981) basées sur des images du peintre médiéval tardif Jérôme Bosch. La sonate se déploie en trois mouvements, respectivement intitulés Dignified, Simply et Wild. Ces mouvements sont, comme l’explique le compositeur, « en dialogue avec le triptyque The HaywainLe Chariot de foin ») de Bosch, peint en 1516, et suivent les trois panneaux du tableau dans leur progression d’un état édénique à l’enfer dans toute sa déraison. L’image est dominée par une gigantesque botte de foin au centre de l’œuvre, autour de laquelle une foule de personnages s’ébattent sous le regard bienveillant des nuages qui les surplombent. »

Menu