Storgårds & Bruckner

with the NAC Orchestra
OUTI TARKIAINEN

Midnight Sun Variations

Finnish composer Outi Tarkiainen’s Midnight Sun Variations is an orchestral piece, she says, that

“…is about the light in the arctic summer night, when the northern sky above the Arctic Circle reflects a rich spectrum of infinitely nuanced hues that, as autumn draws near, become veiled in shadow until darkness slowly descends and the sun ceases to rise above the horizon; when Europe’s biggest and most unpolluted wildernesses, the tundra and dense coniferous forests mystified by Jean Sibelius in his last large-scale work, Tapiola (1926), are bathed in countless shades of light.”

Commissioned by the National Arts Centre Orchestra and the BBC Philharmonic, Midnight Sun Variations was premiered by the BBC Philharmonic conducted by John Storgårds, the work’s dedicatee, at the BBC Proms on August 4, 2019. It has since been performed over a dozen times in the UK, US, Finland, and Germany, and tonight’s performance constitutes the piece’s Canadian premiere.  

Along with the changing arctic light as summer transitions to autumn, Tarkiainen notes an additional inspiration for her work: 

“My first child was born on the night when the summer’s last warm day gave way to a dawn shrouded in autumnal mist. Midnight Sun Variations is also about giving birth to new life, when the woman and the child within her part, restoring her former self as the light fades into autumn.”

“The work begins”, she describes, “with a sparkling ray of sunshine: the orchestra radiates and rises, playfully traces its round and goes back to the beginning again.” A cascade of scales in the woodwinds and strings marks the beginning of each new cycle (or variation), followed by various musical gestures evoking natural phenomena—shimmering light, bird calls, wind. “Solitary wind solos soar above the orchestra, softly proclaiming the peace of the summer night to answering sighs from a horn.”

Then, “a new beginning finally emerges in the strings: a chord beating with rugged primitive force that fills the whole space with its warmth.” At this point in the score, Tarkainen includes this quote by Robert Crottet on the land of the Skolt-Lapps from Fôrets de la lune, 1949: “It is not our fault if, in your country, dream and reality are so closely bound together that one cannot well distinguish one from the other.” Tarkiainen continues, “This sets off a pulse of constantly remixing chords that ultimately fires the whole orchestra into action, until the strings break away, ascend to the heights and impart maybe the most important message of all.” A seismic climax signals the moment of change—from summer to autumn, the birth of a child. Gradually, the piece fades on melodic fragments in the violins, amidst a brooding and shimmering backdrop.

Program notes by Dr. Hannah Chan-Hartley

Mozart

Piano Concerto No. 20 in D minor, K. 466

I. Allegro
II. Romanze
III. Rondo: Allegro assai

“I tell you before God, and as an honest man, that your son is the greatest composer I know, either in person or by reputation.” According to Leopold Mozart in a letter to his daughter Nannerl, these words of praise came from no less a figure than the great Austrian composer Franz Joseph Haydn, who witnessed the premiere of the D minor Piano Concerto with Wolfgang as soloist on February 10, 1785, at Vienna’s Mehlgrube Casino. Haydn wasn’t the only one captivated by the work: the young Beethoven became a notable interpreter. It was one of the few works by Mozart that was played throughout the 19th century—Felix Mendelssohn had the concerto in his performing repertory, as did Clara Schumann and Johannes Brahms. Today, it continues to be a favourite with concert pianists and audiences.

No. 20’s minor mode is unusual among Mozart’s concertos (Piano Concerto No. 24, K. 491, is the only other in a minor key) and is an essential contributing element to the work’s tempestuous character. Within its brooding atmosphere, an intense musical drama arises between the soloist and orchestra. The first movement begins mysteriously, agitatedly, with throbbing syncopations in the upper strings, and urgent rising figures in the cellos and basses. Tension steadily mounts to a full orchestral outburst, which becomes a recurring motif. Solo piano enters with a new theme, somewhat melancholy and wistful, after which it's caught up in the orchestra’s turmoil. Later, the piano presents a gentle second theme in the major mode, but the melody’s reassuring quality is soon disrupted by an orchestral flare-up. In the middle section, the piano’s first theme and the strings’ opening syncopations and figures are revisited in alternation, after which the piano undertakes a sequence of brilliant passages. The main thematic materials are then reprised between piano and orchestra in an artful interweaving. After the soloist’s cadenza, the orchestra has one last stormy flash before subsiding at the movement’s close.

The Romanze is a gentle serenade, the melody of which solo piano and orchestra take turns singing. Its presentation alternates with two episodes; in the first of these, the piano calmly elaborates, as if the continuation of a reflective operatic aria. By contrast, the second episode, in minor mode, is all nervous anxiety, as the solo piano traverses across the keyboard with rapid triplets, while the woodwinds intone expressive phrases and sustained chords. Turbulence returns in the finale, which the piano launches on its own with a defiant theme, followed by an orchestral response of fierce intensity. As the movement progresses, this conflict is gradually diffused, including by way of a jaunty woodwind tune. Listen for how this tune later tries to be serious in the minor mode, but then, after the soloist’s second cadenza, it emerges, bright and cheerful, reassuring us that all’s well at the end.

Program notes by Dr. Hannah Chan-Hartley

Bruckner

Symphony No. 6

I. Maestoso
II. Adagio: Sehr feierlich (very solemn)
III. Scherzo: Nicht schnell (not fast)
IV. Finale: Bewegt, doch nicht zu schnell (animated, but not too fast)

Anton Bruckner began composing his Sixth Symphony in September 1879. He worked on it periodically, finishing the score two years later in September 1881. The second and third movements were performed in Vienna in February 1883, but it wasn’t until 1899 that the symphony was given in its entirety, albeit in a heavily edited version, conducted by Gustav Mahler, also in Vienna. The first performance of the original score occurred in 1901, in Stuttgart, conducted by Karl Pohlig. 

The expansive scale of Bruckner’s symphonies and the distinctive manner in which they unfold sometimes pose challenges to comprehension, so it’s worth mentioning here some stylistic hallmarks that may help guide listening. For one, the general progress of these works can be said to trace a large narrative arc akin to a pilgrim’s journey of faith—through spiritual struggle to triumphant redemption, a concept undoubtedly shaped by the composer’s own devout Catholicism. One way Bruckner achieves this sense of advancement is via frequent harmonic modulation, never settling in one key for long, and thus deferring resolution until the end of the movement or the symphony. The uncertain feeling caused by these shifts are underscored by sudden changes in thematic character and dynamics. Musical material is often presented in block-like sections, juxtaposing delicate, pastoral episodes with monumental, granitic walls of sound; these develop into climaxes, though rarely resting at the summit except at the final climax usually at the work’s conclusion. All these aspects are present in the Sixth Symphony.  

Violins on a driving rhythmic figure set the stage for the first movement’s noble theme, first played quietly by cellos and basses, later boldly proclaimed by woodwinds and brass. Soon after, the vigorous energy dissipates, giving way to the violins’ gentle second theme. Against a backdrop of three beats to one long beat, the melody assumes a waltz-like lilt. In the central development section, triplet arpeggios accompany the first theme in a lyrical inverted version. The energy gradually builds to a grand brass statement of the main theme—listen here for the drastic shift from E-flat major to A major, keys sonically worlds apart. After a reprise of the second theme, the music resets and cycles through rising waves of the main theme, culminating in a blazing declaration by the trumpets at the movement’s end. 

Richly orchestrated and deeply expressive, the Adagio is the Sixth Symphony’s emotional heart. Three main melodies are presented in turn: the first serious and pensive, in the rich lower register of the violins; the second sincere and passionate, its opening gesture played by cellos then by the violins at half the speed; the third, solemn violins. They take on greater emotional significance upon their return—the first theme expanding to the biggest climax of the movement, after which we luxuriate in the world of the second theme. The Adagio winds to the close after the third theme’s reprise through a closing section of tender nostalgia.

The Scherzo is characterized by a restless energy and quicksilver textures. On occasion, the orchestra erupts suddenly with brass at full force. The contrasting trio has a pastoral quality, featuring three horns sounding hunting calls, with warm responses by the strings and bucolic woodwinds. 

In the finale, any sense of structural and emotional coherence is tested by abrupt changes in vastly contrasting thematic characters—spiritual trials in musical form, perhaps. It opens quietly with anxious phrases in the violins propelled by a plucked descending bass line with viola tremolo. After an initial burst, the brass intone a menacing descending motif, and then a fanfare, reaching a brief triumph. The movement’s charming second theme follows, introduced by the strings in counterpoint. Later, there are glimpses of peace and calm as the brass attempt to reassert their menace; a massive full orchestral passage toils to achieve resolution but is unsuccessful. More starts and stops ensue, as the second theme is reprised first, then eventually the first phrases. Finally, after building through the descending motif, the trombones close the symphony with a full-glory version of the first movement’s opening theme. 

Program notes by Dr. Hannah Chan-Hartley


NAC Orchestra

FIRST VIOLINS
Yosuke Kawasaki (concertmaster)
Jessica Linnebach (associate concertmaster)
Noémi Racine Gaudreault (assistant concertmaster)
Elaine Klimasko**
Marjolaine Lambert
Jeremy Mastrangelo
Manuela Milani
Frédéric Moisan
Martine Dubé*
Annie Guénette*
Soo Gyeong Lee*
Erica Miller*
Sarah Williams*

SECOND VIOLINS
Mintje van Lier (principal)
Winston Webber (assistant principal)
Mark Friedman
Carissa Klopoushak
Leah Roseman
Edvard Skerjanc**
Karoly Sziladi
Emily Westell
Andréa Armijo-Fortin*
Renée London*
Sara Mastrangelo*
Heather Schnarr*

VIOLAS
Jethro Marks (principal)
David Marks (associate principal)
David Goldblatt (assistant principal)
Paul Casey
Ren Martin-Doike
David Thies-Thompson**
Kelvin Enns*
Sonya Probst*

CELLOS
Rachel Mercer (principal)
Julia MacLaine (assistant principal)
Timothy McCoy
Marc-André Riberdy
Leah Wyber
Desiree Abbey*
Karen Kang*

DOUBLE BASSES
Joseph Phillips (guest principal)*
Hilda Cowie (acting assistant principal)
Marjolaine Fournier
Vincent Gendron
Paul Mach*

FLUTES
Joanna G’froerer (principal)
Stephanie Morin
Kaili Maimets*

OBOES
Charles Hamann (principal)**
Anna Petersen
Susan Butler​*
Melissa Scott​*

ENGLISH HORN
Anna Petersen

CLARINETS
Kimball Sykes (principal)
Sean Rice
Shauna Barker​*

BASSOONS
Christopher Millard (principal)
Vincent Parizeau
Joelle Amar*

HORNS
Lawrence Vine (principal)
Julie Fauteux (associate principal)
Elizabeth Simpson
Lauren Anker
Louis-Pierre Bergeron
Olivier Brisson*

TRUMPETS
Karen Donnelly (principal)
Steven van Gulik
Michael Fedyshyn*
Larry Larson*

TROMBONES
Donald Renshaw (principal)
Colin Traquair

BASS TROMBONE
Douglas Burden

TUBA
Chris Lee (principal)

TIMPANI
Feza Zweifel (principal)

PERCUSSION
Jonathan Wade
Tim Francom*
Louis Pino*

HARP
Angela Schwarzkopf*

KEYBOARDS
Frédéric Lacroix*
 

PRINCIPAL LIBRARIAN
Nancy Elbeck

ASSISTANT LIBRARIAN
Corey Rempel

PERSONNEL MANAGER
Meiko Lydall

ASSISTANT PERSONNEL MANAGER
Laurie Shannon

*Additional musicians
**On leave
Non-titled members of the Orchestra are listed alphabetically

Menu

Perturbations à la circulation - Fête du Canada

Storgårds & Bruckner

avec l'Orchestre du CNA
OUTI TARKIAINEN

Midnight Sun Variations

La compositrice finnoise Outi Tarkiainen décrit Midnight Sun Variations comme une œuvre pour orchestre qui :

« évoque la lumière des nuits d’été nordiques, quand le ciel septentrional au-dessus du cercle arctique reflète une palette chromatique tout en nuances qui, à l’approche de l’automne, s’estompe dans la pénombre alors que l’obscurité tombe petit à petit et que le soleil ne franchit plus la ligne d’horizon; quand la contrée européenne la plus sauvage et la plus préservée  – habitée par la toundra et les forêts denses de conifères, dont Jean Sibelius a épaissi les mystères dans sa dernière œuvre d’envergure Tapiola (1926) – est baignée d’une clarté aux mille couleurs. »

Commandée par l’Orchestre du Centre national des Arts et l’Orchestre philharmonique de la BBC, alors sous la direction de John Storgårds, à qui l’œuvre a été dédiée, Midnight Sun Variations a été présentée en primeur lors des BBC Proms le 4 août 2019. Depuis, cette œuvre a été interprétée plus d’une dizaine de fois au Royaume-Uni, aux États-Unis, en Finlande, en Allemagne et pour la première fois ce soir au Canada. 

Outre les lumières arctiques changeantes lorsqu’on passe de l’été à l’automne, la compositrice mentionne une autre inspiration pour son travail :

« J’ai eu mon premier enfant une nuit où la dernière journée chaude d’été s’est effacée derrière une aube à la brume automnale. Midnight Sun Variations parle également de donner la vie, de ce moment où la femme se sépare de l’enfant qu’elle porte et redevient ce qu’elle était autrefois alors que l’automne recouvre la lumière. »

« L’œuvre commence par un rayon de soleil étincelant : l’orchestre surgit, ruisselant de lumière, et trace une ronde enjouée avant de revenir au commencement », décrit-elle. Une cascade de gammes dans les instruments à vent et à corde marque le début de chaque cycle (ou variation), sitôt suivie de diverses gestuelles musicales qui renvoient aux phénomènes naturels : des lueurs chatoyantes, le pépiement des oiseaux, le bruit du vent. Les solos solitaires des instruments à vent s’élèvent par-dessus l’orchestre, proclamant avec douceur la paix de la nuit estivale en réponse aux échos soupirants d’un cor. »

Alors, « un nouveau début émerge du côté des instruments à cordes : un accord plaqué avec une force primitive et farouche remplit tout l’espace de sa chaleur. » À ce moment de la partition, Outi Tarkiainen insère une citation de Robert Crottet sur les terres Lapones-Scoltes dans Forêts de la lune en 1949 : « …ce n’est pas notre faute, si dans ton pays, le rêve et la réalité sont si étroitement liés qu’on ne les différencie pas bien l’un de l’autre. » La compositrice poursuit : « C’est le point de départ d’un flux d’accords constamment repris qui finiront par enflammer l’orchestre, jusqu’à ce que les cordes ne s’échappent et ne s’élèvent vers des sommets pour transmettre ce qui est peut-être le message le plus important de tous. » Un point culminant au caractère sismique signale l’avènement du changement, de l’été à l’automne, la naissance d’un enfant. Graduellement, l’œuvre s’estompe en fragments mélodieux de la section des violons, sur une trame de fond à la fois sombre et scintillante. 

Notes de programme rédigées par Hannah Chan-Hartley, Ph. D.

Mozart

Concerto pour piano no 20 en ré mineur, K. 466

I. Allegro
II. Romanze
III. Rondo : Allegro assai

« Je dois vous le dire devant Dieu, et comme un honnête homme, votre fils est le plus grand compositeur que je connaisse, en personne et de nom. » Selon Leopold Mozart dans une lettre qu’il adressait à sa fille Nannerl, ces mots élogieux venaient de nul autre que le grand compositeur autrichien Franz Joseph Haydn. Le 10 février 1785, dans le casino Mehlgrube à Vienne, il avait assisté à la première représentation de Mozart en tant que soliste pour Concerto pour piano en ré mineur. Haydn n’a pas été le seul à être captivé par cette œuvre : le jeune Beethoven en est devenu un interprète notoire. C’était d’ailleurs une des quelques pièces de Mozart qui ont continué à être jouées au XIXe siècle. Ce concerto figurait au répertoire de Felix Mendelssohn, mais aussi de Clara Schumann et Johannes Brahms. Encore aujourd’hui, cette œuvre est la coqueluche des pianistes et du public.

Le mode mineur du Concerto no 20 est une caractéristique singulière pour un concerto de Mozart (le Concerto no 24, K. 491 étant le seul autre en ce mode); caractéristique essentielle qui lui donne d’ailleurs tout son caractère tumultueux. Dans une atmosphère sombre, un drame musical intense surgit entre le soliste et l’orchestre. Le premier mouvement commence dans le mystère et l’agitation, bâti par des syncopes pulsatives chez les violons et les altos et des figures ascendantes impérieuses chez les violoncelles et les contrebasses. La tension gagne fermement en intensité jusqu’à emporter tout l’orchestre : un motif qui devient ensuite récurrent. Le piano solo entre alors sur un nouveau thème tirant sur la mélancolie et le vague à l’âme, qui est ensuite emporté dans le tourbillon de l’orchestre. Plus tard, le piano entonne un deuxième thème doux en mode majeur. Toutefois, le côté rassurant de la mélodie est vite dissipé par une recrudescence orchestrale. Dans la section du milieu, le premier thème du piano ainsi que les syncopes et figures des cordes dans l’ouverture sont revisités en alternance. S’ensuit alors une séquence de brillants passages au piano. Par la suite, piano et orchestre reprennent les éléments thématiques principaux sous forme d’entrelacs artistiques. Après la cadence du soliste, l’orchestre se lance dans un dernier éclair orageux qui décroît vers la fin du mouvement. 

Romanze est une douce sérénade dont la mélodie est produite tour à tour par le piano et l’orchestre. Deux épisodes s’y alternent. Dans le premier, le piano s’étale calmement, comme une continuité du songeur aria opératique. En contraste, le second épisode en mode mineur est tout en anxiété nerveuse : de rapides triolets habitent les touches du piano solo et les instruments à vent entonnent des phrases expressives et des accords soutenus. La turbulence revient en finale, lancée par le piano à lui seul dans un thème provocant, suivi d’une réponse de l’orchestre animée d’une féroce intensité. Au fur et à mesure que le mouvement se déploie, ce conflit s’estompe graduellement, notamment sur l’air enjoué des instruments à vent. Écoutez comme cet air s’essaie au sérieux en mode mineur, mais comme, après la deuxième cadence du soliste, il émerge, plein de soleil et d’entrain, pour nous rassurer : tout est bien qui finit bien.

Notes de programme rédigées par Hannah Chan-Hartley, Ph. D.

Bruckner

Symphonie no 6

I. Maestoso
II. Adagio : Sehr feierlich (très solennel)
III. Scherzo : Nicht schnell (sans précipitation)
IV. Finale : Bewegt, doch nicht zu schnell (animé, mais pas trop rapide)

Anton Bruckner a commencé la composition de Symphonie no 6 en septembre 1879. Y travaillant de manière périodique, il finit de l’écrire deux ans plus tard en septembre 1881. Les deuxième et troisième mouvements sont interprétés à Vienne en février 1883. C’est seulement en 1899 qu’une version très modifiée de la symphonie entière est présentée, sous la baguette de Gustav Mahler, toujours à Vienne. La première représentation de la partition originale se tient en 1901, à Stuttgart, sous la direction de Karl Pohlig.

L’étendue de la gamme dans les symphonies de Bruckner et la manière distincte dont elles se déploient posent souvent un problème de compréhension. Il est donc utile de mentionner certaines empreintes stylistiques pour guider l’oreille. D’abord, la progression de ces œuvres pourrait se rapporter à une large trame narrative semblable à un pieux pèlerinage, soit des obstacles spirituels à la rédemption triomphante, un concept que l’on doit sans doute à la nature dévote du compositeur catholique. Il utilise d’ailleurs entre autres la fréquence des modulations dans les harmonies pour rendre ce sens de progression : il ne reste jamais longtemps sur une clé et repousse ainsi le dénouement à la fin du mouvement ou de la symphonie. Le sentiment d’incertitude créé par ces transitions est souligné par les changements soudains dans les dynamiques et le caractère thématique. Ensuite, les éléments musicaux sont souvent présentés dans des sections qui ressemblent à des blocs juxtaposés à des épisodes délicats et pastoraux, assortis de murs de son monumentaux et granitiques. Ces derniers s’élèvent vers des sommets, où ils ne restent que rarement, excepté dans la culmination finale qui conclut habituellement l’œuvre. Tous ces aspects sont présents dans Symphonie no 6.

Des violons jouant des notes rythmiques et dynamiques donnent le ton pour le thème noble du premier mouvement, qui est d’abord interprété tranquillement par les violoncelles et les contrebasses, avant d’être clamé plus tard par les cuivres et les instruments à vent. Peu après, cette énergie vigoureuse se dissipe et laisse la place au second thème tout en douceur des violons. Sur un rythme de trois temps courts et un long, la mélodie prend des airs de valse. Dans la section centrale de développement, des arpèges en triolet accompagnent le premier thème dans une version lyrique et inversée. L’énergie s’intensifie petit à petit jusqu’à ce que les cuivres reprennent majestueusement le thème principal : tendez l’oreille pour ne pas rater le brusque virage du mi bémol majeur au la majeur, deux clés acoustiquement lointaines. Après une reprise du deuxième thème, la musique se renouvelle et fluctue en vagues montantes reprenant le thème principal, juste avant la flambée culminante des trompettes à la fin du mouvement.

Merveille d’orchestration et d’expression, l’Adagio est le cœur même de Symphonie no 6. Trois mélodies principales sont présentées tour à tour : la première, sérieuse et songeuse, est dans le registre riche et bas des violons; la deuxième, sincère et passionnée, s’ouvre sur un mouvement porté par les violoncelles, puis pris par les violons à une vitesse deux fois moins rapide; la troisième laisse s’exprimer des violons solennels. Ces mélodies gagnent en signification émotionnelle quand elles reviennent : dans le premier thème s’étend vers le moment le plus fort du mouvement, après lequel nous tombons dans l’opulence du troisième thème. L’Adagio se termine après la reprise du troisième thème sur une section finale empreinte de tendre nostalgie.

Le Scherzo est caractérisé par une énergie infatigable et des textures imprévisibles. Par moment, l’orchestre s’emballe soudainement à grand renfort de cuivres. Ce trio contrastant a une qualité pastorale : les trois cors semblent rappeler la chasse et trouver écho dans la chaleur des instruments à cordes et le côté bucolique des instruments à vent.

Dans la finale, toute impression de cohérence structurelle et émotionnelle est mise à l’épreuve par des changements abrupts dans les éléments thématiques contrastés, peut-être une manifestation musicale des obstacles spirituels. La finale commence par des phrases anxieuses chez les violons, propulsées par une ligne de basse descendante en cordes pincées sur un trémolo des altos. Après ce bouillonnement initial, les cuivres entonnent un motif menaçant et descendant, puis une fanfare, qui évoque un bref triomphe. Le deuxième thème s’ensuit, charmant, introduit par un contrepoint dans les cordes. Plus tard, quelques éclaircies de paix et de calme subsistent alors que les cuivres essaient de renforcer la menace. Emporté par l’orchestre dans toute sa majesté, un passage laisse entrevoir une résolution qui n’aboutit pas. Tout s’arrête et reprend, et ainsi de suite : le deuxième thème est repris, puis, petit à petit, les premières phrases. Finalement, après un développement du motif descendant, les trombones terminent la symphonie par une version glorieuse du thème d’ouverture du premier mouvement. 

Notes de programme rédigées par Hannah Chan-Hartley, Ph. D.


Orchestre du CNA

PREMIERS VIOLONS
Yosuke Kawasaki (violon solo)
Jessica Linnebach (violon solo associée)
Noémi Racine Gaudreault (assistante violon solo)
Elaine Klimasko**
Marjolaine Lambert
Jeremy Mastrangelo
Manuela Milani
Frédéric Moisan
Martine Dubé*
Annie Guénette*
Soo Gyeong Lee*
Erica Miller*
​Sarah Williams*

SECONDS VIOLONS
Mintje van Lier (solo)
Winston Webber (assistant solo)
Mark Friedman
Carissa Klopoushak
Leah Roseman
Edvard Skerjanc**
Karoly Sziladi
Emily Westell
Andréa Armijo-Fortin*
Renée London*
Sara Mastrangelo*
Heather Schnarr*

ALTOS
Jethro Marks (solo)
David Marks (solo associé)
David Goldblatt (assistant solo)
Paul Casey
Ren Martin-Doike
David Thies-Thompson**
Kelvin Enns*
Sonya Probst*

VIOLONCELLES
Rachel Mercer (principal)
Julia MacLaine (assistant principal)
Timothy McCoy
Marc-André Riberdy
Leah Wyber
Desiree Abbey*
Karen Kang*

CONTREBASSES
Joseph Phillips (solo invite)*
Hilda Cowie (assistante solo par intérim)
Marjolaine Fournier
Vincent Gendron
Paul Mach*

FLÛTES
Joanna G’froerer (solo)
Stephanie Morin
Kaili Maimets*

HAUTBOIS
Charles Hamann (solo)**
Anna Petersen
Susan Butler​*
Melissa Scott​*

COR ANGLAIS
Anna Petersen

CLARINETTES
Kimball Sykes (solo)
Sean Rice
Shauna Barker​*

BASSONS
Christopher Millard (solo)
Vincent Parizeau
Joelle Amar*

CORS
Lawrence Vine (solo)
Julie Fauteux (solo associée)
Elizabeth Simpson
Lauren Anker
Louis-Pierre Bergeron
Olivier Brisson*

TROMPETTES
Karen Donnelly (solo)
Steven van Gulik
Michael Fedyshyn*
Larry Larson*

TROMBONES
Donald Renshaw (solo)
Colin Traquair

TROMBONE BASSE
Douglas Burden

TUBA
Chris Lee (solo)

TIMBALES
Feza Zweifel (solo)

PERCUSSIONS
Jonathan Wade
Tim Francom*
Louis Pino*

HARPE
Angela Schwarzkopf* 

CLAVIER
Frédéric Lacroix*
 

MUSICOTHÉCAIRE PRINCIPALE
Nancy Elbeck

MUSICOTHÉCAIRE ADJOINT
Corey Rempel

CHEF DU PERSONNEL
Meiko Lydall

CHEF ADJOINTE DU PERSONNEL
Laurie Shannon

*Musiciens surnuméraires
** En congé
Les membres de l’Orchestre sans fonction attitrée sont cités en ordre alphabétique

Menu