NAC is extending performance and event cancellations and postponements until August 31

The Music of John Williams

Reflection

Welcome back to the NAC Orchestra’s brand new Pops season! And what a superlative beginning we have for you.

I first heard John Williams’ music in 1977 at New York City’s Ziegfeld Theatre. It was Star Wars: A New Hope and it blew my mind… of course!

That thoroughly modern old-school renaissance of full orchestral scores in movies was a revolution when it hit the big screen, and John’s melodies are still the most memorable star of some very starry films. The legacy of great scores by  Korngold, Richard Strauss, Dvořák, Holst and Max Steiner can be sensed in his unique and original music, which has probably been heard by more people on the planet than any other composer.

Little did I realise then that I would meet and work with John many times. Years ago, I discovered a score of John’s (from the film Monsignor) and was greatly impressed by one scene in particular in which many plot points came crashing together in rather melodramatic fashion in a Roman cathedral. Instead of dialogue, the director Frank Perry wisely chose to have John write a marvelous piece of liturgical music. John called it “Gloria.” I was so enamoured of this composition, I reached out to John and asked if I might be able to perform it in Ottawa. He said it was not published but that he would be pleased to loan me his personal set of orchestral parts for performances in Ottawa that season. Several months later, during a PBS telecast, I thanked him for the loan and he sincerely asked me: “Did they like it?” Such is the modesty of a true genius.

Since then we’ve become good colleagues and friends, and he has entrusted me and the Indianapolis Symphony with the honour of playing through the pre-publication drafts of his music, which are then corrected, printed and made available for orchestras around the world to play in concert.

John is a quiet and focussed man, the consummate gentleman. And it is safe to say that he will remain the most celebrated composer of the 20th century.

Program: Music by John Williams

Main Title from Star Wars (1977)

“Superman March” from Superman (1978)

“The Flight to Neverland” from Hook (1991)

Excerpts from Artificial Intelligence: A.I. (2001)

“The Cowboys Overture” from The Cowboys (1972)

Theme from Close Encounters of the Third Kind (1977)

“Devil’s Dance” from The Witches of Eastwick (1987)

“Raiders March” from Raiders of the Lost Ark (1981)

INTERMISSION

Liberty Fanfare (1986)

Suite from Far and Away (1992)

Theme from Schindler’s List (1993) 
Yosuke Kawasaki, violin

“Hedwig’s Theme” from Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone (2001)

“Harry’s Wondrous World” from Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone (2001)

“Shark Theme” from Jaws (1975)

Main Theme from Jurassic Park (1993)

“Adventures on Earth” from E.T. the Extra-Terrestrial (1982)


Menu

Tous les spectacles et événements sont annulés jusqu’au lundi 27 avril 2020

La musique de John Williams

Réflexion

Bienvenue à une toute nouvelle saison de la série Pops de l’Orchestre du CNA. Et quel grandiose coup d’envoi nous avons pour vous!

J’ai entendu la musique de John Williams pour la première fois en 1977 au Ziegfeld Theatre de New York. On y présentait Star Wars : Un nouvel espoir et j’ai été époustouflé… bien sûr!

À l’époque, cette renaissance résolument moderne de partitions intégrales pour orchestre au cinéma, à l’ancienne, était une révolution, et les mélodies de John restent l’étoile la plus brillante de plus d’un film légendaire. L’héritage d’illustres devanciers comme Korngold, Richard Strauss, Dvořák, Holst et Max Steiner est perceptible dans sa musique éminemment personnelle et originale, qui a probablement été entendue par plus d’auditeurs que celle de n’importe quel autre compositeur au monde.

Je ne me doutais pas, alors, que j’allais faire la connaissance de John et travailler avec lui à maintes occasions. Il y a plusieurs années, j’ai découvert une autre de ses musiques de film (celle de Monsignor) et j’ai été vivement impressionné par une scène, en particulier, dans laquelle plusieurs nœuds de l’intrigue se rejoignent, de façon plutôt mélodramatique, dans une cathédrale romaine. Au lieu d’un dialogue, le réalisateur Frank Perry avait eu la brillante idée de commander à John une merveilleuse pièce de musique liturgique, que celui-ci avait intitulée « Gloria ». J’étais tellement entiché de cette composition que j’ai appelé John pour lui demander la permission de la jouer à Ottawa. Il m’a répondu qu’elle était inédite, mais qu’il se ferait un plaisir de me prêter sa propre partition orchestrale pour nos concerts à Ottawa cette saison-là. Plusieurs mois plus tard, à la faveur d’une émission de la chaîne PBS, je l’ai remercié pour ce prêt et il m’a demandé, en toute candeur : « Est-ce qu’ils l’ont aimée? » Telle est la modestie d’un génie véritable.

Depuis, John et moi sommes devenus de bons collaborateurs et amis, et il nous a fait l’honneur, à l’Orchestre symphonique d’Indianapolis et moi-même, de nous confier l’exécution de versions préliminaires avant publication de sa musique, laquelle est ensuite corrigée, imprimée et mise à la disposition des orchestres du monde entier pour être jouée en concert.

John est un homme discret et concentré, un parfait gentleman. Et il restera sans aucun doute le compositeur le plus célèbre du XXe siècle.

Programme : La musique de John Williams

Thème principal de Star Wars (1977)

« La Marche de Superman » de Superman (1978)

« Vol vers le pays imaginaire » de Capitaine Crochet (1991)

Extraits de A.I. Intelligence artificielle (2001)

Ouverture des Cowboys (1972)

Thème de Rencontres du troisième type (1977)

« La Danse du diable » des Sorcières d’Eastwick (1987) 

« La Marche des aventuriers » des Aventuriers de l’arche perdue (1981)

ENTRACTE

Liberty Fanfare (1986)

Suite tirée d’Horizons lointains (1992)

Thème de La Liste de Schindler (1993)
Yosuke Kawasaki, violon

« Thème d’Hedwige » de Harry Potter à l’école des sorciers (2001)

« Le Monde merveilleux d’Harry » de Harry Potter à l’école des sorciers (2001)

Thème du requin des Dents de la mer (1975)

Thème principal du Parc jurassique (1993)

« Aventures sur Terre » de E.T. l’extra-terrestre (1982)


Menu