NAC is extending performance and event cancellations and postponements until June 14

Bangarra Dance Theatre

Spirit • Nyapanyapa

The unique signature of Bangarra Dance Theatre has earned it a stellar reputation worldwide. Now in its 30th year, the company’s inspiring blend of traditional and contemporary dance has touched thousands, both through its dynamic performances and extensive community work. Under the artistic leadership of choreographer Stephen Page, Bangarra returns for its second NAC Dance visit with a powerful double-bill highlighting its spectacular dancing and staging through distinctive Aboriginal and Torres Strait Island stories.   

Enjoy the world of NAC Dance!

Bangarra acknowledges that we are performing on the lands of the Algonquin Anishinaabe Nation, and thanks their Elders past, present and emerging for their generosity in allowing us to perform on their lands.

Dance is our medicine, a practice which connects the past, present and future through the passing on of cultural knowledge. In Spirit, we share the stories of our black experience – uncensored, raw, and unapologetic; stories that powerfully communicate the complexities, diversity and sophistication of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander history, culture and philosophy.

Spirit is Bangarra’s first, extensive tour of Turtle Island, following our season of Awakenings in Ottawa in 2008, and it’s a program of works which speaks to the enduring strength and visceral power of human connection and the human spirit. Many of the works are inspired by the traditional knowledge of sacred lands and the wisdom of the Yolngu people of Northeast Arnhem Land, in which we are taught about our role and responsibilities within the greater life-cycle of birth, death and rebirth.

From the representation of Aboriginal life achieved through rituals, ceremonies, visual arts, healing and storytelling in Yellow, Black and White (Ochres, 1994 and 1995); through the challenges of contemporary existence as depicted in Dingo (Spear, 2000) and The Call (Rush, 2002); all of these works underscore the importance of ceremony, connection and transformation as the means through which the spirit is able to be released, the cycle of life is able to continue, and hope is able to prevail.

Nyapanyapa is inspired by the beautifully textured paintings of Yirrkala artist Nyapanyapa Yunupingu. Through dance, Nyapanyapa illuminates and celebrates the artist’s incredible creative gifts and brings her joyful work to a new audience.

I thank Cultural Consultants Djakapurra Munyarryun, Aunty Kathy Balngayngu Marika, Nyapanyapa Yunupingu and Ningali Lawford-Wolf for entrusting us with their songs, stories and Language. I also thank my fellow choreographers, creatives and dancers who have contributed so much, personally and professionally, to the creation of these works over the last three decades. Thank you my Country.


Program

76 minutes, no intermission

SPIRIT  29:26 minutes

Black (Ochres, 1994) 9:46 minutes

Yellow (Ochres, 1995) 7 minutes

Dingo (Spear, 2000 Skin) 4:40 minutes

White (Ochres, 1994) 3:30 minutes

The Call (Rush, 2002 Walkabout) 4:20 minutes

Nyapanyapa  42:33 minutes

Spirit

Black (Ochres, 1994)

This is male energy – when they wipe ochre across their forehead, it’s protective action, to protect and maintain the male spirit before they go on the hunt. This dance features animal mimicry, which is integral to traditional dance; the swatting movement with the hands, like the swatting of flies, the crouching and rearing up, the shaking of the body – that is kangaroo.

In Black we also have the hands covering mouths – a political statement about petrol sniffing, an abstract move we included to comment on the social dilemma that is an ongoing issue in a lot of communities.

Yellow (Ochres, 1995)

This is the woman spirit – mother earth in all her forms as represented by the women and the yellow ochre. Many of the movements in Yellow are inspired by female energy and their connection to the land – the nurturing of children, feeding, gathering, water, bathing, birthing.

Dingo (Spear, 2000 Skin)

A sacred and powerful initiation ceremony from traditional Aboriginal men’s law – a young boy becomes a man and is given the totem of the dingo, Australia’s wild dog. Inspired by the initiation of boys to men, taking on the fearless nature of the dingo.

White (Ochres, 1994)

White takes inspiration from what has come before and the impact it has on our future. Our history is protecting us, it informs who we are and it is a source of rejuvenation. White is that new spirit world: the dancers embody the spiritual energy of the future. We acknowledge the continuation of life by embracing our history.

The Call (Rush, 2002 Walkabout)

The Call grapples with the challenges of being an Indigenous man in the contemporary world, calling on connections to traditional land and culture, to cultivate strength.

_____
Choreography: Stephen Page, Bernadette Walong-Sene

Traditional Choreography and Music: Djakapurra Munyarryun

Music: David Page, Steve Francis

Costume Design: Jennifer Irwin    

Set Design: Jacob Nash

Brolga Cloths: John Matkovic, Stephen Page

Lighting Design: Nick Schlieper, Karen Norris, Joseph Mercurio, Matt Cox

Nyapanyapa

(OUR land people stories, 2016)

Inspired by the beautifully textured painting of Yirrkala artist Nyapanyapa Yunupingu.

_____
Choreography: Stephen Page

Music: David Page, Steve Francis

Costume Design: Jennifer Irwin

Set Design: Jacob Nash

Lighting Design: Matt Cox

Cultural Consultant: Nyapanyapa Yunupingu

About the Company

Bangarra Dance Theatre

Bangarra is an Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander organization and one of Australia’s leading performing arts companies, widely acclaimed nationally and around the world for powerful dancing, distinctive theatrical voice and utterly unique soundscapes, music and design.

Led by Artistic Director Stephen Page, Bangarra are currently in our 30th year, but their dance technique is forged from over 65,000 years of culture, embodied with contemporary movement. The company’s dancers are professionally trained, dynamic artists who represent the pinnacle of Australian dance. Each has a proud Aboriginal and/or Torres Strait Islander background, from various locations across the country.

Bangarra was birthed in 1989 from the energy of NAISDA (National Aboriginal Islander Skills Development Association) founder Carole J Johnson, along with NAISDA graduates, and Rob Bryant and Cheryl Stone. That spark continues to animate the company today.

Bangarra’s relationships with Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander communities are the heart of the company, with their repertoire created on Country and stories gathered from respected community Elders.

It’s this inherent connection to the land and people that makes Bangarra unique and enjoyed by audiences from remote Australian regional centres to New York.

Bangarra’s annual program includes a national tour of a world premiere work, performed in Australia’s most iconic venues; a regional tour allowing audiences outside of capital cities the opportunity to experience Bangarra, and an international tour to maintain their global reputation for excellence.

Complementing this touring roster are education programs, workshops and special performances and projects, planting the seeds for the next generation of performers and storytellers.

Authentic storytelling, outstanding technique and deeply moving performances are Bangarra’s unique signature.

Bangarra Dance Theatre

Executive

Artistic Director: Stephen Page

Interim Executive Director: Tony Grybowski

Executive Administrator: Laura Hough     

Artistic team

Associate Artistic Director: Frances Rings

Head of Design: Jacob Nash

Rehearsal Director: Daniel Roberts     

Production

Company Manager: Cloudia Elder

Production Manager: Cat Studley

Head Electrician, Lighting Realiser: Ryan Shuker

Stage Manager: Lillian Hannah U

Head Mechanist: Dave Tongs    

Head of Wardrobe: Monica Smith

AV & Sound Technician: Emjay Matthews

Production Assistant, Assistant Stage Manager: Stephanie Storr

Thank you

Bangarra would like to thank Linda Herd, our Guya Donor and friend, for her generous support of this tour.


Menu

Tous les spectacles et événements sont annulés jusqu’au lundi 27 avril 2020

Bangarra Dance Theatre

Spirit • Nyapanyapa

Grâce à ses spectacles uniques, le Bangarra Dance Theatre s’est forgé une réputation enviable partout dans le monde. La compagnie touche, depuis 30 ans déjà, des milliers de personnes avec de dynamiques prestations combinant danse traditionnelle et danse contemporaine, ainsi que des activités de rayonnement dans la collectivité. Sous la direction du chorégraphe Stephen Page, Bangarra nous propose, pour son deuxième passage au CNA, un impressionnant programme double qui braque les feux sur les remarquables récits des aborigènes d’Australie et insulaires du détroit de Torrès, merveilleusement racontés à travers une mise en scène et des chorégraphies spectaculaires.

Entrez dans l’univers de la danse au CNA!

Le Bangarra Dance Theatre reconnaît qu’il se produit sur le territoire de la nation algonquine anishinaabe et remercie ses aînés passés, présents et futurs de lui permettre de présenter ses spectacles sur leurs terres.

La danse est comme un remède, c’est une pratique qui réunit le présent, le passé et l’avenir à travers la transmission d’un savoir culturel. Dans Spirit, nous partageons avec vous nos histoires, notre expérience de personnes noires, et ce, sans détour. Ces récits démontrent toutes les complexités, la sophistication et la diversité de l’histoire, de la culture et de la philosophie des aborigènes d’Australie et des insulaires du détroit de Torrès.

Avec Spirit, Bangarra effectue sa première grande tournée dans l’île de la Tortue suivant Awakenings, présenté à Ottawa en 2008. Ce spectacle regroupe une série de tableaux mettant en évidence la puissance viscérale des relations humaines et la résilience qu’on porte en nous. Ces tableaux s’inspirent du savoir ancestral qui émane des lieux sacrés et de la sagesse du peuple Yolngu du nord-est de la Terre d’Arnhem, qui nous enseignent notre rôle et nos responsabilités au sein du grand cycle de la vie (naissance, mort et renaissance).

Yellow, Black et White (Ochres, 1994 et 1995) décrivent la vie quotidienne des aborigènes, leurs rituels et cérémonies, leurs œuvres d’art, leurs récits et leurs médecines, tandis que Dingo (Spear, 2000) et The Call (Rush, 2002) évoquent les défis de la vie d’aujourd’hui. Tous ces tableaux soulignent le rôle transformateur des cérémonials et des connexions dans la libération de l’esprit, la poursuite du cycle de la vie et la primauté de l’espoir.

De son côté, Nyapanyapa s’inspire d’une magnifique peinture texturée de l’artiste de Yirrkala Nyapanyapa Yunupingu. La chorégraphie met en lumière et célèbre les talents créatifs de cette extraordinaire artiste et font connaître son œuvre exubérante à de nouveaux publics.

Je tiens à exprimer mes remerciements aux conseillers culturels Djakapurra Munyarryun, Aunty Kathy Balngayngu Marika, Nyapanyapa Yunupingu et Ningali Lawford-Wolf, qui nous ont confié leurs chansons, leurs récits et leur langue. Je remercie aussi mes collègues chorégraphes, interprètes et créateurs qui ont contribué corps et âme à la création de ces œuvres au cours des trois dernières décennies. Merci à mon pays.


Programme

76 minutes, sans entracte

SPIRIT  29:26 minutes

Black (Ochres, 1994) 9:46 minutes

Yellow (Ochres, 1995) 7 minutes

Dingo (Spear, 2000 Skin) 4:40 minutes

White (Ochres, 1994) 3:30 minutes

The Call (Rush, 2002 Walkabout) 4:20 minutes

Nyapanyapa  42:33 minutes

Spirit

Black (Ochres, 1994)

Évocation de l’esprit masculin : la bande d’ocre noire que les hommes tracent sur leur front protège l’esprit masculin pendant la chasse. Le mimétisme animal, partie intégrante des danses traditionnelles aborigènes, est au cœur de ce tableau. Sont évoqués, entre autres, les gestes des kangourous : mouvements répétés afin de repousser les mouches, accroupissements, redressement et tremblements du corps.

Dans Black, la main placée sur la bouche est un geste politique faisant référence au dilemme social induit par la pratique de l’inhalation d’essence, problème majeur qui sévit au sein de nombreuses communautés aborigènes.

Yellow (Ochres, 1995)

Évocation de l’esprit féminin : la Terre-Mère sous tous ses aspects, représentée par les femmes et l’ocre jaune. La plupart des mouvements de ce tableau ont partie liée avec l’énergie féminine et le lien qui unit la femme à la terre : rassemblement, bain rituel, fertilité, naissance, soin et éducation des enfants.

Dingo (Spear, 2000 Skin)

Un rite de passage, puissant et sacré, selon la loi traditionnelle des hommes aborigènes : lorsqu’un jeune garçon devient un homme, il se voit remettre le totem du dingo, chien sauvage d’Australie. Dans cette cérémonie initiatique, le garçon découvre l’intrépidité de son alter ego.

White (Ochres, 1994)

Ce tableau rappelle des événements de notre passé et leur impact sur notre avenir. Notre histoire nous offre sa protection, nous éclaire sur nous-mêmes et nous permet de nous réinventer. White, c’est l’esprit d’un monde nouveau : les interprètes y incarnent l’énergie de l’avenir, d’un nouveau cycle de vie, nourrie par son histoire.

The Call (Rush, 2002 Walkabout)

The Call évoque les défis auxquels les hommes aborigènes font face dans le monde d’aujourd’hui, appelant à rétablir les liens avec la terre et la culture traditionnelles et à cultiver sa force intérieure.

_____
Choréographie : Stephen Page, Bernadette Walong-Sene

Chorégraphie traditionnelle et musique : Djakapurra Munyarryun

Musique : David Page, Steve Francis

Conception des costumes : Jennifer Irwin    

Conception des décors : Jacob Nash

Tissus à motifs de brolga : John Matkovic, Stephen Page

Conception des éclairages : Nick Schlieper, Karen Norris, Joseph Mercurio, Matt Cox

Nyapanyapa

(OUR land people stories, 2016)

Tableau inspiré d’une magnifique peinture texturée de l’artiste de Yirrkala Nyapanyapa Yunupingu.

_____
Choréographie : Stephen Page

Musique : David Page, Steve Francis

Conception des costumes : Jennifer Irwin

Conception des décors : Jacob Nash

Conception des éclairages : Matt Cox

Consultant culturel : Nyapanyapa Yunupingu

À propos de la compagnie

Bangarra Dance Theatre

Formé d’aborigènes et d’insulaires du détroit de Torrès, le Bangarra Dance Theatre est l’une des plus importantes compagnies artistiques d’Australie; il est acclamé partout dans le pays et dans le monde entier pour la puissance de sa danse, sa voix théâtrale distinctive et l’originalité de ses environnements sonores et conceptuels.

Sous la direction artistique de Stephen Page, Bangarra célèbre cette année son 30e anniver-saire. La compagnie allie les mouvements de la danse contemporaine et une culture de plus de 65 000 ans. Ses danseurs ont reçu une solide formation en danse et sont de dynamiques artistes parmi les plus talentueux d’Australie. Tous sont de fiers aborigènes ou insulaires du détroit de Torrès et proviennent des diverses régions du pays.

Bangarra a été créé 1989 sous l’impulsion de Carole J. Johnson, fondatrice de la National Aboriginal Islander Skills Development Association (NAISDA), de diplômés de la NAISDA et de Rob Bryant et Cheryl Stone. Leur énergie anime toujours la compagnie.

La relation qu’entretient Bangarra avec les communautés aborigènes et insulaires du détroit de Torrès est au cœur même des activités de la compagnie, puisque le répertoire puise aux récits transmis par les aînés de ces communautés.

C’est cette connexion intime avec le territoire et les populations qui fait le caractère unique de Bangarra; c’est grâce à elle que la compagnie est aussi appréciée des auditoires de collectivités éloignées de l’arrière-pays australien que de ceux de la ville de New York.

Chaque année, Bangarra effectue une tournée nationale dans les plus importantes salles d’Australie et y présente une œuvre en première mondiale. Une tournée régionale permet au public résidant hors des grands centres urbains de vivre l’expérience Bangarra, et une tournée à l’étranger donne l’occasion à la compagnie de maintenir sa réputation d’excellence à l’échelle mondiale.

En plus des spectacles présentés en tournée, la compagnie dirige des programmes éducatifs, donne des ateliers et des prestations spéciales et réalise divers projets en vue de préparer les prochaines générations de conteurs et d’artistes de la scène.

Des histoires authentiques, une technique impeccable et des prestations émouvantes, voilà la signature unique de Bangarra.

Bangarra Dance Theatre

Équipe de direction

Directeur artistique : Stephen Page

Directeur général par intérim : Tony Grybowski

Administratice générale : Laura Hough     

Direction artistique

Directrice artistique adjointe : Frances Rings

Concepteur chef : Jacob Nash

Directeur de répétition : Daniel Roberts     

Production

Gérante de compagnie : Cloudia Elder

Directrice de production : Cat Studley

Chef électricien et directeur des éclairages : Ryan Shuker

Régisseuse : Lillian Hannah U

Mécanicien en chef : Dave Tongs    

Chef costumière : Monica Smith

Technicien audiovisuel et sonore : Emjay Matthews

Adjointe de production et régisseuse adjointe : Stephanie Storr

Remerciements

Bangarra exprime ses remerciements les plus sincères à Linda Herd, fidèle amie et donatrice de la compagnie, qui a généreusement soutenu cette tournée.


Menu