Pinnock’s Matthew Passion


The NAC Orchestra first performed J.S. Bach’s St. Matthew Passion in 1972 under the direction of Brian Law, and with Heather Harper, Gabrielle Lavigne, Kenneth Bowen and Antony Ransome as soloists. In 1997, Trevor Pinnock was conductor, as he is again tonight, for the Orchestra’s most recent performance of this work. On that occasion Nancy Argenta, Catherine Robbin, Benjamin Butterfield, Howard Crook, Stephen Varcoe and Brian Bannatyne-Scott sang the solo parts.


J.S. Bach

The Passion According to St. Matthew, BWV 244

Born in Eisenach, March 21, 1685
Died in Leipzig, July 28, 1750

Of all humankind’s great testimonials to religious faith and devotion, one of the supreme musical manifestations is surely Bach’s Passion According to St. Matthew (the St. Matthew Passion for short). Written in 1729 (or possibly 1727 – scholars still argue the point) and first performed at the Vespers service on Good Friday of that year (April 15), it stands at the summit not only of Bach’s own enormous output, but also of a thousand years of Western music.

Musical dramatizations of the Passion story date back to at least the thirteenth century, the period of the Miracle Plays. The subsequent development of this genre passed through phases involving varying degrees of departure from biblical and liturgical texts and varying degrees of dramatization. Strictly plainsong or chordal settings gradually gave way to polyphonic treatments of at least part of the text, and some of the trappings of Italian opera were also introduced, in particular the orchestra and the use of recitative and aria. 

Heinrich Schütz (1585–1672), Bach’s great predecessor in German sacred music, had confined his Passion texts to the Gospel, but subsequent composers in the late seventeenth and early eighteenth centuries expanded the scope of their Passions to include extended passages of lyrical, non-biblical text. Innovation turned to excess, and for a time there was little difference between a Passion-oratorio and an opera save in subject matter. Eventually there was a strong reaction to the frankly sensational treatments, but non-biblical texts were still incorporated. Hence, when Bach turned his attention to the Passion story – with its choruses, arias of non-biblical text, chorales, explicit text painting in the orchestra, and dramatic representations of the Evangelist, Jesus, the crowd and smaller parts – he was not indulging in anything historically innovative. There were, however, two extremely important respects in which the St. Matthew Passion transcended all precedents. These were its length (well over three hours) and its aura of monumentality.

The St. Matthew Passion is laid out on a huge scale, in two parts comprising about seventy numbers: choruses, chorales, arias, ariosos and recitatives. The forces required include two four-part choirs, a boys’ choir (sung here by a mixed children’s choir), two orchestras each consisting of two flutes, two oboes, bassoon, strings, viola da gamba, harpsichord, and organ. Generally, Orchestra I plays with Choir I and Orchestra II with Choir II. Choir I represents the twelve disciples, Choir II the people at large, though for the opening and closing numbers of the Passion they join to represent the entire Christian Church. The choirs also merge for the chorales and the closing of Part I.

Four vocal soloists are required for the arias (soprano, contralto, tenor, bass), and two more carry the roles of the Evangelist (tenor) and Jesus (bass). These latter two sing only in recitative, but a recitative more often akin to arioso (orchestrally accompanied sung narratives but not full-fledged arias) than to the dry recitative of opera. The Evangelist is an objective narrator who relates the events of the Passion story, which covers the period from the Last Supper to the Entombment. His recitative is accompanied by the organ, but Jesus is always accompanied by the strings, which provide a halo-like effect around his words (another element borrowed from Italian opera). The sole exception occurs at Jesus’ final words, just before death, “Eli, Eli, lama sabachtani?” There are also eleven Soliloquenten, bit parts sung by individual members of the chorus for miscellaneous characters such as Pilate, Judas, Peter, priests, maids, witnesses, etc.

In addition to the Gospel texts, which are drawn from Matthew Chapters 26 and 27 complete (in itself a substantial piece of writing; it takes about twenty minutes to read aloud), there are 28 interpolated pieces set to texts by Henrici. These include twelve solo arias encompassing a great variety of moods and expression, accompanied by the orchestra and often featuring a solo instrument; ten ariosos; two arias with choir; one duet with choir; and three choruses.  

Twelve chorales (in addition to those used in the big choral numbers) taken from contemporary German Protestant hymnbooks complete the textual component. All are set to four-part harmony with the melody in the soprano, and serve to portray the tension, feelings and responses of the congregation as a collective body to various events in the Passion story as they unfold. Some of the melodies are used for two or more hymns; one of them is heard five times, and has acquired the sobriquet “the St. Matthew Chorale.” It is not unreasonable to imagine members of Bach’s congregation singing along with the choristers, since these hymns were as well known in eighteenth-century Germany as popular songs are today.

A performance of the complete, uncut St. Matthew Passion takes more than three hours, plus intermission. That’s something of an endurance test for any audience. But imagine yourself back in Leipzig at St. Thomas’ Church on Good Friday in 1729, where Bach’s music was but a part of the Vespers service. The service began about 1:30 in the afternoon with a hymn. Then came Part I of Bach’s Passion, then another hymn, then the sermon (which may have lasted up to an hour), another hymn, Part II of the Passion, a motet, the Good Friday Collect, still another hymn, and finally the Blessing. A truly devout and diligent churchgoer might also have sat through a long morning service as well.

To prepare us for the Passion experience, Bach wrote one of the most majestic, powerfully moving and structurally complex choruses in the history of music. This and the chorus at the other end of the St. Matthew Passion are the mighty pillars that support the immense musical structure. For the opening chorus, Bach employs all the resources at his disposal. The aura of deep solemnity is set in the introductory bars for orchestra (Orchestras I and II combined), where the complex interweaving of melodic strands creates a dense and continuously evolving contrapuntal web. The choral entry in bar 18 – that anguished, fervent expression of communal grief – is given only to Chorus I. The reason Bach withholds Chorus II soon becomes apparent, for he pits it against Chorus I in a dramatic dialogue of question and answer: “See Him!” “Who?” “The Bridegroom” “How?” “So like a Lamb is He,” and so on. This choral dialogue portrays a vivid theatrical event, with crowds moving about in excitement and anticipation. Soaring above all this earthly commotion and suffering, a separate chorus (either sopranos or a boys’ choir), in a different key and to a different rhythm, intones the chorale “O guiltless Lamb of God” with its promise of redemption. The interaction of these three levels – the heavenly choir, the two earthly choirs, and the orchestra supporting the whole vocal edifice – produces an unparalleled richness of sound and an image of impregnable faith.

Following this chorus, Bach unfolds a steady succession of numbers suffused with sublime beauty, deeply-felt intimacy or dramatic excitement. With extraordinary vividness, he gives expression to all the sorrow, pain, terror and wonder of this great Christian drama. The characters are no mere abstractions; they are richly imbued with human, lifelike qualities, characters who interact freely and spontaneously, who portray their deepest thoughts and emotions. As such, the St. Matthew Passion remains one of the most exalted, yet most accessible, monuments of devotional expression. 

An account of all the notable moments in the St. Matthew Passion would fill many pages. Here are just a few of the dozens, perhaps hundreds, that the listener might look forward to:

The first recitative (“Du lieber Heiland du”) for the alto, who, incidentally, gets the lion’s share of the solo numbers, is accompanied throughout by flutes playing an expressive “teardrop” motif.

Flutes also express the time-honoured device of musical sighs of grief in the first soprano aria (“Blute nur”). Later in this aria, at the word “Schlange” (snake), both the soprano and the accompanying bass wind their way through serpentine musical lines.

Underscoring the text of the tenor aria “Ich will bei meinem Jesu wachen” (I will watch with my Jesus), Bach incorporates as its principal melodic material a traditional watchman’s call.

The thunder of the chorus “Sind Blitze, sind Donner” is vividly portrayed by the virtually non-stop rumbling of the bass line.  

When Pilate asks the crowd which of the prisoners he should release, Jesus or Barabbas, he expects and hopes for the former. The unexpectedness (to Pilate) and horror (for us) of the crowd’s call for “Barabbas” is transmitted through a wrenching harmonic gearshift that totally defies the expected resolution of the previous chord. The events leading to the Crucifixion now unfold rapidly. The scourging of Jesus is heard in the whiplash effects in the orchestrally accompanied recitative “Erbarm es Gott! Hier steht der Heiland angebunden,” and the weight of the Cross Jesus bears to Golgotha in the bass aria “Komm, süßes Kreuz,” is painfully portrayed in the “dragging” of the lower strings.

After Jesus expires on the Cross, the veil of the temple is rent in two, the earth shakes, and the graves open, all to graphically descriptive effects in the orchestra and nearly hysterical recitative from the Evangelist. Then, in one of the most wondrous passages in the whole St. Matthew Passion, the chorus exclaims that “this truly was the Son of God.” It is a brief moment, but one of sublime beauty and absolutely unforgettable.

And then that final chorus! Flowing alternately between the stern monumentality of C minor and the consoling warmth of E-flat major, all humanity bids the Saviour a loving farewell, bringing to an end both an incomparable musical masterpiece and a timeless, communal act of faith.

Program notes by Robert Markow

Chorus

Choristers from:
Cantata Singers of Ottawa (CSO)
Capital Chamber Choir (CCC)

Rehearsal Pianists:
Andrew Ager
Sonya Sweeney 

SOPRANO
Kristi Aruja CSO
Gwyneth Bergman CSO
Jennifer Berntson CCC
Nadine Dawson CSO
Bonnie Day CSO
Valerie Douglas CSO
Maura Forrest CCC
Deirdre Garcia CSO
Jennie Glassco CCC
Natasha Harwood CSO
Cait Hurcomb CCC
Erin Joyce CCC
Sharon Keenan-Hayes CSO
Lucie Laneville CSO
Sumin Lee CCC
Erica Loughlin CSO
Jessyca Morgan CSO
Colleen Morris CSO
Sophia Nickel CSO
Nicola Oddy CSO
Cathy Patton CSO
Aude Pull CCC
Kristina Roudiy CSO
Hannah Searson CCC
Mackenzie Stone CCC
Anna von Holtzendorff CSO

ALTO
Barbara Ackison CSO
Pat Beckett CCC
Patricia Bilodeau CSO
Trish Brooks CSO
Judy Brush CSO
Heather Buisman CCC
Vickie Classen Iles CSO
Janet Cover CSO
Amy Desrosiers CCC
Ellie Glantz CCC
Mary Gordon CSO
Liz Gray CSO
Carolyn Greve CCC
Pamela Holm CSO
Pein-Pein Huang CSO
Diana James CSO
Eileen Johnson CSO
Grace Mann CSO
Janessa Mann CCC
Jessica McClay CCC
Andi Murphy CSO
Alice Yoch CCC
 

TENOR
Sascha Adler CCC
Gary Boyd CSO
Gennaro Busa CSO
Cameron Climie CCC
Richard Fujarczuk CSO
Dorian Gerdes CSO
Louis Jacques CCC
Ross Jewell CSO
Karl Mann CSO
Nicholas Piper CCC
Aaron Shenkman CSO
Aidan Shenkman CSO

BASS
Wallace Beaton CSO
Phillip Burness CCC
Kyle Canton CCC
Spencer Cripps CCC
Mark Chester Dumbrique CSO
Michael Hartney CSO
Andrew Hodgson CSO
Greg Huyer CSO
Björn Johansson CSO
Nathan Maclean-Max CCC
Christopher Mallory CCC
J.P. McElhone CSO
Peter Reilly-Roe CSO
Daniel Savoie CSO
Glen Seeds CSO
Mike Vanier CSO
Paul Whiteley CCC
 


Menu

La Passion selon saint Matthieu de Pinnock

L’Orchestre du CNA a interprété la Passion selon saint Matthieu de J.-S. Bach pour la première fois en 1972, sous la direction de Brian Law, et avec Heather Harper, Gabrielle Lavigne, Kenneth Bowen et Antony Ransome comme solistes. En 1997, Trevor Pinnock était chef, comme il l’est encore ce soir, pour la plus récente prestation donnée par l’Orchestre de cette œuvre. Pour l’occasion, Nancy Argenta, Catherine Robbin, Benjamin Butterfield, Howard Crook, Stephen Varcoe et Brian Bannatyne-Scott chantaient les solos.

J.-S. Bach

La Passion selon saint Matthieu, BWV 244

Eisenach, 21 mars 1685
Leipzig, 28 juillet 1750

De tous les grands témoignages de foi et de ferveur religieuse de l’humanité, l’une des plus hautes manifestations musicales est sans contredit la Passion selon saint Matthieu de Bach. Écrite en 1729 (ou peut-être en 1727, les spécialistes débattent toujours de la question) et exécutée pour la première fois à l’Office de Vêpres du Vendredi saint de la même année (le 15 avril), elle trône au sommet non seulement de l’énorme production de Bach, mais d’un millénaire de musique occidentale.

Les premières représentations avec musique du récit de la Passion remontent au moins au XIIIe siècle, à l’époque des jeux et mystères. La passion, en tant que genre musical et catégorie d’oratorio, a traversé différentes phases caractérisées par une fidélité variable aux textes bibliques et liturgiques, et par une théâtralisation plus ou moins poussée. Du plain-chant et des chorals, on est progressivement passé à la polyphonie pour certains passages du texte; des innovations de l’opéra italien ont ensuite été introduites, en particulier l’orchestre et l’emploi du récitatif et de l’aria.  

Grand précurseur de Bach pour ce qui est de la musique religieuse allemande, Heinrich Schütz (1585–1672) s’en était tenu aux textes de l’Évangile pour ses trois Passions, mais les compositeurs qui l’ont suivi, à la fin du XVIIe et au début du XVIIIe siècle, ont donné plus d’ampleur au genre en y intégrant des passages de textes lyriques et profanes; ce désir d’innover a donné lieu à de nombreux excès, si bien qu’à une certaine époque, il était devenu difficile de différencier les passions-oratorios des opéras, mis à part leur sujet. Les traitements ouvertement conçus pour faire sensation ont fini par susciter de vives réactions qui ont incité les compositeurs à plus de sobriété, mais on a continué à utiliser des textes profanes. Lorsque Bach s’est penché sur le récit de la Passion, il n’a certes pas fait œuvre de pionnier avec ses chœurs, ses arias sur des textes profanes, ses chorals, ses tableaux évocateurs interprétés par l’orchestre et ses représentations de l’Évangéliste, de Jésus, de la foule et de petits groupes. Néanmoins, sa Passion selon saint Matthieu transcende toutes celles qui l’ont précédée par deux aspects fondamentaux : sa longueur (son exécution dure plus de trois heures) et l’impression de grandeur qui s’en dégage.

La Passion selon saint Matthieu est conçue selon un plan monumental en deux parties, comportant environ 70 numéros en tout : chœurs, chorals, arias, ariosos et récitatifs. Les effectifs requis comprennent deux chœurs à quatre voix, un chœur de garçons ou d’enfants, deux orchestres composés chacun de deux flûtes, deux hautbois, un basson, une section de cordes, une viole de gambe, un clavecin et un orgue. Généralement, l’Orchestre I joue avec le Chœur I et l’Orchestre II avec le Chœur II. Le Chœur I représente les 12 apôtres, et le Chœur II, le peuple dans son ensemble; toutefois, pour l’ouverture et la conclusion de l’œuvre, toutes les voix s’unissent pour représenter l’Église chrétienne dans son intégralité. Les chœurs fusionnent également pour les chorals et pour le numéro qui conclut la Première partie.

Les arias nécessitent quatre voix solistes (soprano, contralto, ténor, basse), et deux autres personnifient l’Évangéliste Matthieu (ténor) et Jésus (basse). Ces deux dernières voix ne se font entendre que dans le récitatif, mais celui-ci s’apparente davantage à l’arioso (à la fois mélodique et narratif, tenant du récitatif et de l’aria) qu’au récitatif quasi parlé de l’opéra. L’Évangéliste est un narrateur objectif qui relate les différents épisodes de la Passion, depuis la Cène jusqu’à la Mise au tombeau. Son récitatif est accompagné par l’orgue, et celui de Jésus, par les cordes, ce qui produit un effet de halo autour de ses paroles (un autre élément emprunté à l’opéra italien). La seule exception survient au moment des dernières paroles prononcées par Jésus avant de mourir : « Eli, Eli, lama sabachtani? » La partition compte aussi 11 soliloques, de courts passages chantés par des membres individuels du chœur pour représenter différents personnages, comme Pilate, Judas, Pierre, les prêtres, les servantes, les témoins, etc.

En plus des passages tirés de l’Évangile selon saint Matthieu, dont l’œuvre reprend l’intégralité des chapitres 26 et 27 (un segment assez substantiel en soi, dont la lecture à haute voix prend une vingtaine de minutes), on trouve 28 pièces intercalées sur des textes de Christian Friedrich Henrici, dit « Picander » : 12 arias pour solistes embrassant une grande variété de modes et d’expressions, accompagnés par l’orchestre et mettant souvent un instrument solo de l’avant; six ariosos; deux arias avec chœur; un duo avec chœur; et trois chœurs.  

Douze chorals (en plus de ceux utilisés dans les chœurs principaux), puisés dans les recueils de cantiques protestants allemands de l’époque, complètent le contenu textuel de l’œuvre. Tous sont réglés sur une harmonie à quatre voix, où la mélodie est confiée à la soprano, et ont pour fonction d’évoquer les sentiments et les réactions collectives de la congrégation aux différents épisodes de la Passion à mesure qu’ils se déroulent, de même que les tensions qu’ils suscitent. Certaines mélodies sont utilisées dans deux hymnes ou plus; l’une d’elles est entendue à cinq occasions, ce qui lui a valu d’être surnommée « choral de saint Matthieu ». On peut aisément imaginer que les membres de la congrégation de Bach chantaient à l’unisson avec les choristes, car ces hymnes étaient aussi connus dans l’Allemagne du XVIIIe siècle que le sont les chansons populaires aujourd’hui.

Une exécution intégrale de la Passion selon saint Matthieu dure plus de trois heures, sans compter l’entracte. C’est une épreuve d’endurance en soi pour n’importe quel auditoire. Mais imaginez-vous sur un banc de l’église Saint-Thomas de Leipzig, le Vendredi saint de 1729, alors que la musique de Bach est intégrée à l’Office de Vêpres. La cérémonie débute vers 13 h 30 avec un hymne. Vient ensuite la Première partie de la Passion de Bach, suivie d’un autre hymne, puis du sermon (lequel pouvait durer une bonne heure), d’un autre hymne, de la Deuxième partie de la Passion, d’un motet, de la collecte du Vendredi saint, d’encore un hymne et, enfin, de la Bénédiction finale. Et les fidèles les plus dévots pouvaient fort bien avoir également assisté au long office du matin, plus tôt dans la journée…

Pour nous préparer à vivre l’expérience de la Passion, Bach a composé l’un des chœurs les plus majestueux, puissants, bouleversants et complexes de l’histoire de la musique. Ce chœur initial et celui qui conclut la Passion selon saint Matthieu sont les deux piliers titanesques qui soutiennent l’immense construction musicale. Pour le chœur d’ouverture, Bach utilise toutes les ressources dont il peut disposer : l’aura de profonde solennité est établie dès les premières mesures pour l’orchestre (les effectifs combinés des Orchestres I et II), alors que l’entrelacement complexe des courants mélodiques tisse une trame contraponctique dense et en constante évolution. La première intervention du chœur à la 18e mesure – expression ravagée et brûlante de deuil collectif – est confiée uniquement au Chœur I. Le Chœur II demeure silencieux, puisque Bach l’oppose bientôt au Chœur I pour former un dialogue dramatique sous forme de questions et réponses : « C’est lui! » « Qui? » « Ton fiancé! » « Voyez! » « Quoi? » « L’agneau divin! », etc. Ce dialogue choral évoque une scène théâtrale animée, avec une foule agitée par l’excitation et l’attente. S’élevant au-dessus de cette agitation et de ces souffrances terrestres, un chœur distinct de sopranos ou de garçons entonne le choral « Ô innocent agneau de Dieu », avec sa promesse de rédemption et dans une autre tonalité et sur un rythme différent. L’interaction de ces trois entités – le chœur céleste, les deux chœurs terrestres, et l’orchestre qui soutient tout l’édifice vocal – produit une richesse sonore inégalée et une impression de foi inébranlable.

À la suite de ce chœur, Bach déploie une succession ininterrompue de numéros empreints d’une sublime beauté, d’une profonde intimité ou d’une agitation dramatique. Avec une extraordinaire vivacité, il exprime toute la tristesse, la douleur, la terreur et le merveilleux de ce grand drame chrétien. Les personnages ne sont pas des représentations abstraites, mais sont imprégnés de qualités humaines tout à fait réalistes, échangent entre eux librement et spontanément, et expriment leurs pensées et leurs émotions les plus profondes. À ce titre, la Passion selon saint Matthieu reste l’un des monuments les plus grandioses, et néanmoins les plus accessibles, qu’ait produit la ferveur religieuse de l’humanité. 

On pourrait remplir de nombreuses pages à énumérer tous les passages remarquables que recèle la Passion selon saint Matthieu. Voici quelques-uns des dizaines, voire des centaines de moments que peut anticiper l’auditoire.

Le premier récitatif (« Du lieber Heiland du ») est accompagné du début à la fin par les flûtes jouant un motif de « larmes » des plus évocateurs; il est chanté par la contralto qui, incidemment, se taille la part du lion dans les numéros en solo. 

Conformément à la tradition, les flûtes expriment aussi des soupirs de chagrin musicaux en accompagnement du premier aria de la soprano (« Blute nur »). Plus loin dans cet aria, la soprano et la basse d’accompagnement empruntent des lignes musicales sinueuses avec le mot Schlange (« serpent »).

Pour mettre en relief le texte de l’aria du ténor « Ich will bei meinem Jesu wachen » (« Je veux veiller auprès de mon Jésus »), Bach y intègre comme principal matériau mélodique un appel traditionnel de veilleur.

Le coup de tonnerre du chœur « Sind Blitze, sind Donner » est représenté de façon saisissante par le grondement quasi incessant de la ligne de basse.

Quand Ponce Pilate demande à la foule quel prisonnier il doit libérer, entre Jésus et Barabbas, il prévoit et espère que le choix portera sur le premier. L’inattendu (pour Pilate) et l’horreur (pour nous) de la clameur de la foule en faveur de Barabbas s’expriment par une rupture harmonique brutale qui déjoue entièrement la résolution attendue de l’accord qui précède. Les épisodes menant à la Crucifixion s’enchaînent rapidement par la suite. La flagellation de Jésus est audible dans les effets de coups de fouet du récitatif avec accompagnement de l’orchestre « Erbarm es Gott! Hier steht der Heiland angebunden », et le poids de la Croix que Jésus transporte sur le Golgotha, dans l’aria de la basse « Komm, süsses Kreuz », est douloureusement évoqué dans l’effet de « traction » des cordes graves.

Après l’expiration de Jésus sur la Croix, le voile du Temple se déchire, la terre tremble et les tombes s’ouvrent, autant d’événements dépeints de façon très imagée par l’orchestre et le récitatif quasi hystérique de l’Évangéliste. Puis, dans l’un des passages les plus merveilleux de toute la Passion selon saint Matthieu, le chœur s’exclame : « vraiment, cet homme était Fils de Dieu ». C’est un bref moment, mais il est d’une beauté sublime, et tout à fait inoubliable.

Et que dire du chœur final! Alternant entre l’austère monumentalité du do mineur et la chaleur du mi bémol majeur, toute l’humanité fait des adieux pleins d’amour au Sauveur, mettant un point final à la fois à un chef-d’œuvre musical inégalé, et à un acte de foi collectif et intemporel.

Traduit d’après Robert Markow

Chœur

Choristes des chœurs :
Cantata Singers of Ottawa (CSO)
Capital Chamber Choir (CCC)

Pianistes-répétiteurs :
Andrew Ager
Sonya Sweeney 

SOPRANO
Kristi Aruja CSO
Gwyneth Bergman CSO
Jennifer Berntson CCC
Nadine Dawson CSO
Bonnie Day CSO
Valerie Douglas CSO
Maura Forrest CCC
Deirdre Garcia CSO
Jennie Glassco CCC
Natasha Harwood CSO
Cait Hurcomb CCC
Erin Joyce CCC
Sharon Keenan-Hayes CSO
Lucie Laneville CSO
Sumin Lee CCC
Erica Loughlin CSO
Jessyca Morgan CSO
Colleen Morris CSO
Sophia Nickel CSO
Nicola Oddy CSO
Cathy Patton CSO
Aude Pull CCC
Kristina Roudiy CSO
Hannah Searson CCC
Mackenzie Stone CCC
Anna von Holtzendorff CSO

ALTO
Barbara Ackison CSO
Pat Beckett CCC
Patricia Bilodeau CSO
Trish Brooks CSO
Judy Brush CSO
Heather Buisman CCC
Vickie Classen Iles CSO
Janet Cover CSO
Amy Desrosiers CCC
Ellie Glantz CCC
Mary Gordon CSO
Liz Gray CSO
Carolyn Greve CCC
Pamela Holm CSO
Pein-Pein Huang CSO
Diana James CSO
Eileen Johnson CSO
Grace Mann CSO
Janessa Mann CCC
Jessica McClay CCC
Andi Murphy CSO
Alice Yoch CCC

TÉNOR
Sascha Adler CCC
Gary Boyd CSO
Gennaro Busa CSO
Cameron Climie CCC
Richard Fujarczuk CSO
Dorian Gerdes CSO
Louis Jacques CCC
Ross Jewell CSO
Karl Mann CSO
Nicholas Piper CCC
Aaron Shenkman CSO
Aidan Shenkman CSO

BASSE
Wallace Beaton CSO
Phillip Burness CCC
Kyle Canton CCC
Spencer Cripps CCC
Mark Chester Dumbrique CSO
Michael Hartney CSO
Andrew Hodgson CSO
Greg Huyer CSO
Björn Johansson CSO
Nathan Maclean-Max CCC
Christopher Mallory CCC
J.P. McElhone CSO
Peter Reilly-Roe CSO
Daniel Savoie CSO
Glen Seeds CSO
Mike Vanier CSO
Paul Whiteley CCC


Chœur

Choristes des chœurs :
Cantata Singers of Ottawa (CSO)
Capital Chamber Choir (CCC)

Pianistes-répétiteurs :
Andrew Ager
Sonya Sweeney 

SOPRANO
Kristi Aruja CSO
Gwyneth Bergman CSO
Jennifer Berntson CCC
Nadine Dawson CSO
Bonnie Day CSO
Valerie Douglas CSO
Maura Forrest CCC
Deirdre Garcia CSO
Jennie Glassco CCC
Natasha Harwood CSO
Cait Hurcomb CCC
Erin Joyce CCC
Sharon Keenan-Hayes CSO
Lucie Laneville CSO
Sumin Lee CCC
Erica Loughlin CSO
Jessyca Morgan CSO
Colleen Morris CSO
Sophia Nickel CSO
Nicola Oddy CSO
Cathy Patton CSO
Aude Pull CCC
Kristina Roudiy CSO
Hannah Searson CCC
Mackenzie Stone CCC
Anna von Holtzendorff CSO

ALTO
Barbara Ackison CSO
Pat Beckett CCC
Patricia Bilodeau CSO
Trish Brooks CSO
Judy Brush CSO
Heather Buisman CCC
Vickie Classen Iles CSO
Janet Cover CSO
Amy Desrosiers CCC
Ellie Glantz CCC
Mary Gordon CSO
Liz Gray CSO
Carolyn Greve CCC
Pamela Holm CSO
Pein-Pein Huang CSO
Diana James CSO
Eileen Johnson CSO
Grace Mann CSO
Janessa Mann CCC
Jessica McClay CCC
Andi Murphy CSO
Alice Yoch CCC

TÉNOR
Sascha Adler CCC
Gary Boyd CSO
Gennaro Busa CSO
Cameron Climie CCC
Richard Fujarczuk CSO
Dorian Gerdes CSO
Louis Jacques CCC
Ross Jewell CSO
Karl Mann CSO
Nicholas Piper CCC
Aaron Shenkman CSO
Aidan Shenkman CSO

BASSE
Wallace Beaton CSO
Phillip Burness CCC
Kyle Canton CCC
Spencer Cripps CCC
Mark Chester Dumbrique CSO
Michael Hartney CSO
Andrew Hodgson CSO
Greg Huyer CSO
Björn Johansson CSO
Nathan Maclean-Max CCC
Christopher Mallory CCC
J.P. McElhone CSO
Peter Reilly-Roe CSO
Daniel Savoie CSO
Glen Seeds CSO
Mike Vanier CSO
Paul Whiteley CCC

Menu