Batsheva Dance Company

Hora-The Movie

Dance Contemporary
  • NAC Dance

  Jan 9 - 29, 2023   1 hour and 20 minutes with no intermission.

Hora – The Movie is Ohad Naharin’s second film. Just like in YAG – The Movie in 2020, Naharin once again transports choreography created for the stage through the lens of the camera, adapting it to create a new piece.

The camera allows an intimate, tender and disturbing glimpse into a parallel universe. In this dark world, the dancers emerge from a black space to the timeless music of Isao Tomita, their bodies delineating a human-dance calligraphy, like a code that is constantly being written and erased.

Naharin’s cinematic lab adds a new choreographic layer to the stage work – the movement of the camera through space. Actions carried out in the editing room like acceleration or deceleration transitions and cuts, are given a central place and lead to the discovery and revelation of new creative expressions.

Hora – Le Film is another opportunity to delve into the fascinating evolution of Naharin’s work in search of new ways to create and experience dance.

Dedicated To Sofia Naharin

Batsheva Dance Company thanks its American friends for their generous support in the production of this film: The Chleck Family Foundation; The Zita and Mark Bernstein Family Foundation; The Jerome L. Stern Family Foundation; Nurit and Rick Amdur; American Friends of Batsheva New Works Fund.

An Online World Premiere March 11-13, 2022.

ABOUT BATSHEVA DANCE COMPANY
The Batsheva Dance Company was founded in 1964 as a repertoire company by Baroness Batsheva de Rothschild. It is of the leading and most respected dance troupes in the world thanks to the bold choreographic voice of the house choreographer Ohad Naharin and to the uncompromising performance quality of the company’s dancers.

Artists

  • Cinematographer Roee Shalti
  • Editors Roee Shalti and Ohad Naharin
  • Costume design Eri Nakamura
  • Text about the movie Shira Vitaly
  • Music Isao Tomita, Modest Moussorgsky, Claude Debussy, Charles Ives, Yehonatan Oppenheim, Ikeda Ryoji, Richard Strauss, Richard Wagner, Joaquin Rodrigo, Edvard Grieg, Jean Sibelius
  • Co-produced by Factory 54

Don't miss upcoming performances Join our email list, and we'll send show reminders and offers

Don't forget this field
Don't forget this field
Please include a valid email address
Menu

Batsheva Dance Company

Hora-Le Film

Danse Contemporaine
  • Danse CNA

  9 - 29 jan 2023   1 heure et 20 minutes sans entracte.

Hora – Le Film est le deuxième film d’Ohad Naharin. Tout comme dans YAG - The Movie en 2020, le chorégraphe transporte une fois de plus une œuvre créée pour la scène à travers l’objectif de la caméra, et l’adapte pour produire une nouvelle pièce.

La caméra permet de poser un regard à la fois intime, tendre et troublant sur un univers parallèle. Dans ce monde obscur, les interprètes émergent d’un espace noir sur la musique intemporelle d’Isao Tomita, leurs corps délimitant la danse humaine comme une calligraphie, comme un code qui s’écrit et s’efface à mesure.

Le laboratoire cinématographique d’Ohad Naharin ajoute une nouvelle couche chorégraphique au travail scénique : le mouvement de la caméra dans l’espace. Les actions réalisées dans la salle de montage, comme les transitions et les coupes d’accélération ou de décélération, occupent une place centrale et conduisent à la découverte et à la révélation de nouvelles expressions créatives.

Hora – Le Film est une nouvelle occasion de se plonger dans l’évolution fascinante de l’œuvre d’Ohad Naharin, toujours en quête de nouvelles façons de créer et de vivre la danse.

Dédié à Sofia Naharin

La Batsheva Dance Company remercie ses amis américains pour leur généreux soutien à la production de ce film :The Chleck Family Foundation; The Zita and Mark Bernstein Family Foundation; The Jerome L. Stern Family Foundation; Nurit et Rick Amdur; American Friends of Batsheva New Works Fund.

Une première mondiale en ligne du 11-13 mars 2022 .

À propos de Batsheva Dance Company 

La Batsheva Dance Company a été fondée en 1964 en tant que compagnie de répertoire par la baronne Batsheva de Rothschild. Elle est l’une des compagnies de danse les plus importantes et les plus respectées au monde, grâce à la voix chorégraphique audacieuse du chorégraphe résident Ohad Naharin et à la qualité d’exécution sans compromis de ses interprètes.

Artistes

  • Cinéaste Roee Shalti
  • Montage Roee Shalti et Ohad Naharin
  • Création des costumes Eri Nakamura
  • Description du film Shira Vitaly
  • Trame sonore Music Isao Tomita, Modest Moussorgsky, Claude Debussy, Charles Ives, Yehonatan Oppenheim, Ikeda Ryoji, Richard Strauss, Richard Wagner, Joaquin Rodrigo, Edvard Grieg, Jean Sibelius
  • Une coproduction de Factory 54

Ne manquez pas les prochains spectacles Inscrivez-vous à l’infolettre pour recevoir des rappels de spectacles et des offres

N’oubliez pas de remplir cette section
N’oubliez pas de remplir cette section
Veuillez indiquer une adresse courriel valide
Menu