Capital Sessions: Community house dance practice

Canada Day 2022

2022-07-01 14:00 2022-07-01 16:00 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 NAC: Capital Sessions: Community house dance practice

https://nac-cna.ca/en/event/31457

In-person event

Join in Capital Sessions on Canada Day! During our community house dance practice we share our love of house dance and feature an amazing DJ and dancer! The music is loud soulful house from the four corners of the globe and the guest dancer will share and teach some basics from their movement repertoire with all of the dancers. We split the time between instruction and open practice and no experience is necessary!   Featuring: Magda: Montreal-based dancer, Magda grew-up in the suburbs of...

Read more

Friday, July 1, 2022
2 PM EDT
This event has passed
© Sarah Steben
Special Events Family programming
  • In-person event
  • Bilingual

Join in Capital Sessions on Canada Day! During our community house dance practice we share our love of house dance and feature an amazing DJ and dancer! The music is loud soulful house from the four corners of the globe and the guest dancer will share and teach some basics from their movement repertoire with all of the dancers. We split the time between instruction and open practice and no experience is necessary!

Featuring:

Magda: Montreal-based dancer, Magda grew-up in the suburbs of Paris (France) [originally from Warsaw (Poland)] -learning and practicing contemporary and Jazz Dance for 10 years - then Hip-Hop, Dancehall and House for 10 years. After completing a dance education in NYC, where she dived completely into the House Culture and NY clubs, she decided to live in Montreal in 2013, a city where there is so much to learn, and yet so much space to build. For 10 years now, her efforts have been concentrated on strengthening the bonds between dancers, DJ’s, promoters and house music lovers… her mission for House can be summed up in three words: community, sharing, and culture!


Don Barbarino: Similar to Bond 007, “God-D” has an alter-ego, Don Barbarino, which allows him to beautifully purvey and express his intense love & passion for soulful house music as well; an appreciation that he has garnered just as long as his love for hip hop.

Trained and moulded in hip hop’s school of hard knocks, Don Barbarino has been spinning records for years. Having received major accolades and respect from the entire Montreal hip hop and House Music community over the past 3 decades, “D” is now concentrating into building his own Label with DJ Soul P called “5 Starz Dope Soundz”

© Sarah Steben
Menu

Perturbations à la circulation - Fête du Canada

Capital Sessions : séances de danse house communautaire

La fête du Canada 2022

2022-07-01 14:00 2022-07-01 16:00 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 CNA : Capital Sessions : séances de danse house communautaire

https://nac-cna.ca/fr/event/31457

Événement en personne

Participez aux Capital Sessions le jour de la fête du Canada! Animées par des DJ et des danseurs et danseuses, ces séances sont l’occasion de se retrouver autour d’une passion commune, la danse house. Sur une musique house soulful à plein volume des quatre coins du globe, l’artiste invité·e vous fera une démonstration de ses meilleurs mouvements de danse. Au programme, pratique libre et encadrée. Pour tous les...

Read more

vendredi 1 juillet 2022
14 h HAE
© Sarah Steben
Événements spéciaux Famille
  • Événement en personne
  • Bilingue

Participez aux Capital Sessions le jour de la fête du Canada! Animées par des DJ et des danseurs et danseuses, ces séances sont l’occasion de se retrouver autour d’une passion commune, la danse house. Sur une musique house soulful à plein volume des quatre coins du globe, l’artiste invité·e vous fera une démonstration de ses meilleurs mouvements de danse. Au programme, pratique libre et encadrée. Pour tous les niveaux!
 

Artistes en vedette :

Originaire de Varsovie en Pologne, Magda a grandi dans la banlieue parisienne, en France. Elle pratique la danse contemporaine et le jazz pendant 10 ans, avant de se tourner vers le hip-hop, le dancehall et la house. Après une formation en danse à New York, où elle s’imprègne de la culture house, elle décide de s’installer à Montréal en 2013, ville où il y a tant à apprendre, et pourtant tant à construire. Depuis près de dix ans, elle s’emploie à resserrer les liens entre les interprètes de danse, les DJ, les organisateurs et organisatrices de spectacles et les adeptes de la musique house. Sa mission se résume en trois mots : communauté, partage et culture.


Comme l’agent 007, « God-D » a un alter ego, Don Barbarino. C’est sous cette identité que l’artiste déclare sa flamme à la musique house soulful, en plus de son amour de longue date pour le hip-hop.
Formé à la dure école du hip-hop, Don Barbarino officie derrière les platines depuis de nombreuses années. Artiste respecté, il est présent sur la scène hip-hop et house montréalaise depuis trois décennies. Il se consacre à la gestion de sa propre étiquette, 5 Starz Dope Soundz, créée avec DJ Soul P.

© Sarah Steben
Menu