Basia Bulat © Richmond Lam

Basia Bulat

with Sister Ray

2022-10-21 19:30 2022-10-21 21:30 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 NAC: Basia Bulat

https://nac-cna.ca/en/event/31125

In-person event

Introducing The Garden : a STRINGS ALBUM and a RETROSPECTIVE from a room in Montreal with the windows open, and the wind moving, and the leaves changing, and a spring - coloured secret on the tip of Basia Bulat's tongue. The band made it in a pandemic. Bulat and her old friend Mark Lawson, with whom she recorded the Polaris - and Juno - nominated album Tall Tall Shadow. Bulat and her husband, Legal Vertigo's Andy Woods. Bulat and her friends Ben Whiteley, Zou Zou Robidoux, Jen Thiessen,...

Read more

Babs Asper Theatre,1 Elgin Street,Ottawa,Canada
Friday, October 21, 2022
7:30 PM EDT
Basia Bulat © Richmond Lam
Basia Bulat © Richmond Lam
Sister Ray
Music Singer/Songwriter Folk
  • In-person event

Introducing The Garden : a STRINGS ALBUM and a RETROSPECTIVE from a room in Montreal with the windows open, and the wind moving, and the leaves changing, and a spring - coloured secret on the tip of Basia Bulat's tongue.

The band made it in a pandemic. Bulat and her old friend Mark Lawson, with whom she recorded the Polaris - and Juno - nominated album Tall Tall Shadow. Bulat and her husband, Legal Vertigo's Andy Woods. Bulat and her friends Ben Whiteley, Zou Zou Robidoux, Jen Thiessen, John Corban and Tomo Newton, four fifths of whom form a string quartet, because did we mention this is a STRINGS ALBUM? Not a greatest hits but a re - configuration: a chance to record anew some songs that Bulat didn't fully unde rstand when she originally composed them, five or ten or fifteen years ago. As she first sang in 2006 — and again last fall, in that second - storey apartment: We gave away our hearts / before we knew what they were.

The Garden gathers fourteen string arran gements by three different arrangers (Owen Pallett, Paul Frith, and Zou Zou Robidoux), revisiting material from all five of Bulat's studio albums. There's Pallett's interpretation of 2010's "Heart of my Own," calling back to the Béla Bartók compositions th at marked Bulat's high - school career as an upright bassist. There's Frith's "Infamous," which turns 2016's prickly kiss - off into something open - facing and generous. And there's Robidoux's reimagining of "Are You In Love?" — released just last year — which here becomes a whirling ballroom dance, full of discovery.

Bulat performs throughout, finding new feelings for old lines. Distance teaches; distance reveals things. "I sing the songs differently now," she says. "It's the gift of time." Not just that: at the time of recording, Bulat had just found out she was expecting her first child. (Her daughter was born in April 2021.) She admitted it to her collaborators only in the midst of recording, down a wire from the vocal booth. "Hold it up to the light and le t it grow," Bulat sang once - and again that fall, as her body changed shape. "Tell me you're always my only." A song can change shape too — turning new leaves, growing new blooms, in unexpected seasons. You can play a record once; you can play it again. The Garden won't wear out. It's alive.

Sister Ray, the project of Edmonton-born Métis songwriter Ella Coyes, was conceived out of necessity; a self-designed vehicle built to examine trauma with unflinching honesty. Sister Ray’s music is steeped in a wide range of cultural influences. With gospel bluegrass and 90’s country playing in the background of their youth, it was the traditional Métis music played at home that not only brought them closer to their heritage, but taught them a form of storytelling rooted in collective value, resilience, and safety. The result is an unyielding, spacious, and commanding form of indie rock, rooted in the folk tradition, that transforms unvarnished, interior reflections into a generous public offering.

video: Basia Bulat - Fables (The Garden Version)
Basia Bulat - Fables (The Garden Version)
Basia Bulat © Richmond Lam
Basia Bulat © Richmond Lam
Sister Ray
Menu

Basia Bulat © Richmond Lam

Basia Bulat

avec Sister Ray

2022-10-21 19:30 2022-10-21 21:30 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 CNA : Basia Bulat

https://nac-cna.ca/fr/event/31125

Événement en personne

Voici The Garden : un ALBUM À CORDES et une RÉTROSPECTIVE en provenance d’ un appart montréalais, où les fenêtres sont ouvertes, le vent souffle, les feuilles changent, et un secret de couleur printanière se cache dans la voix de Basia Bulat. Ce disque a été enregistré durant la pandémie. Bulat et son vieil ami Mark Lawson, avec qui elle a enregistré son album nommé aux Juno et finaliste pour le Prix...

Read more

Théâtre Babs Asper ,1 rue Elgin,Ottawa,Canada
vendredi 21 octobre 2022
19 h 30 HAE
Basia Bulat © Richmond Lam
Basia Bulat © Richmond Lam
Sister Ray
Musique Auteur-compositeur-interprète Folk
  • Événement en personne

Voici The Garden : un ALBUM À CORDES et une RÉTROSPECTIVE en provenance d’ un appart montréalais, où les fenêtres sont ouvertes, le vent souffle, les feuilles changent, et un secret de couleur printanière se cache dans la voix de Basia Bulat.

Ce disque a été enregistré durant la pandémie. Bulat et son vieil ami Mark Lawson, avec qui elle a enregistré son album nommé aux Juno et finaliste pour le Prix Polaris , Tall Tall Shadow. Bulat et son mari, Andy Woods de Legal Vertigo. Bulat et ses amis Ben Whiteley, Zou Zou Robidoux, Jen Thiessen, John Corban et Tomo Newton, quatre desquels forment un quatuor à cordes; avons - nous précisé que c’est un ALBUM À CORDES? Pas une compilation de grands succès, mais une reconfiguration: une occasion de revisiter certaines chansons que Bulat ne comprenait pas entièrement lorsqu’elle les a originalement composées, il y a cinq, dix ou quinze ans. Comme elle le chantait d’ abord en 2006 — et à nouveau l’automne dernier, dans cet appartement au deuxième étage : We gave away our hearts / before we knew what they were [ On a donné nos cœurs / avant d’en connaître la nature] .

The Garden rassemble quatorze arrangements de cordes par trois différents arrangeurs (Owen Pallett, Paul Frith, Zou Zou Robidoux), qui revisitent du matériel de chacun des cinq albums studio de Bulat. Il y a l’ interprétation par Pallett de « Heart of my Own » (2010), qui évoque les compositions de Béla Bartók qui ont marqué la carrière de contrebassiste de Bulat à l’école secondaire. Il y a la version par Frith de « Infamous » (2016) , qui transforme l’irritabilité de la pièce originale en quelque chose d’ouvert et généreux. Et il y a la réinvention par Robidoux de « Are You In Love? » — parue tout juste l’an dernier — qui devient ici un air de salle de bal, où les surprises abondent.

À travers l’album, Bulat découvre de nouvelles intentions pour d’anciennes paroles. Le recul amène plus de sagesse; le recul révèle des choses. « Je chante les chansons différemment maintenant », confie-t-elle. « Le temps nous offre cela.» D’autre part, au moment de l’enregistrement, Bulat venait d’apprendre qu’elle attendait son premier enfant (sa fille est née en avril 2021) . Elle en a informé ses collaborateurs seulement à la mi-parcours des sessions, alors qu’ elle était dans la cabine d’enregistrement de voix. « Hold it up to the light and let it grow » [Expose-le à la lumière et laisse-le grandir] , a déjà chanté Bulat — et à nouveau cet automne, alors que son corps se métamorphosait. « Tell me you're always my only . » [Dis-moi que tu es toujours le seul pour moi] Une chanson peut également se métamorphoser — laissant tomber des feuilles, faisant éclore de nouvelles fleurs, au gré des saisons. On peut écout er un disque une fois; on peut l’écouter encore et encore. The Garden ne s’usera pas. C’est un album vivant

Sister Ray, le projet d'Ella Coyes, auteure-compositrice métisse née à Edmonton, a été conçu par nécessité; un véhicule autogéré construit pour d'examiner les traumatismes avec une honnêteté sans faille. La musique de Sister Ray est imprégnée d'un large éventail d'influences culturelles. Avec le bluegrass gospel et la country des années 90, c'est la musique métisse traditionnelle jouée à la maison qui a non seulement qui non seulement les a rapprochés de leur héritage, mais leur a aussi appris une forme de narration ancrée dans la valeur collective, la résilience et la sécurité. Le résultat est une forme inflexible, spacieuse et imposante d'indie rock, enracinée dans la tradition folk, qui transforme des réflexions intérieures sans fard
en une offre publique généreuse.

video: Basia Bulat - Fables
Basia Bulat - Fables
Basia Bulat © Richmond Lam
Basia Bulat © Richmond Lam
Sister Ray
Menu