Charles Hamann © Fred Cattroll

Charles Hamann and Frédéric Lacroix – noon hour recital

2022-07-19 12:00 2022-07-19 12:45 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 NAC: Charles Hamann and Frédéric Lacroix – noon hour recital

https://nac-cna.ca/en/event/30957

In-person event

NACO’s Principal Oboe Charles Hamann has established himself as an enthusiastic champion of new music and over the past decade, he has commissioned many works from leading Canadian composers for solo oboe and oboe with piano. This recital with him and pianist Frédéric Lacroix features three recent commissions by Kevin Lau, Kelly-Marie Murphy, and Ian Cusson. Each work is an expressive response to striking scenic images—be it conjured up in a writer’s imagination,...

Read more

Atrium O’Brien,1 Elgin Street,Ottawa
Tuesday, July 19, 2022
12 PM EDT
This event has passed
Charles Hamann © Fred Cattroll
Music Classical music Chamber music
  • Kevin Lau In the Garden of Endless Sleep for oboe and piano
  • Kelly-Marie Murphy Glacial Ablations
  • Ian Cusson Sonata for Oboe and Piano, “The Haywain”
  • In-person event
  • Bilingual
  • ≈ 45 minutes · No intermission

NACO’s Principal Oboe Charles Hamann has established himself as an enthusiastic champion of new music and over the past decade, he has commissioned many works from leading Canadian composers for solo oboe and oboe with piano. This recital with him and pianist Frédéric Lacroix features three recent commissions by Kevin Lau, Kelly-Marie Murphy, and Ian Cusson. Each work is an expressive response to striking scenic images—be it conjured up in a writer’s imagination, a Canadian natural phenomenon, or a vividly painted triptych.

To create In the Garden of Endless Sleep (2020), Kevin Lau (b. 1982) was inspired by a fictitious place in Gene Wolfe’s science fiction novel The Book of the New Sun—an image of “a garden that moves through time, flickering between present, past, and future”. The piece explores the “idea of viewing the garden—a cultivated slice of natural beauty—through various stages of growth and decay.” “I tried to capture this in part,” he explains, “by evoking musical memories from older time periods in a somewhat hazy fashion, and in part through texture—in particular, the use of the piano’s sustained pedal to blur certain harmonies together. […] The melodious but often asymmetric oboe lines suggest the contours of vines and roots and the sprawl of overgrown vegetation.”

For Glacial Ablations (2022), Kelly-Marie Murphy (b. 1964) chose three terms from the field of glaciology and “tried to create music that responds to them. The title refers to the loss of ice and snow in a glacial system due to climate change.” “The first movement, Crystalline Elements,” she elaborates, “is slow, and features not only delicate structures in the piano, but also space and drama, in which translucence and opaqueness mingle with the human response. The second movement, Ice-Sizzle, is very fast, powerful, and urgent. The term refers to the sound glaciers can make, which is like carbonated water. The final movement, Runoff, has to do with evaporation and deterioration of the glacier. It begins with cadenza-like moments in the oboe and piano and features upward moving lines. The runoff intensifies as the forces of moving water grow in ferocity and urgency.”

Ian Cusson’s Sonata for Piano and Oboe, “The Haywain” (2020), is the second of three works by the composer (b. 1981) based on images from the late-Medieval painter, Hieronymus Bosch. The sonata unfolds in three movements, titled Dignified, Simply, and Wild, respectively. These are, as Cusson explains, “in dialogue with Bosch’s The Haywain Triptych, painted in 1516, and follow the painting’s three panels as they progress from an Edenic state to Hell with all its absurdities. The image is dominated by a giant bale of hay at the work’s centre around which crowds of people cavort under the benevolent watching eyes in the clouds above them.” 

This event will be ASL interpreted.

Charles Hamann © Fred Cattroll
Menu

Charles Hamann © Fred Cattroll

Charles Hamann et Frédéric Lacroix – récital-midi

2022-07-19 12:00 2022-07-19 12:45 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 CNA : Charles Hamann et Frédéric Lacroix – récital-midi

https://nac-cna.ca/fr/event/30957

Événement en personne

Hautbois solo de l’OCNA, Charles Hamann s’est imposé comme un promoteur enthousiaste de la musique nouvelle et, au cours de la dernière décennie, il a commandé de nombreuses œuvres à des compositeurs canadiens de premier plan pour hautbois seul et hautbois avec piano. Ce récital dans lequel il se produit aux côtés du pianiste Frédéric Lacroix présente trois œuvres commandées...

Read more

Atrium O’Brien ,1 rue Elgin,Ottawa
mardi 19 juillet 2022
12 h HAE
Cet événement est passé
Charles Hamann © Fred Cattroll
Musique Musique classique Musique de chambre
  • Kevin Lau In the Garden of Endless Sleep pour hautbois et piano
  • Kelly-Marie Murphy Glacial Ablations
  • Ian Cusson Sonate pour hautbois et piano, « The Haywain »
  • Événement en personne
  • Bilingue
  • ≈ 45 minutes · Sans entracte

Hautbois solo de l’OCNA, Charles Hamann s’est imposé comme un promoteur enthousiaste de la musique nouvelle et, au cours de la dernière décennie, il a commandé de nombreuses œuvres à des compositeurs canadiens de premier plan pour hautbois seul et hautbois avec piano. Ce récital dans lequel il se produit aux côtés du pianiste Frédéric Lacroix présente trois œuvres commandées récemment à Kevin Lau, Kelly-Marie Murphy et Ian Cusson. Chacune de ces pièces traduit de manière expressive des scènes saisissantes – qu’elles soient issues de l’imagination d’un écrivain, d’un phénomène naturel canadien ou d’un stupéfiant triptyque peint.

Pour créer In the Garden of Endless Sleep (2020), Kevin Lau (né en 1982) s’est inspiré d'un lieu fictif tiré du roman de science-fiction The Book of the New SunLe Livre du nouveau soleil » en traduction française) de Gene Wolfe – l’image d'un « jardin qui se déplace dans le temps, oscillant entre le présent, le passé et l’avenir ». L’œuvre explore « l’idée d’observer le jardin – une tranche cultivée de beauté naturelle – à travers différents stades de croissance et de dégradation. […] Je me suis efforcé de capter cela », explique-t-il, « en partie en évoquant des souvenirs musicaux de périodes plus anciennes d’une manière quelque peu nébuleuse, et en partie par la texture – en particulier, l’utilisation de la pédale soutenue du piano pour brouiller certaines harmonies. […] Les lignes mélodieuses mais souvent asymétriques du hautbois suggèrent les contours des vignes et des racines et l’étalement de la végétation envahissante. »

Pour Glacial Ablations (2022), Kelly-Marie Murphy (née en 1964) a choisi trois termes empruntés au domaine de la glaciologie et a « tâché de créer une musique qui y corresponde. Le titre (« ablations glaciaires ») fait référence à la perte de glace et de neige dans un système glaciaire en raison du changement climatique. […] Le premier mouvement, Crystalline Elements », précise-t-elle, « est lent et met en lumière non seulement les structures délicates du piano, mais aussi l’espace et le drame, dans lequel la translucidité et l’opacité se mêlent aux réactions humaines. Le deuxième mouvement, Ice-Sizzle, est très rapide, vigoureux et imprégné d’un sentiment d’urgence. Le terme (« pétillement de la glace ») renvoie au son que peuvent produire les glaciers, semblable à celui de l’eau gazeuse. Le mouvement final, Runoff (« écoulement »), a trait à l’évaporation et à la détérioration du glacier. Il commence par des passages qui s’apparentent à une cadence pour le hautbois et le piano, et comporte des lignes ascendantes. L’écoulement s’intensifie à mesure qu’augmentent l’impétuosité et le caractère impérieux des forces de l’eau en mouvement. »

La Sonate pour piano et hautbois « The Haywain » (2020) d’Ian Cusson est la deuxième de trois œuvres du compositeur (né en 1981) basées sur des images du peintre médiéval tardif Jérôme Bosch. La sonate se déploie en trois mouvements, respectivement intitulés Dignified, Simply et Wild. Ces mouvements sont, comme l’explique le compositeur, « en dialogue avec le triptyque The HaywainLe Chariot de foin ») de Bosch, peint en 1516, et suivent les trois panneaux du tableau dans leur progression d’un état édénique à l’enfer dans toute sa déraison. L’image est dominée par une gigantesque botte de foin au centre de l’œuvre, autour de laquelle une foule de personnages s’ébattent sous le regard bienveillant des nuages qui les surplombent. »

Cet événement sera interprété en ASL.

Charles Hamann © Fred Cattroll
Menu