Morgan Toney and Keith Mullins

Morgan Toney and Keith Mullins

2022-07-04 12:00 2022-07-04 13:00 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 NAC: Morgan Toney and Keith Mullins

https://nac-cna.ca/en/event/30940

In-person event

Music’s an almost alchemical force to Canadian Mi'kmaq fiddler and singer Morgan Toney. In just a short amount of time, Toney’s been able to invigorate both the Atlantic music communities and Mi’kmaq communities by bringing together the fiery fiddling of Cape Breton Island with the old songs of the ancestral Mi’kmaq, some dating back up to 500 years. He calls this fusion Mi’kmaltic (Mi’kmaq + Celtic) and it's his way of celebrating his language and...

Read more

Atrium O’Brien,1 Elgin Street,Ottawa
Monday, July 4, 2022
12 PM EDT
This event has passed
Morgan Toney and Keith Mullins
Family programming Indigenous arts Music Vocal Singer/Songwriter Folk
  • In-person event
  • Bilingual

Music’s an almost alchemical force to Canadian Mi'kmaq fiddler and singer Morgan Toney. In just a short amount of time, Toney’s been able to invigorate both the Atlantic music communities and Mi’kmaq communities by bringing together the fiery fiddling of Cape Breton Island with the old songs of the ancestral Mi’kmaq, some dating back up to 500 years. He calls this fusion Mi’kmaltic (Mi’kmaq + Celtic) and it's his way of celebrating his language and heritage. He’s honoring the elders who’ve taught him the songs and the language, and he’s taking his place on the front lines of Eastern Canada’s cultural divide. 

In his album First Flight, Toney sings songs so old that modern Mi’kmaq speakers struggle to understand the lyrics. He also sings songs meant to reflect the turmoil of our current times, shining a hard light on the racism and violence forced on First Nations populations in Canada today. 

With family members who were sent to residential schools and had to relearn their language later at home, Toney’s interest in the language is very personal. “Some people don’t understand us,” Toney says. “They don’t understand what we’ve been through, and we need to tell the story.” But never one to focus on the negative, Toney’s goal is to push for positive action and change through music. “We wanted to say something in the way that we know how, through music.”

This event will be ASL interpreted.

video: Ko’jua - Morgan Toney
Ko’jua - Morgan Toney
Morgan Toney and Keith Mullins
Menu

Rues fermées à la circulation autour du CNA lors de la fin de semaine des courses d'Ottawa
Morgan Toney et Keith Mullins

Morgan Toney et Keith Mullins

2022-07-04 12:00 2022-07-04 13:00 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 CNA : Morgan Toney et Keith Mullins

https://nac-cna.ca/fr/event/30940

Événement en personne

La musique est une force qui relève pratiquement de l’alchimie pour le violoniste et chanteur canadien d’origine mi’kmaq Morgan Toney. Très rapidement, Toney a insufflé une nouvelle énergie à la scène musicale atlantique et aux communautés mi’kmaq en fusionnant le jeu endiablé des violoneux du Cap-Breton et les chants ancestraux des Mi’kmaq, dont certains sont vieux de 500 ans. Le résultat, qu’il...

Read more

Atrium O’Brien,1 rue Elgin,Ottawa
lundi 4 juillet 2022
12 h HAE
Morgan Toney et Keith Mullins
Famille Arts autochtones Musique Voix Auteur-compositeur-interprète Folk
  • Événement en personne
  • Bilingue

La musique est une force qui relève pratiquement de l’alchimie pour le violoniste et chanteur canadien d’origine mi’kmaq Morgan Toney. Très rapidement, Toney a insufflé une nouvelle énergie à la scène musicale atlantique et aux communautés mi’kmaq en fusionnant le jeu endiablé des violoneux du Cap-Breton et les chants ancestraux des Mi’kmaq, dont certains sont vieux de 500 ans. Le résultat, qu’il appelle « mi’kmaltique » (mi’kmaq + celtique) est sa façon de célébrer sa langue et ses origines. Il rend hommage aux aînés qui lui ont enseigné ces chants et cette langue tout en prenant sa place sur la ligne de front du fossé culturel de l’est du Canada. 

Dans son album First Flight, Toney chante des chansons si anciennes qu’elles sont difficiles à comprendre même si on parle le mi’kmaq moderne. Il chante aussi des chansons qui reflètent le tumulte des temps modernes et jette un éclairage cru sur le racisme et la violence que subissent encore les Premières Nations au Canada. 

Pour Toney, la langue revêt une importance toute personnelle, puisque certains membres de sa famille ont dû réapprendre la leur après leur passage dans les pensionnats autochtones. « Il y a des gens qui ne nous comprennent pas. Ils ne comprennent pas ce que nous avons vécu, et c’est une histoire que nous avons besoin de raconter. »  Refusant toutefois de s’appesantir sur le négatif, Toney s’est donné pour but d’encourager l’action positive et le changement par la musique. « Nous avons voulu nous exprimer d’une façon qui nous était familière : par la musique. » 

video: Ko’jua - Morgan Toney
Ko’jua - Morgan Toney
Morgan Toney et Keith Mullins
Menu