Diyet & The Love Soldiers

Diyet & The Love Soldiers

2022-07-12 20:30 2022-07-12 22:30 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 NAC: Diyet & The Love Soldiers

https://nac-cna.ca/en/event/30867

In-person event

Connected by land, transformed by language, Diyet’s songs are natural, genuine, and a reminder to listen to the world around us. Diyet was born in a tent and spent her childhood on the ancestral lands of the Kluane First Nation people in Canada’s Yukon Territory. Coming from a family rooted in traditions but tempered with a good sense of adventurous hippie attitudes, Diyet has created a musical presence that is as diverse as her Southern Tutchone, Tlingit, Japanese and Scottish...

Read more

Fourth Stage,1 Elgin Street,Ottawa,Canada
Tuesday, July 12, 2022
8:30 PM EDT
This event has passed
Diyet & The Love Soldiers
Indigenous arts Music Singer/Songwriter Folk Country
“Vulnerable, true to life songs” Vancouver Sun
  • In-person event
  • Bilingual

Connected by land, transformed by language, Diyet’s songs are natural, genuine, and a reminder to listen to the world around us. Diyet was born in a tent and spent her childhood on the ancestral lands of the Kluane First Nation people in Canada’s Yukon Territory. Coming from a family rooted in traditions but tempered with a good sense of adventurous hippie attitudes, Diyet has created a musical presence that is as diverse as her Southern Tutchone, Tlingit, Japanese and Scottish heritage. 

Feeling the pull of the north – Diyet packed her bags and along with her Dutch husband, moved back to her village of 90 people without a plan or even a pub to play in. The result of this unlikely career move has been international collaborations, extensive touring and two acclaimed albums: The Breaking Point and When You Were King, with the third album: Diyet & The Love Soldiers released in 2018, which received nominations for Folk Album of the Year at The Indigenous Music Awards, Indigenous Artist of the Year at the Western Canadian Music Awards, and Indigenous Songwriter of the Year at the Canadian Folk Music Awards. 

Diyet & The Love Soldiers is alternative country, folk, roots and traditional with catchy melodies and stories deeply rooted in Diyet’s Indigenous world view and northern life. Diyet sings in both English and Southern Tutchone, and performs backed by Love Soldiers: husband and collaborator, Robert van Lieshout (acoustic guitar, drums and percussion) and Juno award-winning producer, Bob Hamilton (electric guitar, pedal steel and mandolin); this multi-instrumental trio from the Yukon has a sound that can fill a big stage or capture an intimate room. 

This event will be ASL interpreted.

video: We're Still Here - Community Music Video
We're Still Here - Community Music Video
Diyet & The Love Soldiers
Menu

Diyet & The Love Soldiers

Diyet & The Love Soldiers

2022-07-12 20:30 2022-07-12 22:30 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 CNA : Diyet & The Love Soldiers

https://nac-cna.ca/fr/event/30867

Événement en personne

Liées par le territoire et transformées par la langue, les chansons organiques et authentiques de Diyet sont une invitation à écouter le monde qui nous entoure. Diyet a vu le jour sous une tente et a grandi sur les territoires ancestraux de la Première Nation de Kluane au Yukon (Canada). Venant d’une famille attachée aux traditions et animée par un esprit hippie et aventurier, Diyet s’est forgé une présence musicale aussi...

Read more

Quatrième Salle ,1 rue Elgin,Ottawa,Canada
mardi 12 juillet 2022
20 h 30 HAE
Cet événement est passé
Diyet & The Love Soldiers
Arts autochtones Musique Auteur-compositeur-interprète Folk Country
« Des chansons sensibles, bien ancrées dans la réalité » Vancouver Sun
  • Événement en personne
  • Bilingue

Liées par le territoire et transformées par la langue, les chansons organiques et authentiques de Diyet sont une invitation à écouter le monde qui nous entoure. Diyet a vu le jour sous une tente et a grandi sur les territoires ancestraux de la Première Nation de Kluane au Yukon (Canada). Venant d’une famille attachée aux traditions et animée par un esprit hippie et aventurier, Diyet s’est forgé une présence musicale aussi variée que ses origines (tutchones du Sud, japonaises, tlingits et écossaises). 

Après avoir entendu l’appel du Nord, Diyet a fait ses valises et, avec son mari hollandais, est retournée vivre dans son village de 90 personnes sans projet précis ni même un bar où chanter. Ce virage improbable a débouché sur des collaborations internationales, de nombreuses tournées et deux albums acclamés par la critique : The Breaking Point et When You Were King. Paru en 2018, son troisième album, Diyet & The Love Soldiers, lui a valu des mises en nomination pour les prix de l’Album folk de l’année aux Indigenous Music Awards, de l’Artiste autochtone de l’année aux Western Canadian Music Awards et de l’Auteur-compositeur autochtone de l’année aux Canadian Folk Music Awards. 

Diyet & The Love Soldiers propose un mélange de country alternatif, de folk, de roots et de musique traditionnelle aux mélodies accrocheuses et aux textes profondément ancrés dans le point de vue autochtone de Diyet et sa vie dans le Nord. Diyet chante à la fois en anglais et en tutchone du Sud, et se produit avec les Love Soldiers, c’est-à-dire son mari et collaborateur Robert van Lieshout (guitare acoustique, batterie et percussions) et le producteur primé aux JUNO Bob Hamilton (guitare électrique et à pédale, mandoline). Ce trio multi-instrumentiste du Yukon a un son qui se prête tout aussi bien aux grandes salles qu’aux prestations intimistes.

Cet événement sera interprété en ASL.

video: We're Still Here - Community Music Video
We're Still Here - Community Music Video
Diyet & The Love Soldiers
Menu