Street closures around the NAC during Ottawa Race Weekend
Judy Collins © Brad Trent

Judy Collins

2022-07-14 19:30 2022-07-14 21:30 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 NAC: Judy Collins

https://nac-cna.ca/en/event/30864

In-person event

Judy Collins has inspired audiences with sublime vocals, boldly vulnerable songwriting, personal life triumphs, and a firm commitment to social activism. In the 1960s, she evoked both the idealism and steely determination of a generation united against social and environmental injustices. Five decades later, her luminescent presence shines brightly as new generations bask in the glow of her iconic 50-album body of work, and heed inspiration from her spiritual discipline to thrive in the music...

Read more

Babs Asper Theatre,1 Elgin Street,Ottawa,Canada
Thursday, July 14, 2022
7:30 PM EDT
Judy Collins © Brad Trent
Music Singer/Songwriter Folk
  • In-person event

Judy Collins has inspired audiences with sublime vocals, boldly vulnerable songwriting, personal life triumphs, and a firm commitment to social activism. In the 1960s, she evoked both the idealism and steely determination of a generation united against social and environmental injustices. Five decades later, her luminescent presence shines brightly as new generations bask in the glow of her iconic 50-album body of work, and heed inspiration from her spiritual discipline to thrive in the music industry for half a century.

The award-winning singer-songwriter is esteemed for her imaginative interpretations of traditional and contemporary folk standards and her own poetically poignant original compositions. Her stunning rendition of Joni Mitchell’s “Both Sides Now” from her landmark 1967 album, Wildflowers, has been entered into the Grammy Hall of Fame. Judy’s dreamy and sweetly intimate version of “Send in the Clowns,” a ballad written by Stephen Sondheim, won Song of the Year at the 1975 Grammy Awards. She’s garnered several top-ten hits, and gold- and platinum- selling albums. Recently, contemporary and classic artists such as Rufus Wainwright, Shawn Colvin, Dolly Parton, Joan Baez, and Leonard Cohen honoured her legacy with the album Born to the Breed: A Tribute to Judy Collins.

Author of several books, including the powerful and inspiring Sanity & Grace and her extraordinary memoir, Sweet Judy Blue Eyes: My Life in Music, Judy is as creatively vigorous as ever and continues to create music of hope and healing that lights up the world and speaks to the heart.

video: Judy Collins - Send In The Clowns (Live)
Judy Collins - Send In The Clowns (Live)
Judy Collins © Brad Trent
Menu

Judy Collins © Brad Trent

Judy Collins

2022-07-14 19:30 2022-07-14 21:30 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 CNA : Judy Collins

https://nac-cna.ca/fr/event/30864

Événement en personne

Judy Collins inspire les auditoires avec sa voix sublime, la vulnérabilité assumée de ses chansons, ses succès personnels et son militantisme social. Dans les années 1960, elle évoquait à la fois l’idéalisme et la détermination à toute épreuve d’une génération unie contre les injustices sociales et environnementales. Cinq décennies plus tard, sa présence lumineuse brille toujours...

Read more

Théâtre Babs Asper ,1 rue Elgin,Ottawa,Canada
jeudi 14 juillet 2022
19 h 30 HAE
Cet événement est passé
Judy Collins © Brad Trent
Musique Auteur-compositeur-interprète Folk
  • Événement en personne

Judy Collins inspire les auditoires avec sa voix sublime, la vulnérabilité assumée de ses chansons, ses succès personnels et son militantisme social. Dans les années 1960, elle évoquait à la fois l’idéalisme et la détermination à toute épreuve d’une génération unie contre les injustices sociales et environnementales. Cinq décennies plus tard, sa présence lumineuse brille toujours d’un vif éclat alors que de nouvelles générations découvrent son répertoire riche d’une cinquantaine d’albums et s’inspirent de la discipline spirituelle qu’elle a déployée pour prospérer dans l’industrie de la musique depuis un demi-siècle. 

L’auteure-compositrice-interprète primée est reconnue pour ses interprétations inventives de classiques de la musique traditionnelle et contemporaine et pour ses propres compositions poétiques et touchantes. Sa magnifique interprétation de la chanson de Joni Mitchell « Both Sides Now » figurant sur son album marquant Wildflowers (1967) a été intronisée au temple de la renommée des Grammy. Sa version intimiste et empreinte d’une douce mélancolie de la ballade de Stephen Sondheim « Send in the Clowns » a remporté le Grammy de la Chanson de l’année en 1975. Judy Collins s’est mainte fois classée dans le top 10 des palmarès et plusieurs de ses albums sont certifiés or et platine. Récemment, des artistes de différentes générations comme Rufus Wainwright, Shawn Colvin, Dolly Parton, Joan Baez et Leonard Cohen lui ont rendu hommage avec l’album Born to the Breed: A Tribute to Judy Collins

Auteure de plusieurs livres, dont le puissant et inspirant Sanity & Grace et ses mémoires Sweet Judy Blue Eyes: My Life in Music, Judy a conservé toute sa vigueur créative et continue de créer une musique porteuse d’espoir et de guérison qui touche les cœurs et illumine le monde. 

Cet événement sera interprété en ASL.

video: Judy Collins - Send In The Clowns (Live)
Judy Collins - Send In The Clowns (Live)
Judy Collins © Brad Trent
Menu