Lessons in Temperament © Gabriela Osio Vanden

Lessons in Temperament

2022-08-16 20:30 2022-08-21 21:30 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 NAC: Lessons in Temperament

https://nac-cna.ca/en/event/30818

In-person event

It is impossible to perfectly tune a piano – something that musician and theatre-maker James Smith knows all too well. A few years ago, James taught himself how to tune pianos as an additional source of income between gigs. Through pursuing this work, he discovered something even more valuable – the perfect metaphor through which to process the mental complexities of his family. Lessons in Temperament is the story of four neurodiverse brothers, told through a theatrical escape into...

Read more

Fourth Stage,1 Elgin Street,Ottawa,Canada
August 16 - 21, 2022
This event has passed
Lessons in Temperament © Gabriela Osio Vanden
Lessons in Temperament © Gabriela Osio Vanden
Lessons in Temperament © Gabriela Osio Vanden
Music Theatre
“A memoir of minds gone out of tune” The New York Times
  • In-person event
  • English
  • ≈ 1 hour and 45 minutes · No intermission
  • Mature themes

It is impossible to perfectly tune a piano – something that musician and theatre-maker James Smith knows all too well. A few years ago, James taught himself how to tune pianos as an additional source of income between gigs. Through pursuing this work, he discovered something even more valuable – the perfect metaphor through which to process the mental complexities of his family.

Lessons in Temperament is the story of four neurodiverse brothers, told through a theatrical escape into the art and science of piano tuning. Between James and his brothers, they have had life-long journeys with OCD, autism, bipolar disorder and schizophrenia. Throughout the piece, James shares the story of his family while getting the piano in front of him beautifully and imperfectly in tune.

Catch this award-winning play’s return to the stage, hot on the heels of its recent feature film adaptation.

Due to unforseen circumstance the August 16 + 21 ASL interpretation is cancelled.


James Smith is an award winning multi-disciplinary theatre artist. He is an actor, composer, lyricist, musical director, writer, and sound designer. He is the composer/lyricist of Chasse Galerie, for which he won a Dora Award and a Toronto Theatre Critic’s Choice Award, and the writer/performer of Lessons in Temperament, for which he won the Summerworks Production Award. He holds a Bachelor of Music from Queen’s University and is a graduate of both the Shaw Festival’s musical director internship and the Soulpepper Academy.

Lessons in Temperament contains themes which might be triggering for some, concerning mental health crises, suicide, violence, homelessness. 

video: Lessons in Temperament trailer
Lessons in Temperament trailer
Lessons in Temperament © Gabriela Osio Vanden
Lessons in Temperament © Gabriela Osio Vanden
Lessons in Temperament © Gabriela Osio Vanden
  • Written and Performed by James Smith
  • Directed and Developed by Mitchell Cushman
  • Production Design Nick Blais
Menu

Lessons in Temperament © Gabriela Osio Vanden

Lessons in Temperament

2022-08-16 20:30 2022-08-21 21:30 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 CNA : Lessons in Temperament

https://nac-cna.ca/fr/event/30818

Événement en personne

Il est impossible d’accorder un piano à la perfection: le musicien et artiste de théâtre James Smith le sait trop bien. Il y a quelques années, James a appris l’accordage de piano en autodidacte pour se faire un revenu d’appoint entre deux contrats. Par ce travail, il a découvert quelque chose d’encore plus précieux: la métaphore parfaite pour comprendre la complexité mentale de sa famille.   Lessons in...

Read more

Quatrième Salle ,1 rue Elgin,Ottawa,Canada
16 - 21 août 2022
Lessons in Temperament © Gabriela Osio Vanden
Lessons in Temperament © Gabriela Osio Vanden
Lessons in Temperament © Gabriela Osio Vanden
Musique Théâtre
« L’histoire de cervaux en mal d’harmonie. » The New York Times
  • Événement en personne
  • Anglais
  • ≈ 1 heure et 30 minutes · Sans entracte
  • Thèmes pouvant ne pas convenir aux enfants

Il est impossible d’accorder un piano à la perfection: le musicien et artiste de théâtre James Smith le sait trop bien. Il y a quelques années, James a appris l’accordage de piano en autodidacte pour se faire un revenu d’appoint entre deux contrats. Par ce travail, il a découvert quelque chose d’encore plus précieux: la métaphore parfaite pour comprendre la complexité mentale de sa famille.  

Lessons in Temperament raconte l’histoire de quatre frères neuro-atypiques au moyen d’une incursion théâtrale dans l’art et la science de l’accordage des pianos. James et ses frères ont vécu toute leur vie avec un trouble obsessionnel-compulsif, l’autisme, un trouble bipolaire et la schizophrénie. Dans cette pièce, James raconte l’histoire de sa famille tout en redonnant au piano devant lui sa justesse magnifiquement imparfaite.

Ne manquez pas le retour sur scène de cette pièce primée dans la foulée de sa récente adaptation pour le cinéma. 


James Smith est un comédien, compositeur, parolier, directeur musical, auteur, concepteur sonore et artiste de théâtre multidisciplinaire primé. Il a notamment composé la musique et les textes de la pièce Chasse-Galerie, ce qui lui a valu un prix Dora et le prix des critiques de théâtre de Toronto. Il a remporté le prix de la Meilleure production de SummerWorks en tant qu’auteur et interprète de la pièce Lessons in Temperament. Il possède un baccalauréat en musique de l’Université Queen’s, a fait un stage auprès du directeur musical du Festival Shaw et est un ancien de la Soulpepper Academy. 

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
aoû 15
aoû 16
  • 20 h 30
aoû 17
  • 14 h 30
aoû 18
  • 14 h 30
aoû 19
  • 20 h 30
aoû 20
  • 20 h 30
aoû 21
  • 14 h 30
video: Lessons in Temperament trailer
Lessons in Temperament trailer
Lessons in Temperament © Gabriela Osio Vanden
Lessons in Temperament © Gabriela Osio Vanden
Lessons in Temperament © Gabriela Osio Vanden
  • Écrit et interprétation par James Smith
  • Mise en scène par Mitchell Cushman
  • Concepteur de la production Nick Blais
Menu