Charlotte Cornfield

Charlotte Cornfield

2022-03-03 20:30 2022-03-03 21:00 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 NAC: Charlotte Cornfield

https://nac-cna.ca/en/event/30104

In-person event

After spending much of 2020 with her thoughts and instruments, Charlotte Cornfield knew it was time to take her new songs out of the house. She’d spent months writing a suite of evocative, autobiographical story-songs in near-solitude, and was ready for the immediate, regenerative experience of a band playing live in the studio. But this wasn’t mere pandemic-related longing. It was instead a long-simmering desire. Though the songs of Highs in the Minuses — her debut release on...

Read more

Fourth Stage,1 Elgin Street,Ottawa,Canada
Thursday, March 3, 2022
8:30 PM EST
Charlotte Cornfield
Music Singer/Songwriter Rock Folk
  • In-person event

After spending much of 2020 with her thoughts and instruments, Charlotte Cornfield knew it was time to take her new songs out of the house. She’d spent months writing a suite of evocative, autobiographical story-songs in near-solitude, and was ready for the immediate, regenerative experience of a band playing live in the studio. But this wasn’t mere pandemic-related longing. It was instead a long-simmering desire.

Though the songs of Highs in the Minuses — her debut release on Polyvinyl and Double Double Whammy — are highly personal, Cornfield wanted their sonic quality to convey the communal, aleatoric energy of live performance. Channeling the spirit and working methods of Jason Molina, Neil Young, and Big Thief before her, she and the band allowed their psychic connection to convey the emotional interconnectedness that comes with stories of heartbreak, self-discovery, and new love. “I knew everyone was coming in prepared, but I was really excited to see what was going to happen spontaneously, and those ideas that happened really quickly,” Cornfield says. “It was so much about trusting who I was with and trying to capture the immediacy of the emotions in the songs.” So many of the tunes expose her messy corners, and an animate soundtrack played with equal parts heart seemed only fitting.

Charlotte Cornfield
Menu

Rues fermées à la circulation autour du CNA lors de la fin de semaine des courses d'Ottawa
Charlotte Cornfield

Charlotte Cornfield

2022-03-03 20:30 2022-03-03 21:00 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 CNA : Charlotte Cornfield

https://nac-cna.ca/fr/event/30104

Événement en personne

Après avoir passé une grande partie de 2020 avec ses pensées et ses instruments, Charlotte Cornfield savait qu'il était temps de sortir ses nouvelles chansons de sa maison. Elle avait passé des mois à écrire une suite de chansons évocatrices et autobiographiques dans une quasi-solitude, et était prête pour l'expérience immédiate et régénératrice d'un groupe jouant en studio. Mais...

Read more

Quatrième Salle,1 rue Elgin,Ottawa,Canada
jeudi 3 mars 2022
20 h 30 HAE
Cet événement est passé
Charlotte Cornfield
Musique Auteur-compositeur-interprète Rock Folk
  • Événement en personne

Après avoir passé une grande partie de 2020 avec ses pensées et ses instruments, Charlotte Cornfield savait qu'il était temps de sortir ses nouvelles chansons de sa maison. Elle avait passé des mois à écrire une suite de chansons évocatrices et autobiographiques dans une quasi-solitude, et était prête pour l'expérience immédiate et régénératrice d'un groupe jouant en studio. Mais ce n'était pas une simple envie liée à la pandémie. C'était plutôt un désir qui couvait depuis longtemps. 

Bien que les chansons de Highs in the Minuses - son premier album sur Polyvinyl et Double Double Whammy - soient très personnelles, Cornfield voulait que leur qualité sonore transmette l'énergie communautaire et aléatoire des performances live. En s'inspirant de l'esprit et des méthodes de travail de Jason Molina, Neil Young et Big Thief avant elle, elle et son groupe ont permis à leur connexion psychique de transmettre l'interconnexion émotionnelle qui accompagne les histoires de cœur brisé, de découverte de soi et de nouvel amour. "Je savais que tout le monde était préparé, mais j'étais vraiment excitée de voir ce qui allait se produire spontanément, et les idées qui sont arrivées très rapidement", dit Cornfield. "Il s'agissait tellement de faire confiance aux personnes avec qui j'étais et d'essayer de capturer l'immédiateté des émotions dans les chansons". De nombreux morceaux mettent à nu les recoins de sa vie, et une bande-son animée, jouée avec autant de cœur, semblait tout à fait appropriée. 

Charlotte Cornfield
Menu