John Storgårds © Freestyle Photography

Storgårds & Bruckner

with the NAC Orchestra

2022-05-18 20:00 2022-05-19 21:30 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 NAC: Storgårds & Bruckner

https://nac-cna.ca/en/event/30028

In-person event

Conductor: John Storgårds Guest Artist: Charles Richard-Hamelin   This concert is made possible in part through the generous support of the Friends of the NAC Orchestra's Kilpatrick Fund.   Join us in Southam Hall  for an evening of grandiose musical performances, including a piano concerto with Québec pianist Charles Richard-Hamelin! Finnish composer Outi Tarkiainen’s Midnight Sun Variations conjures up the colours of the northern sky in summer,...

Read more

Southam Hall,1 Elgin Street,Ottawa,Canada
May 18 - 19, 2022
This event has passed
John Storgårds © Freestyle Photography
Music Classical music
  • OUTI TARKIAINEN Midnight Sun Variations
  • Mozart Piano Concerto No. 20 in D minor, K. 466
  • Bruckner Symphony No. 6
  • In-person event

Conductor: John Storgårds

Guest Artist: Charles Richard-Hamelin

This concert is made possible in part through the generous support of the Friends of the NAC Orchestra's Kilpatrick Fund.

Join us in Southam Hall  for an evening of grandiose musical performances, including a piano concerto with Québec pianist Charles Richard-Hamelin!

Finnish composer Outi Tarkiainen’s Midnight Sun Variations conjures up the colours of the northern sky in summer, yielding a fearless, dreamlike radiance that evokes the rugged landscapes of the Arctic. The National Arts Centre Orchestra is proud to perform the Canadian premiere of this NACO / BBC Radio 3 co-commission.

Quebec pianist Charles Richard-Hamelin returns to Southam Hall to perform Mozart’s Piano Concerto No. 20 in D minor, arguably the most romantic concerto ever written by the great composer. Richard-Hamelin’s “great depth of feeling without the slightest pretense” (Le Devoir) perfectly captures the yearning and ecstasy of this beautiful work.

Our concert closes with Anton Bruckner’s Symphony No. 6, a grand musical edifice that travels a wide range of emotions, like a soundtrack without a film. This marvellous work connects “the earth with the cosmos, the human with the spiritual, the saucy with the sublime” (theguardian.com) to deliver an unforgettable musical experience. 

John Storgårds © Freestyle Photography
Menu

Rues fermées à la circulation autour du CNA lors de la fin de semaine des courses d'Ottawa
John Storgårds © Freestyle Photography

Storgårds & Bruckner

avec l'Orchestre du CNA

2022-05-18 20:00 2022-05-19 21:30 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 CNA : Storgårds & Bruckner

https://nac-cna.ca/fr/event/30028

Événement en personne

Chef d’orchestre : John  Storgårds Artiste invité: Charles Richard-Hamelin   Ce concert est rendu possible en partie grâce au généreux soutien du Fonds Kilpatrick des Amis de l’Orchestre du CNA.   Soyez des nôtres pour une soirée musicale grandiose, comprenant notamment un concerto pour piano mettant en vedette le Québécois Charles Richard-Hamelin!! L’œuvre Midnight Sun...

Read more

Salle Southam,1 rue Elgin,Ottawa,Canada
18 - 19 mai 2022
John Storgårds © Freestyle Photography
Musique Musique classique
  • OUTI TARKIAINEN Midnight Sun Variations
  • Mozart Concerto pour piano no 20 en ré mineur, K. 466
  • Bruckner Symphonie no 6
  • Événement en personne
  • Bilingue

Chef d’orchestre : John  Storgårds

Artiste invité: Charles Richard-Hamelin

Ce concert est rendu possible en partie grâce au généreux soutien du Fonds Kilpatrick des Amis de l’Orchestre du CNA.

Soyez des nôtres pour une soirée musicale grandiose, comprenant notamment un concerto pour piano mettant en vedette le Québécois Charles Richard-Hamelin!!

L’œuvre Midnight Sun Variations, de la compositrice finnoise Outi Tarkiainen, évoque les couleurs d’été du ciel nordique et les décors sauvages de l’Arctique. Elle inspire le courage et nous plonge dans un état de rêve. C’est avec fierté que l’Orchestre du Centre national des Arts interprète la première canadienne de cette commande de l’Orchestre du CNA et de BBC Radio 3.

Le pianiste québécois Charles Richard-Hamelin revient à la Salle Southam pour jouer le Concerto pour piano no 20 en ré mineur de Mozart, sans doute le plus romantique des concertos de ce grand compositeur. Déployant « une grande profondeur de sentiments sans la moindre condescendance » (Le Devoir), il fait ressortir avec une justesse inégalée l’ardeur et l’exaltation qui font vibrer ce chef d’œuvre.

Le concert se termine par la Symphonie no 6 d’Anton Bruckner, véritable monument musical qui évoque la gamme complète des émotions, telle une trame sonore sans film. Cette œuvre merveilleuse lie « la terre avec le cosmos, l’humain avec le spirituel et l’irrévérence avec le sublime » (theguardian.com) pour une expérience musicale inoubliable.

John Storgårds © Freestyle Photography
Menu