October 22, 2021 update on live performances and events at the NAC.
Frazey Ford

Frazey Ford

with La Force

2022-01-29 20:30 2022-01-29 22:00 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 NAC: Frazey Ford

https://nac-cna.ca/en/event/29773

In-person event

On her third album ​U kin B the Sun​, Vancouver-based singer/songwriter Frazey Ford inhabits an entire world of shapeshifting rhythm, elevating every beat and groove with the subtle magnetism of her mesmerizing voice. With its graceful collision of soul and psychedelia and sometimes ’70s funk, it’s a body of work that invites both self-reflection and wildly joyful movement, and ultimately sparks a quiet transcendence. At turns ecstatic and heavy-hearted, gloriously...

Read more

Fourth Stage,1 Elgin Street,Ottawa,Canada
Saturday, January 29, 2022
8:30 PM EDT
Frazey Ford
Music Singer/Songwriter Pop Folk

In-person event

On her third album ​U kin B the Sun​, Vancouver-based singer/songwriter Frazey Ford inhabits an entire world of shapeshifting rhythm, elevating every beat and groove with the subtle magnetism of her mesmerizing voice. With its graceful collision of soul and psychedelia and sometimes ’70s funk, it’s a body of work that invites both self-reflection and wildly joyful movement, and ultimately sparks a quiet transcendence.

At turns ecstatic and heavy-hearted, gloriously shambolic and deeply purifying, ​U kin B the Sun ​is the outcome of a certain personal transformation that Ford has experienced in recent years. “I used to speak more in metaphors, but this album came out in a much more raw and direct way,” she says. “I’d say that’s a result of being more in my body and more in touch with the wholeness of anger, with taking up space and having boundaries. On this record I freed myself from the folk-writing format, and it’s been a whole different exploration for me.”

La Force is Ariel Engle, vocalist and newest member of Broken Social Scene. The music of La Force is nocturnal electronic pop, featuring Engle's enchanting vocals over dynamic production.

Born out of the culmination of AroarA – her musical project with husband and Broken Social Scene bandmate Andrew Whiteman – La Force is a deep reflection on the magic and dismantlement of motherhood; the never-ending tightrope walk of life, and death; and the re-discovery of self.

Frazey Ford
La Force
Frazey Ford
Frazey Ford
Menu

Événements et spectacles en direct au CNA – mise à jour du 22 octobre 2021.
Frazey Ford

Frazey Ford

avec La Force

2022-01-29 20:30 2022-01-29 22:00 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 CNA : Frazey Ford

https://nac-cna.ca/fr/event/29773

Événement en personne

Sur son troisième album U kin B the Sun, l'auteure-compositrice-interprète Frazey Ford, basée à Vancouver, habite un monde entier de rythmes changeants, élevant chaque battement et chaque groove grâce au magnétisme subtil de sa voix envoûtante. Avec sa collision gracieuse de soul, de psychédélisme et parfois de funk des années 70, c'est une œuvre qui invite à la fois à l'introspection et...

Read more

Quatrième Salle,1 rue Elgin,Ottawa,Canada
samedi 29 janvier 2022
20 h 30 HAE
Frazey Ford
Musique Auteur-compositeur-interprète Pop Folk

Événement en personne

Sur son troisième album U kin B the Sun, l'auteure-compositrice-interprète Frazey Ford, basée à Vancouver, habite un monde entier de rythmes changeants, élevant chaque battement et chaque groove grâce au magnétisme subtil de sa voix envoûtante. Avec sa collision gracieuse de soul, de psychédélisme et parfois de funk des années 70, c'est une œuvre qui invite à la fois à l'introspection et à un mouvement follement joyeux, pour finalement susciter une transcendance tranquille.

Tour à tour extatique et lourd, glorieux et profondément purificateur, U kin B the Sun est le résultat d'une certaine transformation personnelle que Ford a vécue ces dernières années. "J'avais l'habitude de parler davantage par métaphores, mais cet album est sorti d'une manière beaucoup plus brute et directe", dit-elle. "Je dirais que c'est le résultat d'être plus dans mon corps et plus en contact avec la globalité de la colère, avec le fait de prendre de l'espace et d'avoir des limites. Sur ce disque, je me suis libérée du format de l'écriture folk, et cela a été une exploration totalement différente pour moi."

La Force est Ariel Engle, vocaliste et nouveau membre de Broken Social Scene. La musique de La Force est une pop électronique nocturne, avec la voix envoûtante d'Engle sur une production dynamique.

Née de l'aboutissement d'AroarA - son projet musical avec son mari et coéquipier du groupe Broken Social Scene, Andrew Whiteman - La Force est une réflexion profonde sur la magie et le démantèlement de la maternité, l'interminable funambulisme de la vie et de la mort, et la redécouverte de soi.

Frazey Ford
La Force
Frazey Ford
Frazey Ford
Menu