September 27, 2021 update on live performances and events at the NAC.
Donovan Woods © Briony Douglas

Donovan Woods

with full band

2022-05-18 19:30 2022-05-18 21:30 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 NAC: Donovan Woods

https://nac-cna.ca/en/event/29372

In-person event

Join Donovan Woods with his full band for a special performance. Tickets to Donovan Woods, a solo acoustic and intimate performance on May 17th are available here. Late at night, when a hush fell over the house after his kids went to bed, Donovan Woods got to work on his latest album, Without People. In a makeshift recording studio at his Toronto home, the acclaimed Canadian singer-songwriter tracked his vocals and guitar alone and then emailed files to producer James Bunton. As...

Read more

Babs Asper Theatre,1 Elgin Street,Ottawa,Canada
Wednesday, May 18, 2022
7:30 PM EDT
Donovan Woods © Briony Douglas
Music Singer/Songwriter Folk

In-person event

Join Donovan Woods with his full band for a special performance.

Tickets to Donovan Woods, a solo acoustic and intimate performance on May 17th are available here.

Late at night, when a hush fell over the house after his kids went to bed, Donovan Woods got to work on his latest album, Without People.

In a makeshift recording studio at his Toronto home, the acclaimed Canadian singer-songwriter tracked his vocals and guitar alone and then emailed files to producer James Bunton. As Woods’ new songs took shape, backing musicians sketched out their own parts in isolation from their respective homes.

For an album made so piecemeal, Without People (out now on Woods’ Meant Well label) has been acclaimed as “a nuanced experience” (American Songwriter), a thoughtful exploration of “fleeting interpersonal moments now under the microscope” (NPR/KUTX) and “various aspects of human connection” (Rolling Stone), and for striking “a gentle, poignant note” (Billboard).

So much of the album’s allure is rooted in how Woods connects with his collaborators and imparts the intimacy we all crave right now. 

And now there’s even more to love about the album, which ranks as Woods’ most successful release ever, with more than 10 million streams and climbing. 

As the follow-up to The Other Way, Woods’ stark 2019 release that acoustically reimagined Both Ways(2018), Without People prompted Woods to reckon with why his songwriting has been so invested in the human condition throughout his decade-long career. The short answer? Relationships are what bind us, and what matters most is how we treat one another and whether we’re truly listening and trying to understand experiences distinct from our own.

Donovan Woods © Briony Douglas
Menu

Événements et spectacles en direct au CNA – mise à jour du 21 septembre 2021.
Donovan Woods © Briony Douglas

Donovan Woods

avec groupe complet

2022-05-18 19:30 2022-05-18 21:30 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 CNA : Donovan Woods

https://nac-cna.ca/fr/event/29372

Événement en personne

Rejoignez Donovan Woods avec son groupe complet pour un spectacle spécial. Les billets pour Donovan Woods, une performance acoustique solo et intime le 17 mai, sont disponibles ici. C'est tard dans la nuit, alors qu'un silence s'est installé dans la maison après le coucher de ses enfants, que Donovan Woods a commencé à travailler sur son dernier album, Without People. Dans un studio d'enregistrement improvisé à son domicile de...

Read more

Théâtre Babs Asper,1 rue Elgin,Ottawa,Canada
mercredi 18 mai 2022
19 h 30 HAE
Donovan Woods © Briony Douglas
Musique Auteur-compositeur-interprète Folk

Événement en personne

Rejoignez Donovan Woods avec son groupe complet pour un spectacle spécial.

Les billets pour Donovan Woods, une performance acoustique solo et intime le 17 mai, sont disponibles ici.

C'est tard dans la nuit, alors qu'un silence s'est installé dans la maison après le coucher de ses enfants, que Donovan Woods a commencé à travailler sur son dernier album, Without People.

Dans un studio d'enregistrement improvisé à son domicile de Toronto, le célèbre auteur-compositeur-interprète canadien a enregistré seul sa voix et sa guitare, puis a envoyé les fichiers par courriel au producteur James Bunton. Au fur et à mesure que les nouvelles chansons de Woods prenaient forme, ses musiciens d'accompagnement esquissaient leurs propres parties, isolés dans leurs maisons respectives.

Pour un album aussi fragmentaire, Without People (qui sort aujourd'hui sur le label Meant Well de Woods) a été acclamé comme "une expérience nuancée" (American Songwriter), une exploration réfléchie des "moments interpersonnels fugaces aujourd'hui passés au microscope" (NPR/KUTX) et des "divers aspects de la connexion humaine" (Rolling Stone), et pour avoir frappé "une note douce et poignante" (Billboard).

Et maintenant, il y a encore plus à aimer de l'album, qui se classe comme la sortie la plus réussie de Woods, avec plus de 10 millions de streams et en pleine ascension. 

Faisant suite à The Other Way, l'album austère de Woods sorti en 2019 qui réimagine de manière acoustique Both Ways (2018), Without People a poussé Woods à se demander pourquoi son écriture a été si investie dans la condition humaine tout au long de sa carrière de dix ans. La réponse courte ? Les relations sont ce qui nous lie, et ce qui compte le plus, c'est la façon dont nous nous traitons les uns les autres et si nous écoutons vraiment et essayons de comprendre des expériences distinctes des nôtres.

Donovan Woods © Briony Douglas
Menu