October 13, 2021 update on live performances and events at the NAC.
Daymé Arocena © Rick Swig

Daymé Arocena

2021-11-04 20:30 2021-11-04 22:30 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 NAC: Daymé Arocena

https://nac-cna.ca/en/event/29246

In-person event

With her captivating charisma and radiant spirit, Daymé Arocena effortlessly blends traditional Santerían chant, jazz stylings, contemporary R&B influences, and Afro-Cuban rhythmic complexity for audiences worldwide. Her passion for the musical traditions of her homeland is boundless – “reigniting the Cuban soundtrack wherever she plays” (NPR). At every performance, Daymé coaxes her audiences into lively call-and-response chants with an irrepressible...

Read more

Fourth Stage,1 Elgin Street,Ottawa,Canada
Thursday, November 4, 2021
8:30 PM EDT
Daymé Arocena © Rick Swig
Music Singer/Songwriter Jazz

In-person event

With her captivating charisma and radiant spirit, Daymé Arocena effortlessly blends traditional Santerían chant, jazz stylings, contemporary R&B influences, and Afro-Cuban rhythmic complexity for audiences worldwide. Her passion for the musical traditions of her homeland is boundless – “reigniting the Cuban soundtrack wherever she plays” (NPR). At every performance, Daymé coaxes her audiences into lively call-and-response chants with an irrepressible smile on her face, enamoring the whole audience in her charm. “Scat-singing over her trio’s swaying rhumbas and cha-cha-chas,” (DownBeat), Daymé’s impact upon the history of Cuban music is undeniable. 

On September 6, 2019, Daymé released Sonocardiogram on Brownswood Recordings to resounding critical applause. Celebrating the rich elements of Afro-Cuban culture and Santería, Sonocardiogram also tells the story of Daymé as a creative spirit. The album is a finely crafted arc exploring her sources of Santería, dedication to legacy of Afro-Cuban musicians, an homage to family, and of course always inspired, sincere, and hopeful. 

Daymé looks forward to the release of a new, upbeat Latin dance themed album in late 2021.

Limited tickets, physically distanced 

Daymé Arocena © Rick Swig
Menu

Daymé Arocena © Rick Swig

Daymé Arocena

2021-11-04 20:30 2021-11-04 22:30 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 CNA : Daymé Arocena

https://nac-cna.ca/fr/event/29246

Événement en personne

Avec son charisme captivant et son esprit radieux, Daymé Arocena mélange sans effort le chant traditionnel santérien, les styles de jazz, les influences R&B contemporaines et la complexité rythmique afro-cubaine pour les publics du monde entier. Sa passion pour les traditions musicales de son pays natal est sans limite - "elle ravive la bande-son cubaine partout où elle joue" (NPR). À chaque représentation, Daymé entraîne son...

Read more

Quatrième Salle,1 rue Elgin,Ottawa,Canada
jeudi 4 novembre 2021
20 h 30 HAE
Daymé Arocena © Rick Swig
Musique Auteur-compositeur-interprète Jazz

Événement en personne

Avec son charisme captivant et son esprit radieux, Daymé Arocena mélange sans effort le chant traditionnel santérien, les styles de jazz, les influences R&B contemporaines et la complexité rythmique afro-cubaine pour les publics du monde entier. Sa passion pour les traditions musicales de son pays natal est sans limite - "elle ravive la bande-son cubaine partout où elle joue" (NPR). À chaque représentation, Daymé entraîne son public dans des chants d'appel et de réponse animés, avec un sourire irrépressible sur le visage, faisant tomber tout le public sous son charme. " Scat-singing sur les rhumbas et cha-cha-chas chaloupés de son trio " (DownBeat), l'impact de Daymé sur l'histoire de la musique cubaine est indéniable. 

Le 6 septembre 2019, Daymé a publié Sonocardiogram sur Brownswood Recordings sous les applaudissements retentissants de la critique. Célébrant les riches éléments de la culture afro-cubaine et de la Santería, Sonocardiogram raconte également l'histoire de Daymé en tant qu'esprit créatif. L'album est un arc finement élaboré qui explore ses sources de Santería, son dévouement à l'héritage des musiciens afro-cubains, un hommage à la famille, et bien sûr toujours inspiré, sincère et plein d'espoir. 

Daymé attend avec impatience la sortie d'un nouvel album optimiste sur le thème de la danse latine fin 2021. 

Nombre de billets limité, avec la distanciation physique

Daymé Arocena © Rick Swig
Menu