May 13, 2021 update on live performances and events at the NAC.

Our Stories: Indigenous Book Club

May book - Noopiming: The Cure for White Ladies

7 PM EDT
Facebook Live
Indigenous arts Authors Talks

Facebook Live event

In partnership with the Ottawa Public Library, Our Stories: Indigenous Book Club runs from January - June 2021, with monthly books including poetry, fiction, memoirs and plays. At the end of each month, join us for an online conversation with each book’s author on Facebook live.

Our May book is ‘Noopiming: The Cure for White Ladies’ by Leanne Betasamosake Simpson. On May 19 at 7pm EDT, join us for this live, online discussion with author Leanne Betasamosake Simpson to discuss the book.

We’ll be sharing reflection questions in our book club Facebook event throughout May. Feel free to engage and share your thoughts about the book throughout the month!

Click here to borrow the book from the Ottawa Public Library. 

If you’re unable to get a copy of ‘Noopiming: The Cure for White Ladies’ from the Ottawa Public Library, we encourage folks to purchase the book from Indigenous owned and operated book stores. The Ottawa Public Library has a great list available here

We’re excited to read with you all this month! 

--

May’s Book - ‘Noopiming: The Cure for White Ladies’ by Leanne Betasamosake Simpson

Please note: this book is intended for adult readers.

About the book

Mashkawaji (they/them) lies frozen in the ice, remembering a long-ago time of hopeless connection and now finding freedom and solace in isolated suspension. They introduce us to the seven main characters: Akiwenzii, the old man who represents the narrator's will; Ninaatig, the maple tree who represents their lungs; Mindimooyenh, the old woman who represents their conscience; Sabe, the giant who represents their marrow; Adik, the caribou who represents their nervous system; Asin, the human who represents their eyes and ears; and Lucy, the human who represents their brain. Each attempts to commune with the unnatural urban-settler world, a world of SpongeBob Band-Aids, Ziploc baggies, Fjällräven Kånken backpacks, and coffee mugs emblazoned with institutional logos. And each searches out the natural world, only to discover those pockets that still exist are owned, contained, counted, and consumed. Cut off from nature, the characters are cut off from their natural selves.

About the author

Leanne Betasomosake Simpson is a Michi Saagiig Nishnaabeg writer, scholar, and musician, and a member of Alderville First Nation. She is the author of five previous books, including This Accident of Being Lost, which won the MacEwan Book of the Year and the Peterborough Arts Award for Outstanding Achievement by an Indigenous Author; was a finalist for the Rogers Writers’ Trust Fiction Prize and the Trillium Book Award; was longlisted for CBC Canada Reads; and was named a best book of the year by the Globe and Mail, National Post, and Quill & Quire. She has released two albums, including f(l)ight, which is a companion piece to This Accident of Being Lost.

Menu

Événements et spectacles en direct au CNA – mise à jour du 8 avril 2021.

Nos récits : club de lecture autochtone

Livre du mois de mai: Noopiming: The Cure for White Ladies

19 h HAE
Facebook Live
Arts autochtones Littérature Causeries

Événement Facebook Live

En partenariat avec la Bibliothèque publique d’Ottawa Public Library, Nos récits : club de lecture autochtone se déroulera de janvier à juin 2021 avec un nouveau livre de poésie, de fiction, d’autobiographie ou de pièce de théâtre à l’étude chaque mois. À la fin du mois, vous aurez la chance de participer à une conversation virtuelle avec l’autrice ou l’auteur de l’œuvre!  

Le livre à l’étude en mai est ‘Noopiming: The Cure for White Ladies’ de Leanne Betasamosake Simpson. Veuillez noter que ce livre est uniquement offert en anglais.

Le 19 mai à 19 h (HNE), soyez des nôtres pour une conversation virtuelle avec Leanne Betasamosake Simpson. Cette conversation sera présentée en direct. Veuillez noter que cette conversation se déroulera en anglais seulement.

Suivez-nous dans notre événement Facebook pour des questions de réflexion liées au livre du mois. N’hésitez pas à participer et à nous transmettre vos impressions tout au long du mois!

On peut se procurer un exemplaire de ‘Noopiming: The Cure for White Ladies’ à la Bibliothèque publique d’Ottawa.

Si vous ne pouvez pas avoir accès à un exemplaire de ‘Approaching Fire’ à la Bibliothèque publique d’Ottawa, nous vous encourageons à vous le procurer dans l’une des librairies autochtones de l’Île de la Tortue. Consultez ici la liste de ces librairies compilée par la Bibliothèque publique d’Ottawa. 

Nous nous réjouissons de partager cette lecture avec vous tout au long du mois! 

--

Livre du mois de mai : ‘Noopiming: The Cure for White Ladies’ de Leanne Betasamosake Simpson

Nota : Ce livre était écrit pour des lecteurs adultes.

À propos du livre

Le narrateur de genre neutre Mashkawaji, gelé dans la glace, se souvient d’une époque de relations insensées, et trouve aujourd’hui liberté et réconfort dans l’isolement du temps suspendu. Il nous présente les sept personnages principaux du récit : Akiwenzii, vieil homme représentant le courage du narrateur; l’érable Ninaatig, ses poumons; la vieille femme Mindimooyenh, sa conscience; le géant Sabe, son essence; le caribou Adik, son système nerveux; l’homme Nasin, ses yeux et ses oreilles; et la femme Lucy, son cerveau. Chacun d’entre eux tente à sa manière d’être en harmonie avec le monde urbain et artificiel des colonisateurs où pullulent les pansements SpongeBob, les sachets Ziploc, les sacs à dos Fjällräven Kånken et les tasses à café arborant divers logos institutionnels. À la recherche du monde naturel, chacun découvre que les dernières parcelles de nature qui existent toujours en ce monde sont propriétés clôturées, comptées et consommées. Coupés du monde naturel, les personnages sont coupés de leur propre nature.

À propos de l’autrice

Leanne Betasomosake Simpson est une autrice, chercheuse et musicienne Michi Saagiig Nishnaabeg membre de la Première Nation Alderville. Elle a écrit cinq autres livres, dont This Accident of Being Lost qui a remporté le titre de livre de l’année de MacEwan et le Peterborough Arts Award pour réalisation exceptionnelle par une autrice autochtone, a été finaliste au Rogers Writers’ Trust Fiction Prize et au prix Trillium; a été sélectionné pour la liste de CBC Canada Reads; et a été nommé l’un des meilleurs livres de l’année par le Globe and Mail, le National Post, et Quill & Quire. Elle a également fait paraître deux albums, dont f(l)ight, qui accompagne This Accident of Being Lost.

Menu