WATCH LIVE: G.R. Gritt at Théâtre du Nouvel-Ontario (Sudbury) | Fridays at the Fourth

Our Stories: Indigenous Book Club

April book - ‘Approaching Fire’

7 PM EDT
Facebook Live
Indigenous arts Authors Talks

Facebook Live event

In partnership with the Ottawa Public Library, Our Stories: Indigenous Book Club runs from January - June 2021, with monthly books including poetry, fiction, memoirs and plays. At the end of each month, join us for an online conversation with each book’s author on Facebook live.

Our April book is ‘Approaching Fire’ by Michelle Porter. On April 28 at 7pm EDT, join us for this live, online discussion with author Michelle Porter (Red River Métis) to discuss the book.

We’ll be sharing reflection questions in our book club Facebook event throughout April. Feel free to engage and share your thoughts about the book throughout the month!

Click here to borrow the book from the Ottawa Public Library.

If you’re unable to get a copy of ‘Approaching Fire’ from the Ottawa Public Library, we encourage folks to purchase the book from Indigenous owned and operated book stores. The Ottawa Public Library has a great list available here.

We’re excited to read with you all this month! 

--

April book - ‘Approaching Fire’ by Michelle Porter

Please note: this book is intended for adult readers.

About the book

In Approaching Fire, Michelle Porter embarks on a quest to find her great-grandfather, the Métis fiddler and performer Léon Robert Goulet. Through musicology, jigs and reels, poetry, photographs, and the ecology of fire, Porter invests biography with the power of reflective ingenuity, creating a portrait which expands beyond documentation into a private realm where truth meets metaphor.

Weaving through multiple genres and traditions, Approaching Fire fashions a textual documentary of rescue and insight, and a glowing contemplation of the ways in which loss can generate unbridled renewal.

About the author

Michelle Porter is a Red River Métis poet, journalist, and editor. She holds degrees in journalism, folklore, and geography (PhD). Her academic research and creative work have been focused on home, Métis mobility, and the changing nature of our relationship to land. She’s won awards for her work in poetry and journalism, and has been published in literary journals, newspapers, and magazines across the country. She lives in St. John’s.

Approximately 1 hour long

Menu

Événements et spectacles en direct au CNA – mise à jour du 8 avril 2021.

Nos récits : club de lecture autochtone

Livre du mois d'avril : Approaching Fire

19 h HAE
Facebook Live
Arts autochtones Littérature Causeries

Événement Facebook Live

En partenariat avec la Bibliothèque publique d’Ottawa Public Library, Nos récits : club de lecture autochtone se déroulera de janvier à juin 2021 avec un nouveau livre de poésie, de fiction, d’autobiographie ou de pièce de théâtre à l’étude chaque mois. À la fin du mois, vous aurez la chance de participer à une conversation virtuelle avec l’autrice ou l’auteur de l’œuvre!  

Le livre à l’étude en Avril est ‘Approaching Fire’ de Michelle Porter. Veuillez noter que ce livre est uniquement offert en anglais.

Le 28 avril à 19 h (HNE), soyez des nôtres pour une conversation virtuelle avec Michelle Porter (métisse de la Rivière-Rouge).

Cette conversation sera présentée en direct. Veuillez noter que cette conversation se déroulera en anglais seulement.

Suivez-nous chaque semaine dans notre événement Facebook pour des questions de réflexion liées au livre du mois. N’hésitez pas à participer et à nous transmettre vos impressions tout au long du mois!

On peut se procurer un exemplaire de ‘Approaching Fire’ à la Bibliothèque publique d’Ottawa.

Si vous ne pouvez pas avoir accès à un exemplaire de ‘Approaching Fire’ à la Bibliothèque publique d’Ottawa, nous vous encourageons à vous le procurer dans l’une des librairies autochtones de l’Île de la Tortue. Consultez ici la liste de ces librairies compilée par la Bibliothèque publique d’Ottawa.

Nous nous réjouissons de partager cette lecture avec vous tout au long du mois! 

--

Livre du mois d’avril : ‘Approaching Fire’ de Michelle Porter

Nota : Ce livre était écrit pour des lecteurs adultes.

À propos du livre

Dans Approaching Fire, Michelle Porter se lance sur les traces de son arrière-grand-père Léon Robert Goulet, interprète et violoniste de tradition populaire d’origine métisse. Alliant musicologie, gigues et réels, poésie, photographie et écologie du feu, Porter donne à sa biographie une puissante ingéniosité réflexive; elle trace un portrait qui dépasse l’essai documentaire et touche à la sphère intime où vérité et métaphore se rencontrent.

Entrelaçant une multitude de genres et de traditions, Approaching Fire documente des recherches et une vision, et propose une lumineuse contemplation sur la manière dont la perte peut générer un renouvellement formidable.

À propos de l’auteure

Michelle Porter est une poète, journaliste et éditrice métisse de la Rivière-Rouge. Elle est titulaire de diplômes en journalisme et en folklore, ainsi que d’un doctorat en géographie. Ses recherches universitaires et ses œuvres créatives sont axées sur le domicile, la mobilité des Métis et la nature changeante de notre relation avec la terre. Elle a remporté plusieurs prix pour sa poésie et son journalisme, et a été publiée dans des revues littéraires, des journaux et des revues partout au pays. Elle habite à St. John’s.

Durée approximative de 1 heure

Menu