June 30, 2021 update on live performances and events at the NAC.
Ila Barker and Nimkish © Tiffany Spence and Nimkish

AIRsessions Workshop: Ila Barker and Nimkish

Season 3 | Episode 3

2021-03-18 20:00 2021-03-18 21:00 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 NAC: AIRsessions Workshop: Ila Barker and Nimkish

https://nac-cna.ca/en/event/28355

Zoom event

Artist-in Residence Ila Barker is joined by Nimkish.

Nimkish is a rising Indigiqueer pop artist based out of Vancouver, B.C. Her first album, Heartbreak On The Coast, was released on August 30th, 2019. The debut album charted #1 on the CiTR Discorder Charts the week of its release, and has since received national radio play on CBC Reclaimed. Nimkish writes from a personal place and of the many trials of life and heartbreak. Her raw lyricism is seamlessly intertwined...

Read more

Zoom
Thursday, March 18, 2021
8 PM EDT
Zoom webinar
This event has passed
Ila Barker and Nimkish © Tiffany Spence and Nimkish
Indigenous arts Music Singer/Songwriter Pop Workshops

Zoom event

Artist-in Residence Ila Barker is joined by Nimkish.

Nimkish is a rising Indigiqueer pop artist based out of Vancouver, B.C. Her first album, Heartbreak On The Coast, was released on August 30th, 2019. The debut album charted #1 on the CiTR Discorder Charts the week of its release, and has since received national radio play on CBC Reclaimed. Nimkish writes from a personal place and of the many trials of life and heartbreak. Her raw lyricism is seamlessly intertwined with catchy pop melodies, and is backed by a smooth blend of Pop, R&B, and Electronic Music.

After the humble success of Heartbreak On The Coast, Nimkish is almost ready to share new music with the world. The second album, Damage Control, is a snapshot of the young artist’s life as she moved through the uncertainty brought by the last few years. It’s an incredibly vulnerable and honest album about navigating grief, escapism, isolation, and the state of the world. Nimkish experiments with a fresh, new sound as she leaves the Heartbreak On The Coast era behind and gracefully welcomes a new one. Her long awaited second project is to be released in 2021.

Register to participate in this small-group online session to learn about how these artists make music and to share your questions and musical ideas. Priority registration to Indigenous youth aged 13 to 25. Other participants accepted if space is available.

The workshop will take place on Zoom. To register and for more information, please contact Ila at ilabarkermusic@gmail.com.

This series is presented as part of the NAC Music Alive Program: Manitoba, in partnership with the sākihiwē festival, Music for Life, Indigenous Music Development Program at Manitoba Music and Canada Council for the arts.

This live performance adheres to the health and safety guidelines of the region in which it was recorded.

Ila Barker and Nimkish © Tiffany Spence and Nimkish
Menu

Événements et spectacles en direct au CNA – mise à jour du 13 octobre 2021.
Ila Barker et Nimkish © Tiffany Spence et Nimkish

Atelier AIRsessions: Ila Barker et Nimkish

Saison 3 | Épisode 3

2021-03-18 20:00 2021-03-18 21:00 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 CNA : Atelier AIRsessions: Ila Barker et Nimkish

https://nac-cna.ca/fr/event/28355

Événement Zoom

Pour cet atelier sur la création musicale, l’artiste en résidence Ila Barker sera en compagnie de Nimkish. Nimkish est une artiste pop émergente autochtone et queer établie à Vancouver, en Colombie-Britannique. Son premier album, Heartbreak On The Coast, s’est hissé au sommet du palmarès CiTR Discorder dès sa parution le 30 août 2019, et a tourné sur la radio nationale de CBC Reclaimed. Nimkish s’inspire de...

Read more

Zoom
jeudi 18 mars 2021
20 h HAE
Zoom webinare
Cet événement est passé
Ila Barker et Nimkish © Tiffany Spence et Nimkish
Arts autochtones Musique Auteur-compositeur-interprète Pop Ateliers

Événement Zoom

Pour cet atelier sur la création musicale, l’artiste en résidence Ila Barker sera en compagnie de Nimkish.

Nimkish est une artiste pop émergente autochtone et queer établie à Vancouver, en Colombie-Britannique. Son premier album, Heartbreak On The Coast, s’est hissé au sommet du palmarès CiTR Discorder dès sa parution le 30 août 2019, et a tourné sur la radio nationale de CBC Reclaimed. Nimkish s’inspire de son vécu pour écrire au sujet des nombreux défis de la vie et des peines d’amour. Ses textes bruts se marient à merveille à ses mélodies pop accrocheuses, sur un fond harmonieux de musique pop, R&B, et électronique.

Après le modeste succès de Heartbreak On The Coast, Nimkish est presque prête à partager sa nouvelle musique avec le monde. Son deuxième album, Damage Control, présente un aperçu de la vie de la jeune artiste qui navigue dans l’incertitude des dernières années. C’est un album incroyablement honnête et vulnérable qui parle de deuil, d’évasion, d’isolement et de l’état du monde. Nimkish expérimente avec de nouvelles sonorités, alors qu’elle laisse derrière elle l’époque de Heartbreak On The Coast pour mieux accueillir ce qui reste à venir. Son deuxième projet tant attendu devrait paraître en 2021.

L’inscription pour cet atelier en ligne est obligatoire. Vous pourrez découvrir le processus créatif de ces artistes, poser des questions et partager vos idées musicales. La priorité est accordée aux jeunes autochtones de 13 à 25 ans. Les autres participants seront acceptés s’il reste de la place.

Cet atelier sera donné sur Zoom. Pour vous inscrire et avoir plus de détails, contactez Ila à l’adresse suivante : ilabarkermusic@gmail.com.

Cette série est présentée dans le cadre du programme Vive la Musique : Manitoba du CNA, en partenariat avec le sākihiwē festival, Music for Life, et le Indigenous Music Development Program à Manitoba Music et le Conseil des arts du Canada.

Ce spectacle en direct respecte les directives de santé et de sécurité de la région dans laquelle il a été enregistré.

Ila Barker et Nimkish © Tiffany Spence et Nimkish
Menu