May 13, 2021 update on live performances and events at the NAC.
Ila Barker and Fawn Wood © Tiffany Spence and Janice Huser

AIRsessions Workshop: Ila Barker and Fawn Wood

Season 3 | Episode 2

This event has passed
Ila Barker and Fawn Wood © Tiffany Spence and Janice Huser
Indigenous arts Music Singer/Songwriter Pop Workshops

Zoom event

Artist-in Residence Ila Barker is joined by singer Fawn Wood.

Born into the respected multi-generational traditional singing Wood family, Fawn Wood’s singing reflects her Cree and Salish tribal lineage. At an early age Fawn would sing her heart out at pow-wows alongside her mother and father. In 2006, Fawn was the first female to win the Hand Drum contest at the Gathering of Nations Pow Wow. In 2009 she opened the show at the 11th Annual Native American Music Awards (NAMMYS). In 2010 she also sang with her partner, Dallas Waskahat for the opening of the Aboriginal People’s Choice Music Awards in Winnepeg, Manitoba.

Register to participate in this small-group online session to learn about how these artists make music and to share your questions and musical ideas. Priority registration to Indigenous youth aged 13 to 25. Other participants accepted if space is available.

The workshop will take place on Zoom. To register and for more information, please contact Ila at ilabarkermusic@gmail.com.

This series is presented as part of the NAC Music Alive Program: Manitoba, in partnership with the sākihiwē festival, Music for Life, Indigenous Music Development Program at Manitoba Music and Canada Council for the arts.

This live performance adheres to the health and safety guidelines of the region in which it was recorded.

Ila Barker and Fawn Wood © Tiffany Spence and Janice Huser
Menu

Événements et spectacles en direct au CNA – mise à jour du 12 février 2021.
Ila Barker et Fawn Wood © Tiffany Spence et Janice Huser

Atelier AIRsessions: Ila Barker et Fawn Wood

Saison 3 | Épisode 2

20 h HNE
Zoom
Ila Barker et Fawn Wood © Tiffany Spence et Janice Huser
Arts autochtones Musique Auteur-compositeur-interprète Pop Ateliers

Événement Zoom

Pour cet atelier sur la création musicale, l’artiste en résidence Ila Barker sera en compagnie de la chanteuse Fawn Wood.

Née d’une famille respectée et multigénérationnelle de chanteurs traditionnels, Fawn Wood fait raisonner son héritage cri et salish dans sa musique. Très jeune, Fawn chantait de tout son cœur lors des pow-wows avec sa mère et son père. En 2006, elle était la première femme à remporter le concours de tambour à main au Gathering of Nations Pow Wow. En 2009, Fawn a ouvert le spectacle lors de la 11e édition des Native American Music Awards (NAMMYS). En 2010, elle a également chanté avec son partenaire, Dallas Waskahat, pour l'ouverture des Aboriginal People's Choice Music Awards à Winnepeg, au Manitoba.

L’inscription pour cet atelier en ligne est obligatoire. Vous pourrez découvrir le processus créatif de ces artistes, poser des questions et partager vos idées musicales. La priorité est accordée aux jeunes autochtones de 13 à 25 ans. Les autres participants seront acceptés s’il reste de la place.

Cet atelier sera donné sur Zoom. Pour vous inscrire et avoir plus de détails, contactez Ila à l’adresse suivante : ilabarkermusic@gmail.com.

Cette série est présentée dans le cadre du programme Vive la Musique : Manitoba du CNA, en partenariat avec le sākihiwē festival, Music for Life, et le Indigenous Music Development Program à Manitoba Music.

Ce spectacle en direct respecte les directives de santé et de sécurité de la région dans laquelle il a été enregistré.

Ila Barker et Fawn Wood © Tiffany Spence et Janice Huser
Menu