February 12, 2021 update on live performances and events at the NAC.
Hayley Wickenheiser © Photo credit: Dave Holland

Hayley Wickenheiser in conversation with Dr. Jillian Horton

Arts, Medicine & #Life

8 PM EST
Facebook Live
This event has passed
Hayley Wickenheiser © Photo credit: Dave Holland
Authors Talks

Facebook Live event

But where is the net?

When five-time Olympic champion Hayley Wickenheiser retired from hockey after 23 years, holding the record for most assists, points and goals for the Canadian Women’s National Team, she set her sights on another challenge: becoming a doctor.  But while medicine and sports may seem to share certain similarities, they do not share a common culture when it comes to taking care of our bodies or preparing our minds for physical and mental challenges. IN particular, medicine operates under the assumption that physicians can override their physiologic and emotional needs without a safety net – or a supportive team – beneath them. In this, the second talk in our 2020/21 series, we’ll explore some of medicine’s blind spots, and what one of Canada’s most decorated athletes can tell us about the mindset and the cognitive shifts we need to make in order to survive the ordeal of the pandemic – and, ultimately, to change our culture.

With seven World Championships, six Olympic appearances, five Olympic medals and four Olympic Gold medals – Hayley Wickenheiser is a titan of sport and a leader both on and off the ice. Most recently recognized by her peers, she was inducted into the Hockey Hall of Fame. Her hockey IQ is highly respected in all areas of both the men’s and women’s game. She has played and coached four NHL development camps with the Philadelphia Flyers, Edmonton Oilers and Toronto Maple Leafs, the first woman in history to have done so. She still holds the record for the most assists, points and goals for the Canadian Women’s National team which she joined at just 15 years old, a career spanning 23 years. She retired in 2017 to begin her pursuit of a career in medicine, which she is currently studying at the University of Calgary. She is a member of the Order of Canada, a member of the IOC Athlete’s Commission, founder of The Canadian Tire Wickenheiser World Female Hockey Festival, the Vice Chair of the Calgary 2026 Bid Committee and most importantly, a mom to her grown son Noah. 

JILLIAN HORTON, M.D., is an award-winning medical educator, writer, musician and podcaster. A former Associate Dean at the University of Manitoba, she has cared for thousands of patients in an inner-city hospital, and now works to provide care to people living with addiction.  She is the winner of the prestigious 2020 AFMC–Gold Foundation Humanism award, recognizing her as a national thought leader in medical education and the delivery of compassionate and humane care. As a teacher of mindfulness, she is sought after by doctors at all stages of their careers, and she leads the development of national programming in physician health for Joule, a subsidiary of the Canadian Medical Association. Her writing about medicine has appeared frequently in the LA Times, the Globe and Mail, and the Toronto Star, and her first book, We Are All Perfectly Fine, will be released by HarperCollins Canada in Feb 2021. 

This live performance adheres to the health and safety guidelines of the region in which it was recorded.

Hayley Wickenheiser © Photo credit: Dave Holland
Menu

Événements et spectacles en direct au CNA – mise à jour du 12 février 2021.
Hayley Wickenheiser © Crédit photo: Dave Holland

Hayley Wickenheiser en conversation avec Dre Jillian Horton

Arts, Medicine & #Life

20 h HNE
Facebook Live
Cet événement est passé
Hayley Wickenheiser © Crédit photo: Dave Holland
Littérature Causeries

Événement Facebook Live

Mais où est le filet de sécurité?

Lorsqu’Hailey Wickenheiser, quintuple médaillée aux Jeux olympiques, a accroché ses patins après 23 ans de carrière au hockey – elle détient le record du plus grand nombre de passes décisives, points et buts au sein de l’équipe nationale féminine de Hockey Canada –, elle s’est lancé un tout autre défi : devenir médecin. Bien qu’il y ait des points communs entre le hockey et la médecine, la manière de prendre soin de son corps ou celle de se préparer mentalement aux défis physiques ou intellectuels divergent d’un domaine à l’autre. Dans le monde médical, on tient ainsi pour acquis que les personnes qui pratiquent la médecine peuvent mettre de côté leurs besoins physiologiques ou émotionnels sans avoir recours à un filet de sécurité (ou une équipe de soutien). Dans cette deuxième causerie de la série 2020–2021, nous explorerons des zones de silence en médecine et découvrirons la mentalité et les virages cognitifs qui, selon l’une des plus grandes athlètes au Canada, nous permettraient de survivre à la pandémie, et en définitive, d’améliorer nos manières de faire.

Avec sept championnats du monde, six participations aux Jeux olympiques, cinq médailles olympiques et quatre médailles d’or olympiques, Hayley Wickenheiser est une légende sportive et une chef de file sur la glace et ailleurs. Elle a récemment été reconnue par ses pairs avec son intronisation au Temple de la renommée du hockey. Sa connaissance du hockey est très respectée dans tous les aspects du jeu, tant chez les hommes que chez les femmes. Elle est la première femme de l’histoire à avoir été joueuse et entraîneuse pour quatre camps de préparation de la LNH avec les Flyers de Philadelphie, les Oilers d’Edmonton et les Maple Leafs de Toronto. Elle détient toujours le record du plus grand nombre d’aides, de points et de buts pour l’équipe nationale féminine canadienne qu’elle a rejointe dès l’âge de 15 ans et où elle a mené une carrière pendant 23 ans. Elle a pris sa retraite en 2017 pour entamer une carrière en médecine, matière qu’elle étudie présentement à l’Université de Calgary. Elle est membre de l’Ordre du Canada, membre de la commission des athlètes du CIO, fondatrice du festival mondial de hockey féminin Wickenheiser de Canadian Tire, vice-présidente du comité de candidature de Calgary pour 2026 et, surtout, mère de son grand garçon Noah.

Dre JILLIAN HORTON est une éducatrice médicale, autrice, musicienne, et baladodiffuseuse primée. Ancienne doyenne associée de l’Université du Manitoba, elle a soigné des milliers de patients dans un hôpital du centre-ville et fournit maintenant des soins aux personnes vivant avec une dépendance. En 2020, elle reçoit le prestigieux prix AFMC–Gold Foundation Humanism Award, qui la reconnaît comme chef de file nationale en éducation médicale et en soins prodigués avec bienveillance et compassion. Comme enseignante de méditation axée sur la pleine conscience, elle est consultée par des médecins à toutes les étapes de leurs carrières, et dirige l’élaboration de la programmation nationale en santé des médecins pour Joule, une filiale de l’Association médicale canadienne. Ses textes sur la médecine sont souvent publiés dans le LA Times, le Globe and Mail et le Toronto Star, et son premier livre, We Are All Perfectly Fine, paraîtra chez HarperCollins Canada en février 2021.

Ce spectacle en direct respecte les directives de santé et de sécurité de la région dans laquelle il a été enregistré.

Hayley Wickenheiser © Crédit photo: Dave Holland
Menu