November 2020 update on live performances and events at the NAC.
Paul Adams / Dr. Sinclair

Words Matter: The Impact of Compassion

Arts, Medicine and #Life

8:00 pm EST
Online livestream
This event has passed
Paul Adams / Dr. Sinclair
Authors Talks

Livestream

When journalist Paul Adam’s wife, Suzanne, was dealing with advanced cancer, they found themselves caught in a well-intentioned system that fell short of providing not only person-centred care, but also basic answers to fundamental questions about how Suzanne’s life might end. Of the countless healthcare professionals they met, one found the right balance of both candour and compassion. In the middle of their ordeal, that single, 30-minute encounter brought them comfort that lasted long after that day.

This talk will reunite Paul with that physician, neurosurgeon Dr. John Sinclair, illuminating the long and lasting impact of moments of compassion in clinical care, debunking the notion that compassion fatigue is an inevitable consequence of a life in medicine, and helping to chart a path forward for patients and healthcare providers looking for more humanity in medicine.


JILLIAN HORTON, M.D., is an award-winning medical educator, writer, musician and podcaster. A former Associate Dean at the University of Manitoba, she has cared for thousands of patients in an inner-city hospital, and now works to provide care to people living with addiction. She is the winner of the prestigious 2020 AFMC–Gold Foundation Humanism award, recognizing her as a national thought leader in medical education and the delivery of compassionate and humane care. As a teacher of mindfulness, she is sought after by doctors at all stages of their careers, and she leads the development of national programming in physician health for Joule, a subsidiary of the Canadian Medical Association. Her writing about medicine has appeared frequently in the LA Times, the Globe and Mail, and the Toronto Star, and her first book, We Are All Perfectly Fine, will be released by HarperCollins Canada in Feb 2021.

PAUL ADAMS was the primary family caregiver to his wife, Suzanne Szukits (pronounced sue-kits), a Canadian diplomat, who was diagnosed with breast cancer in 2012 at the age of 52. She died of the complications of metastatic breast cancer in September 2016.  Since Suzanne’s death, Adams has written about palliative care in publications such as The Walrus, The Ottawa Citizen, Policy Options and Healthy Debate. He has served as a family representative on palliative and end-of-life advisory bodies with the Canadian Partnership Against Cancer and the Ottawa Hospital. He is a former professor of journalism at Carleton University and a veteran of CBC Television, CBC Radio and the Globe and Mail, where he worked as mostly as a political reporter. He is the author of several books. His first was Summer of the Heart: Saving Alexandre, the story of his son’s struggle with heart disease, which was short-listed for the Writers’ Trust biography prize. He also served for several years on the Journalism Oversight Committee of the Canadian Medical Association Journal.

DR. JOHN SINCLAIR is the Director of Cerebrovascular Surgery and the Director of Neurosurgical Oncology at The Ottawa Hospital. He is Co-Director of the CNS Stereotactic Radiosurgery Fellowship and Director of the Neurosurgical Oncology Fellowship Program. Currently his primary focus is the development a brain tumour centre at The Ottawa Hospital which will provide a multidisciplinary approach to treatment of brain tumours that will significantly improve patient care as well as foster education and research.

Paul Adams / Dr. Sinclair
Dr. Jillian Horton
Menu

Événements et spectacles en direct au CNA – mise à jour de novembre 2020.
Paul Adams / Dr Sinclair

Les mots sont importants : l’impact de la compassion

Arts, Medicine and #Life

20 h 00 HNE
Diffusion en direct
Cet événement est passé
Paul Adams / Dr Sinclair
Littérature Causeries

Diffusion en direct

**L’évenement se déroulera principalement en anglais**

Lorsque l’épouse du journaliste Paul Adam, Suzanne, était aux prises avec un cancer avancé, le couple a été confronté à un système bien-intentionné qui n’était toutefois pas en mesure d’offrir des soins axés sur la personne, ni même des réponses élémentaires à des questions fondamentales sur la fin de vie potentielle de Suzanne. Sur tous les innombrables professionnels de la santé rencontrés, un seul a su trouver la bonne combinaison de candeur et de compassion. Cette rencontre unique de 30 minutes au cœur de leurs épreuves a apporté un réconfort au couple qui s’est prolongé bien au-delà de la journée.

La discussion réunira Paul et ce médecin qui l’a tant marqué, le docteur John Sinclair, pour éclairer l’impact durable des moments de compassion dans les soins cliniques, réfuter la notion que l’usure de compassion est une conséquence inévitable de la vie en médecine et dresser un plan pour les patients et les professionnels de la santé qui recherchent plus d’humanité en médecine.


Dre JILLIAN HORTON est une éducatrice médicale, autrice, musicienne, et baladodiffuseuse primée. Ancienne doyenne associée de l’Université du Manitoba, elle a soigné des milliers de patients dans un hôpital du centre-ville et fournit maintenant des soins aux personnes vivant avec une dépendance. En 2020, elle reçoit le prestigieux prix AFMC–Gold Foundation Humanism Award, qui la reconnaît comme chef de file nationale en éducation médicale et en soins prodigués avec bienveillance et compassion. Comme enseignante de méditation axée sur la pleine conscience, elle est consultée par des médecins à toutes les étapes de leurs carrières, et dirige l’élaboration de la programmation nationale en santé des médecins pour Joule, une filiale de l’Association médicale canadienne. Ses textes sur la médecine sont souvent publiés dans le LA Times, le Globe and Mail et le Toronto Star, et son premier livre, We Are All Perfectly Fine, paraîtra chez HarperCollins Canada en février 2021.

PAUL ADAMS était le principal aidant familial pour son épouse Suzanne Szukits (prononcé sue-kits), une diplomate canadienne qui a reçu un diagnostic de cancer du sein en 2012 à l’âge de 52 ans. Elle est décédée des complications liées au cancer du sein métastatique en septembre 2016. Depuis la mort de Suzanne, Adams a écrit au sujet des soins palliatifs pour des publications comme The Walrus, The Ottawa Citizen, Policy Options et Healthy Debate. Il a siégé comme représentant des familles sur des comités consultatifs au sujet des soins palliatifs et de fin de vie avec le Partenariat canadien contre le cancer et l’Hôpital d’Ottawa.Il a enseigné le journalisme à l’université Carleton et est un habitué de CBC Television, de CBC Radio et du Globe and Mail, où il travaillait principalement comme journaliste politique. Il est l’auteur de plusieurs livres. Son premier, Summer of the Heart: Saving Alexandre, qui raconte les épreuves de son fils atteint d’une maladie du cœur, a été finaliste dans la catégorie biographie du prix Writers’ Trust. Il a également siégé plusieurs années au comité de supervision journalistique du Journal de l’Association médicale canadienne.    

DR JOHN SINCLAIR est directeur de chirurgie cérébrovasculaire et directeur d’oncologie neurochirurgicale à l’Hôpital d’Ottawa. Il est codirecteur de la Bourse de recherche en radiochirurgie stéréotaxique de CNS et directeur du programme de bourses en oncologie neurochirurgicale. Il se consacre présentement à la mise sur pied d’un centre pour tumeurs cérébrales à l’Hôpital d’Ottawa qui permettrait une approche pluridisciplinaire de traitement des tumeurs cérébrales et améliorerait considérablement les soins aux patients, ainsi que les possibilités d’éducation et de recherche.​

Paul Adams / Dr Sinclair
Dr. Jillian Horton
Menu