NAC is extending performance and event cancellations and postponements until August 31
Alexander Shelley and the NAC Orchestra © Rémi Thériault

Truth in Our Times

NAC Orchestra at Carnegie Hall’s Stern Auditorium / Perelman Stage

Alexander Shelley and the NAC Orchestra © Rémi Thériault
Special Events Music Classical music
  • Nicole Lizée Zeiss After Dark: SESQUIE for Canada’s 150th
  • Korngold Violin Concerto
  • Shostakovich Symphony No. 9
  • Philip Glass New Work (Title tba)

The April 28, 2021 concert program at Carnegie Hall’s Stern Auditorium / Perelman Stage will open with Canadian composer Nicole Lizée’s Zeiss after Dark which evokes the cinematographic effect of the Zeiss lens used to film intimate scenes lit only by candles. The piece will initiate the audience to the program’s theme through a contemplation of perspectives and filters.

It will be followed by two works that speak to the idea of freedom of speech, disruption and politics: Korngold’s Violin Concerto and Shostakovich’s Symphony No. 9. Austrian-Jewish composer Erich Korngold fled to the United States during World War II where he stood staunchly against oppression and became an influential composer for Hollywood films. James Ehnes will perform his Violin Concerto, a victorious response to the fall of the Nazi regime that also marked the return of Korngold’s music to the concert hall.

In another act of defiance, Shostakovich’s Symphony No 9. was not the grand work celebrating Stalin’s regime that the dictatorship had expected. Instead, Shostakovich took a subversive, satirical approach, delivering a spirited work filled with humour rather than heroism. The undercurrent of disruption was noted and the work was banned for the rest of Stalin’s life.

The program will conclude with the U.S. premiere performance of a new orchestral work by internationally renowned composer Philip Glass. Commissioned by the NAC Orchestra on the theme of Truth in our Times, this work will be a tribute to renowned Canadian-born journalist and ABC news anchor Peter Jennings who was a trustee of Carnegie Hall during his years in NYC. Peter Jennings also championed Canadian artists and became the founding director of the American chapter of the Friends of the NAC Orchestra.

Alexander Shelley and the NAC Orchestra © Rémi Thériault
Philip Glass
James Ehnes © B. Ealovega
Nicole Lizée © Murray Lightburn
Menu

Le CNA prolonge les annulations et les reports d'événements jusqu'au 30 juin
Alexander Shelley et l'Orchestre du CNA © Rémi Thériault

La vérité à l'ère moderne

L'Orchestre du CNA à l’auditorium Stern/scène Perelman à Carnegie Hall

Alexander Shelley et l'Orchestre du CNA © Rémi Thériault
Événements spéciaux Musique Musique classique
  • Nicole Lizée Zeiss After Dark : projet SESQUIE pour le 150e anniversaire de la Confédération
  • Korngold Concerto pour violon
  • Chostakovitch Symphonie no 9
  • Philip Glass (Nouvelle œuvre – À déterminer)

Le concert du 28 avril 2021 à l’auditorium Stern/scène Perelman à Carnegie Hall s’ouvrira sur Zeiss after Dark. Cette pièce de la Canadienne Nicole Lizée, qui évoque l’effet cinématographique des lentilles Zeiss utilisées pour filmer des scènes intimes à la lueur des chandelles, introduira le thème de la soirée par une réflexion sur les perspectives et les filtres.

Suivront ensuite deux œuvres dont l’histoire est liée à la liberté d’expression, aux perturbations et à la politique : le Concerto pour violon de Korngold et la Symphonie no 9 de Chostakovitch. Après avoir trouvé refuge aux États-Unis durant la Deuxième Guerre mondiale, le compositeur juif d’origine autrichienne Erich Korngold s’est élevé contre l’oppression et est devenu un compositeur influent à Hollywood. James Ehnes jouera son Concerto pour violon, réponse victorieuse à la chute du régime nazi, qui a aussi marqué le retour de la musique de Korngold dans les salles de concert.

Autre acte de défi, la Symphonie no 9 de Chostakovitch est loin de l’œuvre grandiose exaltant le régime de Staline que le dictateur attendait. Le compositeur a plutôt choisi une approche subversive et satirique, et a privilégié l’humour et la vivacité plutôt que l’héroïsme. Le courant perturbateur qui sous-tend sa symphonie n’est pas passé inaperçu, et elle a été bannie jusqu’à la mort de Staline.

Le programme se conclut par la première américaine d’une nouvelle œuvre orchestrale du compositeur mondialement connu Philip Glass. Commandée par l’Orchestre du CNA sur le thème de la vérité à l’ère moderne, la pièce rend hommage au défunt Peter Jennings, ex-chef d’antenne de la chaîne ABC qui a aussi siégé au conseil du Carnegie Hall. Peter Jennings, qui était d’origine canadienne, travaillait aussi pour les artistes de son pays natal. Il fut le directeur fondateur de la section américaine des Amis de l’Orchestre du CNA.

Alexander Shelley et l'Orchestre du CNA © Rémi Thériault
Philip Glass
James Ehnes © B. Ealovega
Nicole Lizée © Murray Lightburn
Menu