NAC is extending performance and event cancellations and postponements until June 30
Son de Lula

VivaFest 2020

Son de Lula

featuring Magdelys Savigne and Lady Son

Son de Lula
Music World music

An all star line up of Cuban Canadian talent will bring a taste of Lula Lounge in Toronto to Ottawa audiences, performing traditional Cuban genres such as son, guaracha and changui alongside some dance-inspiring originals. With Pablosky Rosales on tres guitar, Roberto Riveron on bass and Rufino Maceiro on trumpet, Son de Lula contributors have recorded, performed and toured with the likes of Cubanismo, Klimax, Isaac Delgado and Chucho Valdez.

Percussionist, vocalist and composer Magdelys Savigne is co-leader of the Juno-nominated Afro-Cuban roots and jazz group OKAN, and a Grammy nominee and JUNO winner for her work with Jane Bunnett and Maqueque. Hailing from from Santiago de Cuba, Magdelys recently performed at the sold out world premiere of Oscar Peterson’s Afrika Suite at Koerner Hall in Toronto with John Clayton and Christian McBride.

One of the most arresting voices on the Canadian music scene, often drawing comparisons the legendary Celia Cruz and Cesaria Evora, Lady Son (aka Yeti Ajasin), brings a powerful yet subtle contemporary voice to the rich vocal and percussion traditions of Afro-Cuban music. Having shared the stage with Oscar D’Leon, Los Van Van, and Ricardo Lemvo, Lady's Son debut album, Semillas (2009) was recognized with a New Music Award for Best World Album.

video: GUAGUANCO TORONTO - LADY SON
GUAGUANCO TORONTO - LADY SON
Son de Lula
Menu

Le CNA prolonge les annulations et les reports d'événements jusqu'au 30 juin
Son de Lula

VivaFest 2020

Son de Lula

avec Magdelys Savigne et Lady Son

Cet événement est passé
Son de Lula
Musique Musique du monde

La crème de la crème du talent cubain canadien présentera un aperçu du Lula Lounge torontois au public d’Ottawa en interprétant des genres cubains traditionnels tels que le son, le guaracha et le changui, ainsi que des compositions originales entraînantes. Avec Pablosky Rosales à la guitare tres, Roberto Riveron à la basse et Rufino Maceiro à la trompette, les participants à Son de Lula ont accompagné des artistes renommés tels que Cubanismo, Klimax, Isaac Delgado et Chucho Valdez, sur scène et en studio.

La percussionniste, chanteuse et compositrice Magdelys Savigne co-dirige le groupe roots et jazz afro-cubain OKAN, finaliste aux JUNO, et a remporté un JUNO, en plus d’être finaliste aux GRAMMY, pour son travail avec Jane Bunnett et Maqueque. Originaire de Santiago de Cuba, Magdelys a participé à la première mondiale de la Suite Afrika d’Oscar Peterson, présenté à guichets fermés au Koerner Hall de Toronto avec John Clayton et Christian McBride.

Dotée de l’une des voix les plus spectaculaires de la scène musicale canadienne, qui s’attire souvent des comparaisons aux légendaires Celia Cruz and Cesaria Evora, Lady Son (alias Yeti Ajasin) contribue sa voix contemporaine puissante, mais subtile aux riches traditions de percussion et de chant de la musique afro-cubaine. Elle a partagé la scène avec Oscar D’Leon, Los Van Van et Ricardo Lemvo, et a vu son premier album, Semillas, récompensé d’un New Music Award pour meilleur album de musique du monde en 2009.  

video: GUAGUANCO TORONTO - LADY SON
GUAGUANCO TORONTO - LADY SON
Son de Lula
Menu