Ottawa Jazz Orchestra

The Baron and the High Priest

Ottawa Jazz Orchestra

Ottawa Jazz Orchestra
Music Jazz

Bassist, Charles Mingus, known, as the Baron, and pianist, Thelonious Monk, known as the High Priest, were two of the most colourful and innovative figures in jazz. Each was a larger-than-life personality, an innovative composer, and played their respective instrument with a very unique and individual style.

In this program, featuring a septet of musicians from the orchestra, we celebrate Mingus and Monk’s contributions to bebop and beyond. Expect an offbeat, unpredictable, and thoroughly rousing evening of jazz exploration.

The Ottawa Jazz Orchestra brings together many of the capital city region’s finest jazz and symphony musicians to present highly entertaining and education presentations of jazz. For almost fifteen years the orchestra has delivered unique programmes covering the gamut of jazz, earning acclaim from audiences and critics alike. The core of the orchestra’s annual programming is its season of concerts at the National Arts Centre. This concert is part of the orchestra’s fourteenth season.

Tickets $42. Buy the OJO season package and get tickets for all six evening shows for $220 and save $32. Only available for purchase at the NAC Box Office.
 

video: Ottawa Jazz Orchestra
Ottawa Jazz Orchestra
Ottawa Jazz Orchestra
Ottawa Jazz Orchestra
Menu

Ottawa Jazz Orchestra

Le Baron et le Grand prêtre

Ottawa Jazz Orchestra

Ottawa Jazz Orchestra
Musique Jazz

Le bassiste Charles Mingus, connu comme le Baron, et le pianiste Thelonious Monk, connu comme le Grand prêtre, étaient deux des personnages les plus colorés et les plus innovateurs du jazz. Tous deux avaient une personnalité plus grande que nature, une approche innovatrice à la composition, et un don pour jouer leur instrument respectif avec un style unique et inimitable.  

Dans ce programme, mettant en vedette un septuor de musiciens de l’orchestre, nous célébrons les contributions de Mingus et Monk au be-bop et plus encore. Vous pouvez vous attendre à une soirée d'exploration jazz éclectique, imprévisible et tout à fait stimulante.

L’Orchestre de jazz d’Ottawa réunit plusieurs des plus grands musiciens de jazz et de symphonie de la capitale nationale pour des prestations de jazz à la fois éducatives et extrêmement divertissantes. Depuis près de quinze ans, l’orchestre offre des programmes qui couvrent toute la gamme de jazz, s’attirant les éloges tant du public que des critiques. Le cœur de la programmation annuelle de l’orchestre est sans contredit sa saison de concerts au Centre national des Arts. Ce concert s’inscrit dans la quatorzième saison de l’orchestre.

Billets au coût de 42 $. Procurez-vous le forfait de saison de l’OJO et obtenez des billets pour les six spectacles en soirée au coût de 220 $, une économie de 32 $.

video: Ottawa Jazz Orchestra
Ottawa Jazz Orchestra
Ottawa Jazz Orchestra
Ottawa Jazz Orchestra
Menu