Noon-hour Concerts: October 2

NAC Orchestra 50th Anniversary Celebration

Music Classical music
  • Borodin Quartet No. 2
  • Alexina Louie Quartet No. 2
  • Mendelssohn Capriccio in E minor for string quartet

This concert, the third in our noon-hour series celebrating the NAC Orchestra at 50 years young, features more outstanding young artists who have passed through the Orchestra’s elite music training programs.

Sofia-Marie Bergeron (violin) is a 2018–2019 alumnus of the University of Ottawa’s arm of the Institute for Orchestral Studies, a special stream for outstanding students of strings. Tovin Allers (violin), participated in the precollege Young Artists Program (YAP) in 2016. Jacob van der Sloot (viola) is an alumni of the 2011 and 2012 precollege YAP and the 2016 and 2017 senior YAP. In 2018, he won the Friends of NACO Award in the NAC Orchestra’s Bursary Competition. Kitty Chan (cello) was a participant in the University of Ottawa’s stream of the Institute for Orchestral Studies in 2017–18, and again in 2018-19.

We also tip our hats to the composers, both contemporary and traditional, who make it possible for these young performers to shine. Borodin’s Quartet No. 2 is beautiful and romantic -- and one of the last pieces he wrote as he devoted more and more of his time to the pursuit of his equally successful career in chemistry. Vancouver-born composer Alexina Louie is a 2002 recipient of the NAC Composers Award, and her Quartet No. 2 premiered in 2003 at the Great Composers Festival in Ottawa. Felix Mendelssohn’s Capriccio for String Quartet is full of life and overtly passionate, with its richly layered melodic lines – a perfect vehicle for the talent and enthusiasm of these young artists.

The NAC and the uOttawa School of Music celebrate their 50 years this year.
50 years of sharing music and moments, students and teachers; of exchanging knowledge, experiences and spaces; and of championing a common vision of musical excellence.

The NAC’s 50th anniversary events and programs are made possible with support from Gail Asper, O.C., O.M., LL.D. and Michael Paterson, Bonnie and John Buhler, Alice and Grant Burton, Margaret Fountain, C.M., DFA (h) and David Fountain, C.M., Elinor Gill Ratcliffe, C.M., O.N.L., LL.D. (hc). Janice and Earle O’Born, Gail O’Brien, LL.D. and David O’Brien, O.C., and Dasha Shenkman, OBE, Hon RCM.
 

Performance is approximately 1 hour with no intermission.

Menu

Concerts sur l’heure du midi : 2 octobre

Célébration du 50e anniversaire de l'Orchestre du CNA

Cet événement est passé
Musique Musique classique
  • Borodin Quatuor no 2
  • Alexina Louie Quatuor no 2
  • Mendelssohn Capriccio en mi mineur pour quatuor à cordes

Ce concert, le troisième de notre série de concerts gratuits offerts sur l’heure du dîner pour souligner le 50e anniversaire de l’Orchestre du CNA, présente d’autres jeunes artistes exceptionnels qui sont passés par les programmations élites de formation musicale de l’Orchestre.  

Sofia-Marie Bergeron (violon) a participé en 2018–2019 à la composante de l’Institut de musique orchestrale offerte par l’Université d’Ottawa, un volet extraordinaire pour les étudiants de cordes exceptionnels. Tovin Allers (violon) a participé au volet préuniversitaire du Programme des jeunes artistes (PJA) en 2016. Jacob van der Sloot (alto) a participé au volet préuniversitaire du PJA en 2011 et 2012, ainsi qu’au volet avancé du PJA en 2016 et 2017. En 2018, il a remporté le Prix des amis de l’OCNA dans le cadre du Concours de la Bourse de l’Orchestre du CNA. Kitty Chan (violoncelle) a participé à la composante de l’Institut de musique orchestrale offerte par l’Université d’Ottawa en 2017-2018, puis à nouveau en 2018–2019.

Nous levons également notre chapeau aux compositeurs, contemporains et traditionnels, qui permettent à ces jeunes interprètes de briller. Le Quatuor no 2 de Borodin est beau et romantique; il s’agit d’une des dernières œuvres qu’il a composée avant de concentrer ses énergies sur sa carrière de chimiste, où il connaîtra autant de succès. La compositrice Alexina Louie, née à Vancouver, a reçu le Prix de composition du CNA en 2002, et son Quatuor no 2 a été présenté pour la première fois au Festival des grands compositeurs à Ottawa en 2003. Le Capriccio pour quatuor à cordes de Felix Mendelssohn est vibrant et passionné, avec des mélodies richement étoffées : le morceau par excellence pour canaliser le talent et l’enthousiasme de ces jeunes artistes.

Le CNA et l'école de musique uOttawa célèbrent leurs 50 ans cette année.
Cinquante ans de partage de moments musicaux, d'élèves et d'enseignants ; d'échange de connaissances, d'expériences et d'espaces ; et de défense d'une vision commune d'excellence musicale.

Les activités et la programmation du 50e anniversaire du CNA ont été rendues possibles grâce au soutien de Gail Asper, O.C., O.M., LL.D., et Michael Paterson; Bonnie et John Buhler; Alice et Grant Burton; Margaret Fountain, C.M., DFA (h), et David Fountain, C.M.; Elinor Gill Ratcliffe, C.M., O.N.L., LL.D. (hc); Janice et Earle O’Born; Gail O’Brien, LL.D., et David O’Brien, O.C.; et Dasha Shenkman, OBE, Hon RCM.

Durée approximative de 1 heur sans entracte.

Menu