Talks

In the spirit of ideas worth spreading, TEDx is a program of local, self-organized events that bring people together to share a TED-like experience. At a TEDx event, TED Talks video and live speakers combine to spark deep discussion and connection. These local, self-organized events are branded TEDx, where x = independently organized TED event. The TED Conference provides general guidance for the TEDx program, but individual TEDx events are self-organized. (Subject to certain rules and regulations.)

For more information, please visit: https://tedxottawa.ca/

Frank O’Dea

CO-FOUNDER, SECOND CUP
OFFICER OF THE ORDER OF CANADA, HUMANITARIAN

Frank O’Dea is a celebrated businessman who has launched and led a number of successful not-for-profits and businesses, including the Second Cup and Street Kids International. He is an inspiring speaker who shares his lessons-learned from his days of living on the streets to his receiving the Order of Canada. It is a wonderful, educational and moving story.

In his early teens, Frank O’Dea’s life went off the rails into a downward spiral. By the time he was 21, he was living in 50-cent-a-night flop houses in Toronto’s bowery district. At 23 years of age, with the courage to hope for a better life, and the spirit to forge ahead, Frank began the long road back. Fighting all of those obstacles that hold back the homeless, the impoverished and the destitute, he overcame and rejoined society.

Within a few short years, he co-founded Second Cup, which soon became the largest chain of gourmet coffees and teas in the country. Building on that success, he co-found Proshred Security (now Iron Mountain Canada), a company that pioneered the entire industry of on-site document destruction. He grew that company into an international organization with operations in Canada, Europe and the United States.

Even as a struggling entrepreneur, Frank took steps to give back to the community. He began serving on the boards of charities and not-for-profit organizations. He co-found Street Kids International, an organization developed to help homeless children in third world countries, through education and self-reliance programs. He became the founding Chair of War Child (Canada), an organization that provides assistance against suffering and abuse for children in war affected countries. Frank went on to launch the Canadian Landmine Foundation, an organization that raises funds and awareness for the dismantling of minefields around the world. With support from the United Nations, the US State Department, External Affairs Canada, he went on to initiate that organization’s most successful, worldwide annual fund-raising program, “Night of a Thousand Dinners”, with participation of thousands of donors from some 29 countries.

Frank’s achievements are, of course, a work in progress for which he has received much public recognition. He has received two honorary university degrees and is an Officer of the Order of Canada. He is currently a member of the Advisory Committee of World Financial Group and is the Chair of Cuso International, a development agency operating in 22 countries. This incredibly inspiring story of resilience and triumph in the face of adversity is retold in his captivating autobiography, “When All You Have Is Hope”.

Amira Elghawaby

JOURNALIST AND HUMAN RIGHTS ADVOCATE

Amira Elghawaby is an award-winning journalist and human rights advocate. Along with frequent appearances on Canadian and international news networks, Amira has written and produced stories and commentary for CBC Radio, the Ottawa Citizen, the Toronto Star, the Literary Review of Canada, and the Globe and Mail. Amira spent five years promoting the civil liberties of Canadian Muslims as human rights officer and later, as director of communications, at the National Council of Canadian Muslims (NCCM) between 2012 to the fall of 2017. She is currently involved with several initiatives to promote civic engagement in diverse communities, including as a founding board member of the Canadian Anti-Hate Network, the Silk Road Institute and as an advisor to the Muslim Fellowship in Toronto. Amira obtained an honours degree in Journalism and Law from Carleton University in 2001.

Steve Day

FOUNDER CANADIAN NATIONAL COUNTER-TERRORIST TASK FORCE COMMANDER

Steve is the founder and president of Reticle Ventures Canada Incorporated (Reticle), a premium security services consultancy, training provider and prime contractor. He is passionate about National Security and Public Safety issues and remains committed to supporting the men and women who protect our way of life.

As a Special Operations Assaulter Officer and Army Military Engineer Steve was fortunate to have had a diversified career with a variety of operational deployments adding significant depth to the breadth of his experience. He is one of a select group of combat leaders that have multiple deployments conducting global operations that span the entire spectrum of conflict.

He has extensive tactical experience having conducted multiple operations within the following mission sets: Humanitarian Relief and Disaster Recovery, UN Chapter 7, Non-Combatant Evacuation, Counter-Insurgency, as well as domestic and international Counter-Terrorism (CT) operations. His experience as a commander and senior staff officer in both national and international headquarters has provided him with unique insights into the interagency domain.

Steve completed selection and training for Canada’s national counter-terrorism unit – Joint Task Force Two (JTF2). He was an Assault and Specialist Squadron Commander for 5 years, a senior special operations & CT staff officer for 3 years and was the unit Commanding Officer and Base Commander from 2009-2011. He was the National CT Task Force Commander for the Vancouver 2010 Olympic Games, the 2010 G8/G20 Summits, as well as other National Security operational deployments.

He holds a Bachelor of Engineering Degree, a Master of Defence Studies and a Master of Strategic Studies. He lives with his wife and daughter in Kingston, Ontario.

Mitchell Beer

PUBLISHER, THE ENERGY MIX AND PRESIDENT, SMARTER SHIFT

Mitchell Beer is Publisher of The Energy Mix, a thrice-weekly e-digest on climate change, energy, and carbon-free futures, and President of Smarter Shift Inc., an Ottawa-based content and communications firm. He’s been involved with renewable energy and energy efficiency since 1977, with climate change since 1997. He’s currently interested in ways of building wider, louder public demand for fast action on climate solutions, starting from the interests and priorities people already woke up with this morning. One of his proudest moments was building a model wind turbine out of wooden stir sticks with his then-11-year-old daughter, and improv theatre practices are often the best part of his week.

Guy Laflamme

EXECUTIVE
DIRECTOR AND PRODUCER OF OTTAWA 2017

Guy Laflamme has been producing major events and commemorations for over 30 years. Guy is now invited as guest speaker in Asia, Europe and across North America including presentations as part of the TEDx conference series. From 2014 to 2018 he was the Executive Director and Producer of Ottawa 2017, leading the production of 12 full months and over 200 events and experiences to celebrate Canada 150th Anniversary. Ottawa 2017 was the biggest celebration in Ottawa’s history, with an economic impact of over 250 million dollars and 11 million participants.

Mr. Laflamme has produced some of the most impressive large-scale events that Ottawa has ever seen, including the Red Bull Crashed Ice, La Machine- a monumental ambulatory theater production attended by close to one million people, Ottawa Welcomes the World, Mìwàte a sound and light show to pay tribute to Indigenous people, Kontinuum the world first underground multimedia production, the Red Bull Global Rallycross, Stanley cup 125th celebration, Ignite 150 a series of artistic stunts, Canada’s Table, Agri 150 and Sky Lounge. Those events have animated the city of Ottawa with a new energy and changed the way people perceive Ottawa, both throughout the country, and around the world.

In addition to his role of head of celebrations for Ottawa 2017, he was also the Chair of the International Festival and Events Association in 2016, and served as Chair of the 2017, 2012 and 2002 JUNO Awards Host Committee for Canada’s music industry celebration. As Senior Vice-President of the National Capital Commission he was head of major commemorations and monuments, was responsible for official residences (residences of the Prime Minister of Canada and the Governor General), while managing communications and visitor services for Canada’s Capital. Mr. Laflamme has been guest speaker in South Korea, Dubai, Romania, Brazil and in the United-States, he experienced and assessed major events in over 25 countries.

His previous successes have included Canada Day Celebrations, Winterlude, Mosaika (a spectacular Sound and Light Show on Parliament Hill) as the Senior Vice President of Capital Experience with the National Capital Commission. He conceived and produced the spectacular H2K millennium show for Casino Lac Leamy, and seen by over one billion people on the international TV broadcast Today 2000. He also acted as Chair of the Genie Awards Host Committee in 2009, Canada’s film industry annual gala.

He has been a professor with the University of Ottawa’s Telfer School of Management and with the Executive MBA program for 25 years and has also been teaching for over eight years with the University of Bucharest Business School. With his university students, Mr. Laflamme lead a humanitarian project “Making Niger Our Business” to deliver half a million dollars in humanitarian benefits to Niger. Over 75 local charity groups were also provided with business plans created with his EMBA students. Guy Laflamme was Chair of the United Way campaign for the Outaouais in 2011.

Guy Laflamme was named Tourism person of the year by Tourism Ottawa and Tourism Outaouais, was recognized as the marketing person of the year by the Montreal Marketing Association. In 2017, he received a lifetime achievement award from the Travel Industry Association of Ontario, was named by Radio-Canada- Le Droit as the 2017 Ottawa person of the year. The University of Ottawa recognized him as the 2017 Alumni of the year and was awarded the Order of Ottawa. Guy Laflamme and Ottawa 2017 received 15 awards from the International Festivals and Events Associations in 2016-2017.

Dan Hendry

SUSTAINABLE INITIATIVES COORDINATOR

Dan strives toward promoting sustainable initiatives for the Limestone District School Board, and is the manager of community based learning & innovation at St. Lawrence College. His concern for the environment is what drives him to take initiative in promoting sustainable solutions within the Kingston community. He continues to engage in initiatives that promote positive sustainable change throughout the Kingston community. His combined interest in sustainability, innovation, entrepreneurship, student mentorship, and community have been well integrated into his personal, academic, and professional experiences. Dan is continuously seeking new opportunities to connect with like-minded professionals who engage in sustainable & innovative initiatives within the community.

Keisha & Teagan Simpson

FOUNDERS
LIVE LIFE UNFILTERED MOVEMENT

22-year-old twin sisters Keisha and Teagan Simpson grew up struggling with body image, living up to society’s unrealistic beauty expectations, and constant comparison. After they realized that the majority of young women shared the same struggles, the sisters co-founded Live Life Unfiltered (LLU); a social media movement where brave and honest young women share how social media often makes them feel insecure about their own bodies, relationships and lives. @LiveLife_Unfiltered and its hashtag, #AsSheIs, are to remind us that behind each ‘perfect’ photo is a young woman who shares common struggles and insecurities. LLU’s #AsSheIs photo challenge has had over 1000+ participants in 14+ countries, demonstrating how willing young women are to changing how we interact with social media.

Mathieu Fleury

OTTAWA CITY COUNCILLOR

Mathieu was born and raised in Ottawa. In University he studied Human Kinetics, getting a Masters from the University of Ottawa with a diverse background in sports policy, project management, and health promotion. He was recently elected to his my third term as City Councillor for the best community in our City – Rideau-Vanier. In his role, he actively represents three distinct communities: Lowertown, Sandy Hill, and Vanier. In his 9th year on City Council, each year, Mathieu has sat on Community and Protective Services Committee which deals with the City’s housing and homelessness issues. As Chair of the Board for Ottawa Community Housing and Councillor for a Ward affected by homelessness, housing is top of mind for Mathieu. OCH is the City’s largest landlord with more than 15 000 units which have become a true mix of the diversity that we find in Ottawa today.

Marcus Miller

MARCUS THE ARTYST AND CO-FOUNDER OF MATH+MUSIC

Marcus Miller began his studies in saxophone at age nine and, with the help of World Renown Saxophonist Bruce Williams (Roy Hargrove, World Saxophone Quartet), he developed a passion that put him on stage professionally at 13. With gifts extending beyond the music, he graduated from Harvard University with a degree in Mathematics. After a short stint at a multibillion dollar hedge fund he moved to New York City to pursue music. He soon developed a reputation as a versatile and virtuosic player, while studying music production and engineering under Grammy-Winning Engineer “Bassy” Bob Brockman (Notorious B.I.G, Herbie Hancock, D’Angelo).

Marcus has performed at the Obama White House, Madison Square Garden, The World Economic Forum at Davos, The Montreux Jazz Festival, and TEDSummit 2019 in Edinburgh, The Late Show with Stephen Colbert alongside Jon Batiste, Carnegie Hall, as well as recorded with Benny Blanco and Ryan Tedder. In addition, he is a speaker at the New Jersey Association of Music Educators, discussing music production and education, and was noted as an Artist of Distinction by the state of New Jersey.

Marcus maintains his interest in mathematics and physics through his project, Math + Music, an international public arts series which aims to use music as a way to explore technical and creative ideas. Since its inception he has spoken at the University of Michigan, Hong Kong, and secured a residency at the National Museum of Mathematics in New York City. His goal is to inspire the world to think outside of the box.

Menu

Causeries

Dans l’esprit des idées qui méritent d’être diffusées, les événements TEDx sont organisés localement de façon indépendante et permettent aux gens de partager une expérience de type TED. Lors des TEDx, des vidéos TEDTalks sont projetés et des conférenciers présentent sur place afin d’inspirer et provoquer des échanges au sein du groupe. Ces événements locaux sont appelés TEDx, où le x signifie un « événement TED organisé indépendamment. » Le programme TED procure des lignes directrices générales, mais les TEDx sont organisés localement. (Un certain nombre de critères et de règles doivent être respectés.)

Pour plus de renseignements, visitez : https://tedxottawa.ca/ (site Web en anglais seulement)

Frank O’Dea

COFONDATEUR, SECOND CUP
OFFICIER DE L’ORDER DU CANADA, HUMANITAIRE

Frank O’Dea est un homme d’affaires reconnu qui a lancé et dirigé plusieurs entreprises et organismes à but non lucratif, notamment Second Cup et Street Kids International. Il est un conférencier inspirant qui partage les leçons qu'il a apprises pendant sa vie comme sans-abri jusqu’à la réception de l'Ordre du Canada. C'est une histoire merveilleuse, éducative et émouvante.

Au début de son adolescence, la vie de Frank O’Dea a dérapé. À l’âge de 21 ans, il vivait dans des maisons de chambres à 50 sous la nuit dans le district de Bowery à Toronto. À l’âge de 23 ans, avec le courage, l’espoir d’une vie meilleure et la détermination d'aller de l'avant, Frank a commencé le long chemin du retour. Surmontant tous les obstacles qui retiennent les sans-abri, les pauvres et les démunis, il a réussi à rejoindre la société.

En quelques années à peine, il a cofondé Second Cup, qui est rapidement devenu la plus grande chaîne de cafés et de thés gastronomiques du pays. Encouragé par ce succès, il a cofondé Proshred Security (maintenant Iron Mountain Canada), une entreprise pionnière dans l’industrie de la destruction de documents sur place. Il a fait de cette société une organisation internationale opérant au Canada, en Europe et aux États-Unis.

Même en tant qu'entrepreneur confronté à des défis, Frank a pris des mesures pour redonner à la communauté. Il a commencé à s’engager au sein du conseil d'administration d'organismes de bienfaisance et d'organismes à but non lucratif. Il a cofondé Street Kids International, une organisation créée pour aider les enfants sans-abri dans les pays du tiers monde par le biais de programmes visant l'éducation et d'autonomie. Il est devenu le président fondateur de War Child (Canada), une organisation qui lutte contre la souffrance et les mauvais traitements des enfants dans les pays touchés par la guerre. Frank a ensuite lancé la Canadian Landmine Foundation, une organisation qui recueille des fonds et sensibilise les gens au démantèlement des champs de mines dans le monde. Avec l'appui des Nations Unies, du département d'État américain et des Affaires extérieures Canada, il a ensuite lancé le programme mondial de cueillette de fonds annuel le plus réussi de cette organisation, « La nuit d'un millier de dîners », auquel ont participé des milliers de donateurs de 29 pays.

Les réalisations de Frank sont, bien entendu, un travail en cours pour lequel il a reçu une grande reconnaissance publique. Il a reçu deux diplômes universitaires honorifiques et est officier de l'Ordre du Canada. Il est actuellement membre du comité consultatif de World Financial Group et préside Cuso International, une agence de développement présente dans 22 pays. Cette histoire incroyablement inspirante de résilience et de victoire face à l'adversité est racontée dans son autobiographie captivante, « When All You Have Is Hope ».

Amira Elghawaby

JOURNALISTE ET DÉFENSEURe DES DROITS DE L’HOMME

Amira Elghawaby est une journaliste primée et défenseure des droits de la personne. Parallèlement à ses nombreuses apparitions sur les réseaux d’information canadiens et internationaux, Amira a écrit et produit des articles et des commentaires pour CBC Radio, le Ottawa Citizen, le Toronto Star, la Revue littéraire du Canada et le Globe and Mail. Amira a passé cinq ans à promouvoir les libertés civiles des musulmans canadiens à titre d'agente des droits de la personne, puis de directrice des communications au Conseil national des musulmans canadiens (CNCM) de 2012 à l'automne 2017. Elle participe actuellement à plusieurs initiatives visant l’engagement civique dans diverses communautés, notamment en tant que membre fondatrice du conseil d'administration du Réseau canadien contre la haine et du Silk Road Institute, ainsi que conseillère du Muslim Fellowship, à Toronto. Amira a obtenu un baccalauréat spécialisé en journalisme et en droit de l'Université Carleton en 2001.

Steve Day

FONDATEUR ET COMMANDANT DU GROUPE DE TRAVAIL NATIONAL SUR LE CONTRE-TERRORISME CANADIEN

Steve est le fondateur et président de Reticle Ventures Canada Incorporated (Reticle), société de conseil en services de sécurité haut de gamme, prestataire de formation et entrepreneur principal. Passionné par les questions de sécurité nationale et de sécurité publique, il est déterminé à soutenir les hommes et les femmes qui protègent notre mode de vie.

En tant qu'officier d'assaut des opérations spéciales et ingénieur militaire de l'armée, Steve a eu la chance de mener une carrière diversifiée au cours de divers déploiements opérationnels, ce qui lui a permis d'acquérir une expertise extraordinaire dans le domaine. Il fait partie d'un groupe sélectionné de chefs de combat qui supervisent de multiples déploiements et mènent des opérations mondiales couvrant tout le spectre des conflits.

Il possède une vaste expérience tactique ayant mené de nombreuses opérations : secours humanitaires et reprise après sinistre, chapitre VII de la Charte des Nations Unies, évacuation des non-combattants, contre-insurrection. Il a également participé à des opérations nationales et internationales de lutte contre le terrorisme. Son expérience de commandant et d'officier supérieur d'état-major, tant au siège national qu'international, lui a permis d'acquérir des connaissances uniques dans les opérations interinstitutionnelles.

Steve a terminé la sélection et la formation de l’unité nationale de lutte contre le terrorisme du Canada – Force opérationnelle interarmées 2 (JTF2). Il a été commandant d'escadron d'assaut spécialisé pendant 5 ans et officier supérieur d'état-major d'opérations spéciales et d’antiterrorisme pendant 3 ans. Il a été commandant et commandant de base de son unité de 2009 à 2011. Il était le commandant national de la force opérationnelle antiterroriste à l’occasion des Jeux olympiques de Vancouver 2010, des sommets du G8 et du G20 de 2010, ainsi que pour d'autres déploiements opérationnels liés à la sécurité nationale.

Il est titulaire d'un baccalauréat en génie, d'une maîtrise en études de la défense et d'une maîtrise en études stratégiques. Il vit avec son épouse et sa fille à Kingston, Ontario.

Mitchell Beer

Éditeur, The ENERGY MIX, ET PRÉSIDENT, SMARTER SHIFT

Mitchell Beer est l'éditeur de The Energy Mix, une revue électronique publiée trois fois par semaine sur le changement climatique, les futurs sans énergie et sans carbone. Il est le président de Smarter Shift Inc., une entreprise de contenu et de communication basée à Ottawa. Mitchell s’intéresse aux énergies renouvelables et à l’efficacité énergétique depuis 1977, et aux changements climatiques depuis 1997. Il s’intéresse actuellement aux moyens de susciter une demande plus grande et plus forte du public pour une action rapide en faveur de solutions climatiques, tenant compte des champs d’intérêt et priorités des gens ordinaires. Un de ses plus grands moments de fierté a été de construire une éolienne modèle bâtie avec des bâtons en bois avec sa fille de 11 ans. Les répétitions de théâtre d'improvisation de sa fille sont souvent le point culminant de sa semaine.

Guy Laflamme

DIRECTEUR GÉNÉRAL ET réalisateur D’OTTAWA 2017

Guy Laflamme a réalisé des commémorations et des événements importants dans les 30 dernières années. Il est maintenant invité à donner des conférences en Asie, en Europe et en Amérique du Nord, y compris des présentations dans le cadre de conférences TEDx. De 2014 à 2018, il a été directeur général et réalisateur d'Ottawa 2017. En effet, il a été à la tête de la production, s’étendant sur 12 mois complets, de plus de 200 événements et expériences visant à célébrer le 150e anniversaire du Canada. Ottawa 2017 a été la plus grande fête de l’histoire d’Ottawa, car elle a eu un impact économique de plus de 250 millions de dollars. De plus, 11 millions de personnes ont participé aux activités.

M. Laflamme a réalisé certains événements impressionnants à grande échelle, du jamais vu à Ottawa, y compris le Red Bull Crashed Ice, La Machine - une réalisation théâtrale à grande échelle vue par près d'un million de personnes, Ottawa accueille le monde, spectacle son et lumière pour rendre hommage aux peuples autochtones, Kontinuum, première réalisation multimédia souterraine au monde, le Red Bull Global Rallycross, la 125e édition de la Coupe Stanley, Ignite 150, une série de cascades artistiques, Canada's Table, Agri 150 et Sky Lounge. Ces événements ont animé la ville d’Ottawa d’une nouvelle énergie et ont changé la façon de percevoir Ottawa au Canada et dans le monde.

En plus de son rôle de responsable des célébrations pour Ottawa 2017, il a également été président de l’Association internationale des festivals et des événements en 2016 et président du Comité hôte des prix JUNO 2017, 2012 et 2002, une activité célébrant l’industrie de la musique canadienne.  À titre de premier vice-président de la Commission de la capitale nationale, il était responsable des célébrations et des monuments importants. Il était responsable des résidences officielles (résidences du premier ministre du Canada et de la gouverneure générale), tout en gérant les communications et les services aux visiteurs pour la capitale du Canada. M. Laflamme a été invité à donner des conférences en Corée du Sud, à Dubaï, en Roumanie, au Brésil et aux États-Unis. Il a vu et évalué des événements majeurs dans plus de 25 pays.

Parmi ses succès antérieurs, notons les célébrations de la fête du Canada, le Bal de Neige, Mosaika (spectacle son et lumière spectaculaire sur la colline du Parlement) à titre de vice-président principal et Expérience de la capitale à la Commission de la capitale nationale. Il a conçu et réalisé l’incroyable spectacle du millénaire H2K pour le Casino Lac Leamy vu par plus d’un milliard de personnes à la télévision internationale Today 2000. Il a également présidé le Genie Awards Commitee en 2009, gala annuel de l’industrie cinématographique canadien.

Il a été professeur à l’École de gestion Telfer de l’Université d’Ottawa et au programme de MBA pour cadres pendant 25 ans. Il a également enseigné pendant plus de huit ans à l’école de commerce de l’Université de Bucarest. Avec ses étudiants universitaires, M. Laflamme a dirigé un projet humanitaire intitulé « Making Niger Our Business », qui visait à apporter un demi-million de dollars en aide humanitaire au Niger. Plus de 75 groupes de charité locaux ont également reçu des plans d’affaires créés avec ses étudiants EMBA. Guy Laflamme était président de la campagne Centraide en Outaouais en 2011.

Guy Laflamme a été nommé personnalité touristique de l'année par Tourisme Ottawa et Tourisme Outaouais. Il a été reconnu comme personnalité de l’année en marketing par l'Association de marketing de Montréal. En 2017, il a reçu un prix pour l'ensemble de ses réalisations au cours de sa vie professionnelle de l'Association du tourisme de l'Ontario et a été désigné par Radio-Canada-LeDroit comme personnalité de l'année 2017 à Ottawa. L'Université d'Ottawa lui a décerné le titre d'ancien élève 2017, et il a reçu l'Ordre d'Ottawa. Guy Laflamme et Ottawa 2017 ont reçu 15 prix du International Festivals and Events Associations en 2016-2017.

Dan Hendry

COORDINATEUR DES INITIATIVES DURABLES

Dan s'efforce de promouvoir le projet Les initiatives durables pour le Limestone District School Board et est responsable de l'apprentissage et de l'innovation au sein de la communauté au St. Lawrence College. Son souci de l'environnement est ce qui le pousse à prendre des initiatives pour promouvoir des solutions durables au sein de la communauté de Kingston. Il participe à des initiatives qui favorisent un changement positif et durable dans la communauté de Kingston. Son intérêt pour le développement durable, l'innovation, l'entrepreneuriat, le mentorat des étudiants et la communauté s’intègre parfaitement à ses expériences personnelles, académiques et professionnelles. Dan est continuellement à la recherche de nouvelles occasions d’échanger avec des professionnels partageant ses idées et sont engagés dans des initiatives de développement durables et innovantes au sein de la communauté.

Keisha & Teagan Simpson

FONDATRICES DU MOUVEMENT LIVE LIFE UNFILTERED

Keisha et Teagan Simpson, sœurs jumelles de 22 ans, ont grandi étant aux prises avec une image négative de leur corps. Elles tentaient de leur mieux de répondre aux attentes irréalistes de la société en matière de beauté et se comparaient constamment. Après avoir pris conscience que la majorité des jeunes femmes luttaient comme elles, les sœurs ont cofondé Live Life Uniltered (LLU), un mouvement de médias sociaux où des jeunes femmes courageuses et honnêtes partagent les expériences qui provoquent chez elles  un sentiment d'insécurité vis-à-vis leur propre corps, leurs relations interpersonnelles et leur vie en général. @LiveLife_Unfiltered et son hashtag #AsSheIs nous rappellent que derrière chaque photo "parfaite" se trouve une jeune femme qui a vécu des défis et des insécurités semblables. Le défi photo #AsSheIs de LLU a rassemblé plus de 1000 participantes dans plus de 14 pays attestant de la volonté des jeunes femmes à changer la façon dont nous interagissons avec les médias sociaux.

Mathieu Fleury

CONSEILLER DE LA VILLE D’OTTAWA

Mathieu est né et a grandi à Ottawa. À l'université, il a étudié les sciences de l'activité physique et a obtenu une maîtrise de l'Université d'Ottawa. Ayant des intérêts variés, il s’intéresse à la politique du sport, la gestion de projet et la promotion de la santé. Il a récemment été élu à son troisième mandat en tant que conseiller municipal de la meilleure communauté de notre ville - Rideau-Vanier. Dans son rôle, il représente activement trois communautés distinctes : la Basse-Ville, Sandy Hill et Vanier. Mathieu siège chaque année depuis neuf ans au Comité des services communautaires et de protection du conseil d’administration de la Ville qui traite des problèmes de logement et d’itinérance. En tant que président du Conseil d'administration de Logement communautaire d'Ottawa et conseiller d'un quartier touché par l'itinérance, le logement est une priorité pour Mathieu. La Société de logement communautaire d’Ottawa est le plus grand propriétaire de la ville avec plus de 15 000 logements, un fait qui confirme la diversité des communautés dans cette ville.

Marcus Miller

MARCUS THE ARTYST ET CO-FONDATEUR DE MATH+MUSIC

Marcus Miller a commencé à étudier le saxophone à l'âge de neuf ans et, avec l'aide du saxophoniste de renommée mondiale, Bruce Williams (Roy Hargrove, World Saxophone Quartet), a développé une passion qui l’a conduit sur scène à l'âge de 13 ans. Il est diplômé de l'Université de Harvard en mathématiques. Il a d’abord travaillé brièvement pour un fonds d’investissement spéculatif de plusieurs milliards de dollars, puis il s'est installé à New York pour se lancer en musique. Il a rapidement développé une réputation de joueur polyvalent et virtuose, tout en étudiant la production musicale et l’ingénierie auprès de l’ingénieur et gagnant d’un Grammy «Bassy» Bob Brockman (Notorious B.I.G, Herbie Hancock, D’Angelo).

Marcus a joué pour Obama à la Maison-Blanche, au Madison Square Garden, au Forum économique mondial de Davos, au Montreux Jazz Festival, au TEDSummit 2019 à Édimbourg, à The Late Show avec Stephen Colbert en compagnie de Jon Batiste et à Carnegie Hall. Il a également produit des enregistrements avec Benny Blanco et Ryan Tedder. En outre, il est conférencier à la New Jersey Association of Music Educators où il discute de la production et de l’éducation musicales. Il a été reconnu comme artiste de distinction par l’État du New Jersey.

Marcus maintient son intérêt pour les mathématiques et la physique grâce à son projet, Math + Music, une série artistique internationale qui a pour but d’utiliser la musique comme moyen d’exploration d’idées techniques et créatives. Depuis sa création, il a donné un discours à l'Université du Michigan et à Hong Kong. De plus, il a obtenu une résidence au National Museum of Mathematics de New York. Son objectif est d'inciter les gens à sortir des sentiers battus.

Menu