50% OFF subscriptions - 2 days only - Don't miss it! (Starting in:
)
This event has passed
Francophone Theatre
  • Written by Rainald Goetz
  • Translated by Mathieu Bertholet and Christine Seghezzi
  • Directed by Dillon Orr
  • Produced by Théâtre du Trillium (Ottawa, ON)

Théâtre du Trillium takes us on an intimate guided tour of the rarefied world of digital art, casting an ironic eye on the escapades of a representative specimen of this “breed apart”. The project questions everything: the stage, the setup, the position of the actor ... Here, nothing is named; rather, the audience is exposed to a constant challenging of conventional theatrical hierarchies and codes.

Taking as a starting point the figure of Jeff Koons, an artist reviled by critics and adored by collectors, the project aspires to a form of theatre that shines new light on the “pop phenomenon”. Like the American artist’s work, it tackles themes of sexuality, our nostalgia for childhood, and the dream of a perfect world.

Fresh from a creative residency at Premier Acte (Quebec City) and a public performance of a preliminary version at the Chantiers (workshop) of the Carrefour international de théâtre de Québec, Jeff Koons is a digital stage offering from emerging Franco-Ontarian director Dillon Orr.

Artists

  • Written by Rainald Goetz
  • Translated by Mathieu Bertholet and Christine Seghezzi
  • Directed by Dillon Orr
  • Produced by Théâtre du Trillium (Ottawa, ON)
  • With David Bouchard, Annie Cloutier and Alexandre-David Gagnon
  • Music Olivier Fairfield
  • Scenography Pierre Antoine Lafon Simard
  • Assistant director and multimedia design Guillaume Saindon
Menu

Francophone Théâtre
  • Texte Rainald Goetz
  • Traduction Mathieu Bertholet and Christine Seghezzi
  • Mise en scène Dillon Orr
  • Production Théâtre du Trillium (Ottawa, ON)

Le Théâtre du Trillium vous invite à une intime visite guidée du milieu réservé de l’art numérique. Le tout avec un regard empreint d’ironie qui dépeint les frasques d’un spécimen de ce genre « à part ». Le projet interroge tout : la scène, la structuration du plateau, le positionnement de l’acteur… Ici, rien n’est nommé. On partage plutôt avec le public une remise en question permanente des hiérarchies et des codes du système théâtral. 

Prenant pour point de départ la figure de Jeff Koons, artiste maudit par la critique et adoré des collectionneurs, ce projet tente de développer une théâtralité qui porte un nouveau regard sur la « chose pop ». Comme dans l'œuvre de l'artiste américain, on retrouve les thématiques de la sexualité, de la nostalgie de l'enfance et du rêve d'un monde parfait.

Fort d’une résidence de création à Premier Acte (Québec) et d’une présentation publique d’une étape de création aux Chantiers du Carrefour international de théâtre de Québec, Jeff Koons est une proposition scénique numérique de Dillon Orr, metteur en scène franco-ontarien de la relève.

Artistes

  • Texte Rainald Goetz
  • Traduction Mathieu Bertholet and Christine Seghezzi
  • Mise en scène Dillon Orr
  • Production Théâtre du Trillium (Ottawa, ON)
  • Avec David Bouchard, Annie Cloutier et Alexandre-David Gagnon
  • Musique Olivier Fairfield
  • Scénographie Pierre Antoine Lafon Simard
  • Assistance à la mise en scène et conception multimédia Guillaume Saindon
Menu