TD Ottawa JazzFest

Kris Davis and Ingrid Laubrock

This event has passed
Music Jazz

Featuring:

Kris Davis - piano

Ingrid Laubrock- saxophone

Kris Davis - piano

Ingrid Laubrock- saxophone

Kris and Ingrid have collaborated together on many different projects over the years, such as Laubrock’s Anti-House and Davis’s Capricorn Climber—as well as co-led groups like Paradoxical Frog. It is rare to find musicians that have such sensitive interplay and instinct for risky exploration - this performance is not one you want to miss.

“... one method for deciding where to hear jazz on a given night has been to track down the pianist Kris Davis,” - The New York Times. Pianist and composer Kris Davis incorporates the influences of free improvisation, jazz, contemporary classical music and world music into a strikingly personal sound.

Saxophonist/composer Ingrid Laubrock is interested in exploring the borders between musical realms and creating multi-layered, dense and often evocative sound worlds. She is a prolific composer who has written for ensembles ranging from duo to chamber orchestra.

video: Paradoxical Frog (Ingrid Laubrock, Kris Davis, Tyshawn Sorey) - at The Stone, NYC - Aug 1 2014
Paradoxical Frog (Ingrid Laubrock, Kris Davis, Tyshawn Sorey) - at The Stone, NYC - Aug 1 2014
Menu

TD Ottawa JazzFest

Kris Davis and Ingrid Laubrock

Cet événement est passé
Musique Jazz

Avec:

Kris Davis - piano

Ingrid Laubrock- saxophone

Kris et Ingrid collaborent ensemble à de nombreux projets différents depuis plusieurs années, notamment Anti-House de Laubrock et Capricorn Climber de Davis, ainsi que des groupes codirigés comme Paradoxical Frog. Il est rare de trouver des musiciens qui ont une telle sensibilité et un tel instinct pour l’exploration risquée. Vous ne voulez pas manquer ce spectacle.

« Si vous voulez décider où aller pour écouter du jazz un soir donné, recherchez le pianiste Kris Davis » – New York Times. Le pianiste et compositeur Kris Davis intègre les influences de l’improvisation libre, du jazz, de la musique classique contemporaine et de la musique du monde dans un son remarquablement personnel.

La saxophoniste et compositrice Ingrid Laubrock explore les frontières entre les domaines musicaux et la création d’univers sonores multicouches, denses et souvent évocateurs. Compositrice prolifique, elle écrit pour des ensembles allant du duo à l’orchestre de chambre.

video: Paradoxical Frog (Ingrid Laubrock, Kris Davis, Tyshawn Sorey) - at The Stone, NYC - Aug 1 2014
Paradoxical Frog (Ingrid Laubrock, Kris Davis, Tyshawn Sorey) - at The Stone, NYC - Aug 1 2014
Menu