Music For A Sunday Afternoon

Music Classical music Chamber music
  • Saint-Saëns Tarantella for flute, clarinet and piano
  • Guillaume Connesson Techno Parade for clarinet, flute and piano
  • Piazzolla Concierto para Quinteto for string quartet and piano
  • Mendelssohn Concert Piece No. 1, Op. 113 for clarinet, basset horn and piano
  • Weber Clarinet Quintet, Op. 34

Experience the glory of the clarinet and its enigmatic relative the basset horn in today’s concert, curated by and featuring Kimball Sykes, the National Arts Centre Orchestra’s principal clarinetist since 1985.

Camille Saint-Saëns’s playful and spirited Tarantella for flute, clarinet, and piano is fiendishly demanding and frightfully fun, taking the form of a musical dance originating in southern Italy that was said to cure the bite of a tarantula. Dance fast and hard enough, and the poison will leave your body!

Venture inside and outside the piano with Guillaume Connesson’s short, wild, and frenetic Techno Parade, and don’t be surprised if, at the end, you find yourself exhaling a breath you didn’t know you were holding.

Astor Piazzolla’s Concierto para Quinteto is, for many, a new encounter with the expressive sounds and rhythms of Argentina. By turns playful and melancholic, the piece illuminates Piazzolla’s genius and authenticity, brought to joyful life in the hands of these talented players.

Mendelssohn was said to have affectionately titled his Concert Piece No. 1 the “Grand Duet for Steamed Dumplings and Sweet Cheese Strudel.” The work was written to fulfil Mendelssohn’s part of a deal with Munich court musicians Heinrich Joseph Baermann and his son Carl, in exchange for a dinner of Mendelssohn’s beloved steamed dumplings, which he could not get in Berlin. Sean Rice, the NAC Orchestra’s second clarinetist, brings the instrument’s cousin, the basset horn, to life.

The expressive possibilities of Weber’s evocative Clarinet Quintet range from the sublime to the sweet, allowing a perfect instrumental balance between clarinet and string quartet that is rich and smooth as honey.

Menu

Musique pour un dimanche après-midi

14 h 00
Musée des beaux-arts du Canada 380, promenade Sussex Ottawa
Musique Musique classique Musique de chambre
  • Saint-Saëns Tarantelle pour flûte, clarinette et piano
  • Guillaume Connesson Techno Parade pour clarinette, flûte et piano
  • Piazzolla Concierto para Quinteto pour quintette à cordes et piano
  • Mendelssohn Pièce de concert n° 1, pour clarinette, cor de basset et piano, op.113
  • Weber Quintette de clarinettes, op. 34

Redécouvrez la clarinette sous son jour le plus glorieux, ainsi que son énigmatique cousin, le cor de basset, à la faveur d’un concert dont la soliste et programmatrice est Kimball Sykes, clarinette solo de l’Orchestre du Centre national des Arts depuis 1985.

Ludique et pleine d’esprit, la Tarantelle pour flûte, clarinette et piano de Saint-Saëns, œuvre diaboliquement complexe et redoutablement attrayante, épouse la forme d’une danse originaire du sud de l’Italie, où elle avait la réputation de guérir les morsures de tarentule. Si vous dansiez assez vite et assez longtemps, le venin était censé quitter votre corps!

Aventurez-vous dans les entrailles du piano avec la brève, intense et frénétique Techno-parade de Guillaume Connesson. Ne vous étonnez pas, à la fin, d’exhaler un souffle que vous n’aviez pas conscience de retenir depuis un moment.

Le Concerto pour quintette d’Astor Piazzolla est, pour bien des mélomanes, une redécouverte des expressifs sons et rythmes argentins. Tantôt ludique, tantôt mélancolique, l’œuvre laisse éclater le génie et l’authenticité de Piazzolla, s’animant joyeusement entre les mains de ces talentueux musiciens.

On rapporte que Mendelssohn surnommait affectueusement sa « pièce de concert » no 1 « Grand duo pour dumplings vapeur et strudel au fromage ». Le compositeur avait écrit cette œuvre à Munich pour Heinrich Joseph Baermann et son fils Carl, deux musiciens de cour, en échange d’un repas de dumplings vapeur, un mets qu’il appréciait, mais ne trouvait pas à Berlin. Sean Rice, clarinette de l’Orchestre du CNA, fait revivre un cousin de son instrument : le cor de basset.

Menu