Street closures around the NAC during the Santa Claus Parade
Joshua Bell © Shervin Lainez
Joshua Bell © Shervin Lainez
Music Classical music Masterworks Violin
  • Lili Boulanger D’un soir triste
  • Mendelssohn Violin Concerto
  • Jocelyn Morlock My Name is Amanda Todd
  • Debussy La mer

In her brief 24 years, French composer Lili Boulanger made a musical impact belying her youth, and her work has gone on to become a favourite of contemporary artists like Herbie Hancock. Composed at the end of her short, brilliant life, D’un soir triste is full of fragile beauty and raw emotion, evoking the pathos that permeated her home country at the end of the First World War.

With every performance, GRAMMY Award-winning violinist Joshua Bell’s musical superpowers become more evident. Making his third appearance with the NAC Orchestra and Alexander Shelley, Bell performs Mendelssohn’s exquisite Violin Concerto, transporting us to the heart of the Romantic era.

Jocelyn Morlock’s lyrical musical poem My Name is Amanda Todd tells the story of a vibrant 15-year-old who, after suffering for years from cyber abuse, spoke out against harassment and bullying on YouTube. Amanda’s message of hope, empathy, and tolerance caused a worldwide groundswell of support, and is now used by educators and parents to support anti-bullying measures. Commissioned and recorded by Alexander Shelley and the NAC Orchestra, My Name is Amanda Todd garnered a 2018 JUNO for Jocelyn Morlock.

Alexander Shelley perfectly commands the vivid, turbulent creation that is Debussy’s La mer.  The composer evokes the power and beauty of the sea, inspired by visual artists of the time, including the great British painter Turner and master Japanese artist Hokusai and his celebrated print “The Great Wave off Kanagawa”.

Performance is approximately 2 hours including intermission

video: Mendelssohn - Concerto pour violon - Joshua Bell
Mendelssohn - Concerto pour violon - Joshua Bell
Joshua Bell © Shervin Lainez
Menu

Joshua Bell © Shervin Lainez
Musique Musique classique Chefs-d’œuvre Violon
  • Lili Boulanger D’un soir triste
  • Mendelssohn Concerto pour violon
  • Jocelyn Morlock My Name is Amanda Todd
  • Debussy La mer

En tout juste 24 ans, la compositrice française Lili Boulanger a trouvé le moyen de marquer la scène musicale, et son œuvre est aujourd’hui portée aux nues par des artistes de la trempe d’Herbie Hancock. Composé à la fin de sa brève et remarquable existence, D’un soir triste est une œuvre d’une beauté délicate empreinte d’émotion pure, évoquant le pathos dans lequel baignait son pays au terme de la Première Guerre mondiale.

Les super pouvoirs musicaux du violoniste Joshua Bell, lauréat d’un prix GRAMMY, deviennent plus évidents à chacune de ses prestations. Pour son troisième concert avec l’Orchestre du CNA sous la baguette d’Alexander Shelley, il joue le gracieux Concerto pour violon de Mendelssohn, qui nous plonge au cœur de l’ère romantique.

Le lyrique poème musical My Name is Amanda Todd de Jocelyn Morlock évoque l’histoire d’une dynamique jeune fille de quinze ans qui, après avoir subi de la cyberintimidation pendant des années, a dénoncé le harcèlement et l’intimidation sur YouTube. Le message d’espoir, d’empathie et de tolérance d’Amanda a suscité une vague de sympathie dans le monde entier, et est aujourd’hui utilisé par des enseignants et des parents pour appuyer des mesures contre l’intimidation. Commandé et enregistré par Alexander Shelley et l’Orchestre du CNA, My Name is Amanda Todd a valu à Jocelyn Morlock un prix JUNO en 2018.

Alexander Shelley dirige à la perfection cette vive et turbulente création qu’est La mer de Debussy. Le compositeur, inspiré par les artistes visuels de l’époque, dont le grand peintre britannique Turner ainsi que le maître japonais Hokusai et sa célèbre estampe La Grande Vague de Kanagawa, y évoque la puissance et la beauté de la mer.

Durée approximative de 2 heures avec entracte

video: Mendelssohn - Concerto pour violon n°2 - Joshua Bell
Mendelssohn - Concerto pour violon n°2 - Joshua Bell
Joshua Bell © Shervin Lainez
Menu