Earl of March students © Photo: Allen Kaeja

Schooled in Dance – local students creatively connect the dots between movement and storytelling.

Take the youthful exuberance of over 100 talented local students from grades 10 to 12, add three enthralling storytellers with unique, culturally diverse voices, throw in the passionate commitment of some remarkable educators and dance professionals and allow to gestate for a few months – the result?  Creative combustion!

Come and discover the energy, joy, and emotional honesty of Moving Stories – original dance works performed by students interpreting the words of three spoken word artists who join them on stage. Dance that connects people, experience and ideas. 

Featuring storytellers Doreen Stevens, JustJamaal ThePoet and Sarah Waisvisz (Artist in Residence for NAC English Theatre) and students of Earl of March High School.

Moving Stories is a co-production of the Ottawa Carleton District School Board (OCDSB), and NAC Dance. The project was spearheaded by OCDSB Dance Educator Allison Carrier and NAC Dance Education Associate and Teaching Artist Siôned Watkins.

Duration

Performance is approximately 50 minutes with no intermission.

Earl of March students © Photo: Allen Kaeja
Woodroffe students © Photo: S. Watkins
Moving Stories 2016 © Photo: S.Watkins
Menu

Les étudiants d'école Earl of March © Photo : Allen Kaeja

«Schooled in Dance» – des élèves d'écoles locales jettent des ponts créatifs entre le mouvement et le conte.

Prenez l'exubérance juvénile d'au-delà d'une centaine d'élèves talentueux d'écoles secondaires locales (de la 10e à la 12e année), ajoutez-y trois passionnants conteurs au style unique issus de différentes cultures, ainsi que le dévouement de remarquables enseignants et professionnels de la danse, et laissez mijoter quelques mois : c'est la recette d'une explosion de créativité!

Venez découvrir l'énergie, la joie et la sincérité de Moving Stories – des pièces de danse originales interprétées par les élèves sur les mots de trois conteurs qui se joignent à eux sur scène. De la danse qui relie les gens, les expériences et les idées.

Avec les conteurs Doreen Stevens, Jamaal the Poet et Sarah Waisvisz, et des élèves de Earl of March High School.

Moving Stories est une coproduction du conseil scolaire du district d'Ottawa-Carleton (Ottawa-Carleton District School Board – OCDSB), et de Danse CNA. Le projet a été piloté par Allison Carrier, enseignante en danse au OCDSB, et Siôned Watkins, Associée en éducation et artiste-enseignante de Danse CNA. 

Durée

Durée approximative de 50 minutes sans entracte.

Les étudiants d'école Earl of March © Photo : Allen Kaeja
Les étudiants d'école Woodroffe © Photo : S. Watkins
© Photo: S.Watkins
Menu