Marco bleu

Ages 5 to 10

April 2019

  1. Apr 13 2019
    Saturday

    3:00pm Post-Show Chat

  2. Apr 14 2019
    Sunday

    3:00pm

Close
© Julie Charland
Warning: do NOT eat the blue candy. It could be an alien’s eyeball, and then anything could happen! In Larry Tremblay’s cosmogony, strange things can become real, especially if they enter the orbit of the puppets from the Théâtre de l’Œil!

The grass is always bluer on the other side of the fence

Marco meets Marco Bleu. He’s a mirror image of Marco, except he’s all blue. On his planet, it’s always a holiday; there are gift machines and a talking candy dispenser. Then, ding! ding!, the bell rings, and Marco has to choose: go back to his exhausted parents and the screaming baby, or stay forever in this fabulous place. A philosophico-spatial dilemma!

The Théâtre de l’Œil’s amazing puppets embrace Larry Tremblay’s writing in this adaptation of the acclaimed children’s graphic novel Même pas vrai. Like the promise of a starry sky!

 

Playwright’s message

“Marco bleu invites children to engage in a philosophical action: imagining how to live differently. Children think about time, about temporality: why does a week have seven days? Since there are other ways of looking at things, people who live differently, does that allow for more tolerance? All my plays are informed by the notion of the body, what I call playful anatomy. Working with puppets led me to write scenes that I wouldn’t have written for human actors, since the puppet’s body doesn’t suffer like an actor’s. A certain playfulness came into it. And that took me right back to my childhood ...” (Transl.)

 

An out-of-body performance


A conversation with Martine Beaulne

When you read Larry Tremblay’s graphic novel Même pas vrai, what was the trigger, what made you want to adapt this text for the stage?

Larry Tremblay has a particular and authentic imaginary world that wins me over with every new work. Même pas vrai is about young Marco, who has been having a rough time since the birth of his little sister. The timid and naive side of this character who frees himself from a complex emotional reality through the power of his imagination triggered my desire to transpose the story to the stage. Marco’s fantastic inner journey allows him to deal with his new reality, to accept his little sister, to experience freedom of expression through drawing.

Read more on PDF below.

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun

8 Apr

9 Apr

10 Apr

11 Apr

12 Apr

13 Apr

  • 3:00 PM Post-Show Chat

14 Apr

  • 3:00 PM

Duration

Performance is approximately 55 minutes with no intermission.

© Julie Charland
© Richard Lacroix
© Richard Lacroix

Artists

  • With Jérémie Desbiens, Jean-François Pronovost, Julie Renault and Alex Trahan
  • Set design and Marionettes Richard Lacroix
  • Lighting Gilles Perron
  • Sound Ludovic Bonnier
  • Produced by Le Théâtre de l’Œil
Menu

© Julie Charland
Attention : ne mangez PAS le bonbon bleu, ça pourrait être un œil d’extraterrestre, et tout pourrait basculer ! Dans la cosmogonie de Larry Tremblay, l’étrange peut devenir vrai, surtout s’il croise la trajectoire des marionnettes du Théâtre de l’Œil !

L’herbe semble toujours plus bleue chez le voisin

Marco rencontre Marco bleu. Il est tout pareil, mais en bleu. Sur sa planète, c’est toujours congé, il y a des machines à cadeaux, une distributrice de bonbons parlante. Puis, ding ! ding ! bruit de clochettes, Marco doit choisir : retourner auprès de ses parents fatigués et du bébé braillard ou rester pour toujours dans cet endroit fabuleux. Dilemme philosophico-spatial !

Les prodigieuses marionnettes du Théâtre de l’Œil s’arriment à la plume de Larry Tremblay dans cette adaptation de l’acclamé album jeunesse Même pas vrai. Comme la promesse d’un ciel étoilé !

Mot de l’auteur

« Marco bleu propose aux enfants un acte philosophique : imaginer comment vivre autrement. Les enfants vont réfléchir sur le temps, sur la temporalité : pourquoi une semaine de sept jours ? Puisqu’il y a d’autres façons d’envisager les choses, qu’il y a des gens qui vivent différemment, est-ce que cela permet d’être plus tolérant ? Toutes mes pièces sont traversées par l’idée du corps, ce que j’appelle l’anatomie ludique. La marionnette m’a amené à écrire des scènes que je n’aurais pas écrites pour des acteurs, puisque le corps de la marionnette ne souffre pas comme celui d’un acteur. Il y a un ludisme qui s’installe. Et ça m’a replongé dans mon enfance… »

Prêter corps à un autre que soi


Entretien avec Martine Beaulne

À la lecture de l’album Même pas vrai de Larry Tremblay, quel a été le déclencheur, qu’est-ce qui t’a donné envie de transposer ce texte à la scène?

Larry Tremblay a un monde imaginaire particulier et authentique qui me séduit à chacune des parutions de ses œuvres. Même pas vrai met en scène le jeune Marco qui vit des heures difficiles depuis la naissance de sa petite sœur. Le côté timide et naïf de ce personnage qui se libère de cette réalité affective complexe grâce à la force de son imaginaire a été le déclencheur de ce désir de transposition. Ce voyage intérieur et fantastique permettra à Marco de composer avec cette nouvelle réalité, de se réconcilier avec sa petite sœur, de vivre une liberté d’expression à travers le dessin.

Consultez l'entretien dans son intégralité ci-dessous.

© Julie Charland
© Richard Lacroix
© Richard Lacroix
© Michel Pinault
© Michel Pinault
© Michel Pinault
© Michel Pinault

Artistes

En savoir plus ›
  • Avec Eloi Cousineau, Jérémie Desbiens, Julie Renault et Alex Trahan
  • Scénographie et marionnettes Richard Lacroix
  • Lumière Gilles Perron
  • Son Ludovic Bonnier
  • Production Le Théâtre de l’Œil
Menu