Parking this weekend
This event has passed
© Julie Charland
After the touching pair of brothers in Flots, tout ce qui brille voit, Véronique Côté returns with a show for little ones. Here, a pair of closely bonded sisters, a charming set, and surprising answers to the big question “Where can we find comfort?”

Unravelling sadness

If you have an immense sadness, tightly wrapped in a ball of wool, what does it take to unravel it? The basic props are obviously multicoloured ribbons, paper birds, a guitar, and sandwiches to be cut. And then there’s the essential one: a sister with whom to watch the clouds drift by, a sister who knows that spring will return.

This gentle show for two endearing actresses whispers in our ears that time heals all wounds, even the deepest sorrows, because in the end, tears make the flowers grow!

*Only 80 seats available!

Press clipping excerpts

“Véronique Côté has a marvellous talent for finding words and images that speak, with incredible gentleness, to toddlers.... Though they exchange only a few words, the two wonderful performers alternately captivate us, move us, and make us laugh.”

David Lefebvre, montheatre.qc.ca, November 2016 (transl.)

A small question becomes big

A conversation with Véronique Côté

From a more personal point of view, where did you get the idea to talk to children about profound sorrow and consolation?

I often start with a real question that I asked myself as a child, and that I still ask myself as an adult. For Flots, it was “How do you wait without getting hurt?” For Les choses berçantes, it was “How do you console yourself?” I wanted to talk about that. We all have our troubles. And that’s something we have in common with children. Sorrows can be immense when you’re small. And then there are parents whose relationship is in trouble—these things happen ... I wanted to give children a sense of that, in an enlightening way. Sorrows have transformative power; they can lead to more beauty. It seems to me that it’s good to know that early in life.

Learn more in the program notes ›

Duration

Performance is approximately 40 minutes with no intermission.

video: Les choses berçantes (Extraits)
Les choses berçantes (Extraits)
© Julie Charland
© Louise Leblanc
© Louise Leblanc
© Louise Leblanc

Artists

View all artists ›
  • Set design Erica Schmitz
  • Lighting Jean-François Labbé
  • Music Josué Beaucage
  • Artistic direction Hélène Blanchard and Judith Savard
  • Production Le Théâtre des Confettis
Menu

© Julie Charland
Après l’attendrissant duo de frères dans Flots, tout ce qui brille voit, Véronique Côté revient avec un spectacle pour les petits. Ici, un duo de sœurs complices, un décor coquet et des réponses surprenantes à la grande question « Comment on se console ? »

Tristesse à détricoter

Si on a une immense peine, enroulée serré dans une pelote de laine, qu’est-ce que ça prend pour la démêler ? Les accessoires de base sont évidemment des rubans multicolores, des oiseaux en papier, une guitare et des sandwichs à découper. Puis, l’essentiel : une sœur, avec qui regarder défiler les nuages, une sœur qui sait, elle, que le printemps reviendra.

Ce spectacle velours pour deux actrices attachantes nous souffle à l’oreille que tout passe avec le temps, même les chagrins les plus fous, parce qu’au fond, les larmes, ça fait pousser les fleurs !

*80 places seulement !

Dans la presse

Critique du spectacle

« Véronique Côté possède ce merveilleux talent de trouver les mots et les images pour parler, avec une douceur inouïe, aux tout-petits. […] Les deux merveilleuses interprètes captivent, émeuvent et font rire tour à tour, malgré le peu de mots échangés entre elles. »

David Lefebvre, montheatre.qc.ca, novembre 2016

Petite question deviendra grande

Entretien avec Véronique Côté

D’un point de vue plus personnel, d’où est venue l’idée de parler aux enfants d’un chagrin fou et de consolation?

Je pars souvent d’une vraie question que je me posais enfant, et que je me pose encore comme adulte. Pour Flots, c’était « Comment attendre sans se faire mal? » Pour Les choses berçantes, ma question était « Comment fait-on pour se consoler? » J’avais envie de parler de ça. On a tous des peines à réparer. Et c’est quelque chose qu’on partage avec les enfants. Les chagrins peuvent être immenses quand on est petit. Et puis il y a des parents en peine d’amour, ça existe… J’avais envie que les enfants puissent avoir une prise sur ça, une prise lumineuse. Les chagrins ont une force transformatrice, ils peuvent mener à plus de beauté. Il me semble que c’est bien de le savoir tôt dans la vie.

Consultez l'entretien dans son intégralité ci-dessous.

video: Les choses berçantes (Extraits)
Les choses berçantes (Extraits)
© Julie Charland
© Louise Leblanc
© Louise Leblanc
© Louise Leblanc

Artistes

  • Avec Marie-Josée Bastien et Agnès Zacharie
  • Scénographie Erica Schmitz
  • Lumière Jean-François Labbé
  • Musique Josué Beaucage
  • Direction artistique Hélène Blanchard et Judith Savard
  • Production Le Théâtre des Confettis
Menu