© Chris Lee

Leila Josefowicz’s Violin

Casual Friday Series

This event has passed
© Chris Lee
Music Classical music
  • James MacMillan Woman of the Apocalypse
  • Thomas Adès Violin Concerto, “Concentric Paths”

Your Friday, June 7 Leila Josefowicz concert experience includes:

- Pre-concert 5 à 7 with music from the Horn Stars in the Southam Hall Lobby. Tapas and drinks available for sale.
- 90-minute concert without intermission. 
- Post-concert party in the Main Foyer with DJ.

For details on the Thursday, June 6 Leila Josefowicz concert click here.

Adventurous and hugely gifted violinist Leila Josefowicz wows audiences with her unparalleled prowess and energy.  With Leila, guest conductor Joana Carneiro, and the NAC Orchestra, come experience two seminal works by the best of today generation of British composers.  In this Casual Friday concert, we’ll hear musicians’ own takes on tackling brand new music – along with anecdotes of the good, the great, and the impossible.

Composer James Macmillan drew inspiration for his Woman of the Apocalypse from the mysticism of art by the likes of Rubens, Doré, and Blake. In this dramatic, almost hallucinogenic, orchestral piece, the enigmatic “woman clothed by the sun” from the book of Revelation does fierce battle with a dragon before triumphing and ascending into heaven. Alongside the images that inspired MacMillan’s work, this is a provocative and epic creation, no less fevered than the paintings that inspired it.

Thomas Ades’s Violin Concerto: Concentric Paths is an equally energetic and atmospheric piece filled with dense layers of emotion, drama, and beauty.

Music. Food. Wine. Friends. 
A Perfect Way to Enjoy it All.

Unwind at the end of your week with our wildly popular Casual Fridays!

5:30 PM    Pre-concert 5 à 7 with music in the Southam Hall Lobby, OPEN TO ALL whether or not you attend the concert. Enjoy cocktails and tapas, available for purchase. All tapas are prepared by the NAC culinary team drawing inspiration from individual Casual Fridays concerts for an original and authentic flair. You can purchase tapas tickets onsite the night of the concert at a price of $8 per tapa. Tapas Tickets can also be purchased in advance through your my NAC Account or at the box office (4 tapas tickets for $30). Tickets are valid for any Casual Fridays performance during the 2018/19 season.

7 PM    90-minute NAC Orchestra concert without intermission. Each invited, guest concert host connects with the artists on stage to discover more about them and the music. Side screens give the audience a chance to get up close and personal with the evenings performers.

8:30 PM    Post-concert party in the Main Foyer, OPEN TO ALL whether or not you attended the concert. Mix and mingle with fellow music lovers and NAC Orchestra musicians!

Concert made possible in part through the Friends of NAC Orchestra Kilpatrick Fund

Performance is approximately 1 hour and 30 minutes with no intermission.

video:
video: James MacMillan: Woman of the Apocalypse
James MacMillan: Woman of the Apocalypse
© Chris Lee
© Chris Lee
Menu

50% de rabais sur les abonnements - 2 jours seulement - Ne manquez pas ça!
© Chris Lee

Le violon de Leila Josefowicz

Série Vendredis Décontractés

Cet événement est passé
© Chris Lee
Musique Musique classique
  • James MacMillan Woman of the Apocalypse
  • Thomas Adès Concerto pour violon, « Concentric Paths »

Votre expérience de concert du vendredi 7 juin avec Leila Josefowicz comprend :

- Un 5 à 7 d’avant-concert mettant en vedette la musique des Horn Stars dans le Foyer de la Salle Southam. Consommations et tapas en vente sur place.
- Concert de 90 minutes sans entracte. 
- Réception d’après-concert dans le Foyer principal avec DJ.

Pour plus de détails sur le concert de Leila Josefowicz le jeudi 6 juin, cliquez ici.

Violoniste talentueuse et aventureuse, Leila Josefowicz fait le bonheur des auditoires de partout avec son énergie et sa virtuosité incomparables. Venez découvrir deux œuvres majeures de compositeurs britanniques d’aujourd’hui en compagnie de cette dernière, de la chef d’orchestre invitée Joana Carneiro et de l’Orchestre du CNA. Dans ce concert de la série Vendredis décontractés, les musiciens partageront quelques anecdotes et nous parleront de la manière dont ils abordent l’interprétation de la musique nouvelle.

Pour Woman of the Apocalypse, le compositeur James MacMillan a puisé son inspiration dans des œuvres de l’art mystique, comme celles de Rubens, Doré et Blake. Dans cette dramatique composition orchestrale, qui a une dimension presque psychédélique, l’énigmatique « Femme enveloppée de soleil » du Livre des Révélations doit affronter un puissant dragon afin de rejoindre le ciel. À la fois épique et provocatrice, cette œuvre est aussi fiévreuse que le sont les peintures qui l’ont inspirée.

Le Concerto pour violon : Concentric Paths de Thomas Adès est une œuvre elle aussi très dynamique, remplie de rebondissements et de subtilités, qui suscite toute une gamme d’émotions chez les auditeurs.

Musique. Bouchées. Vin. Amis. 
Tout est là pour une soirée réussie.

Finissez la semaine sur une belle note avec notre sensationnelle série de trois concerts!

17 h 30   Le Prélude culinaire dans le Foyer de la Salle Southam est OUVERT À TOUS, aucun billet de concert requis. Des cocktails et des tapas seront en vente. Le menu original et authentique, préparé par l’équipe culinaire du CNA, est inspiré des œuvres au programme. Vous pouvez vous procurer des billets tapas sur place le soir du concert à 8 $ l’unité. Les billets peuvent aussi être achetés à l’avance par l’intermédiaire de votre compte CNA ou à la Billetterie (4 tapas pour 30 $), et sont valables pour toutes les représentations des Vendredis décontractés de la saison 2018‑2019.

19 h    Concert de l’Orchestre du CNA, 90 minutes sans entracte. Chaque animateur invité reçoit les artistes sur scène afin d’en apprendre plus sur eux et sur la musique. Des écrans latéraux permettent au public d’assister à une rencontre intime avec les interprètes de la soirée.   

20 h 30    Réception d’après-concert dans le Foyer principal - OUVERT À TOUS, aucun billet de concert requis. Restez bavarder avec d’autres mélomanes et avec les musiciens de l’Orchestre du CNA!

Concert rendu possible en partie grâce au Fonds Kilpatrick des Amis de l’Orchestre du CNA

Durée approximative de 1 heure et 30 minutes sans entracte.

video:
video: James MacMillan : Woman of the Apocalypse
James MacMillan : Woman of the Apocalypse
© Chris Lee
© Chris Lee
Menu