This event has passed
Adam Lazarus © Alejandro Santiago
Theatre
★★★1/2 (out of 4) "There is no question about its relevance and power!... Undoubtedly impressive." Globe and Mail
  • Created by Adam Lazarus, Ann-Marie Kerr, Jivesh Parasram, Melissa D'Agostino
  • Written and performed by Adam Lazarus
  • Directed by Ann-Marie Kerr

NAC Presentation

QuipTake and Pandemic Theatre Production.

Presesnted by NAC English Theatre

Presented as part of undercurrents.

The most talked-about performance of the 2016 Toronto SummerWorks festival, master clown Adam Lazarus explores the taboos of fatherhood in Daughter, a provocative performance that asks where dads are supposed to file the wilder ideas and experiences of their earlier lives.

Both hysterical and disturbing, Daughter plays in the liminal space between autobiography and fiction. It is a darkly satirical piece about a father stuck in a moment of confusion - raised in patriarchy, confronting his new identity as a patriarch/father, and not knowing how to operate in the world. Are we defined by our past? Where do we draw the line? Can we forgive? Can we change?

Daughter interrogates these questions and examines the beauty and horror of men in the true-bouffon style: stories that expose and laugh at the hypocrisies and difficulties of the human experience. Guaranteed to start a debate!

After the performance of Daughter, stay back for two post-show discussions.

Immediately following the performance, NAC English Theatre Artistic Director Jillian Keiley and special guest Kim Solga, Professor of English Studies at Western University and author of the recent book Theatre & Feminism, will hold a town hall discussion about the themes raised in the play. Audience members will be encouraged to share their thoughts live and in immediate broadcast in the theatre via Twitter through the hashtag #nacdaughter.

Next, join co-creators Adam LazarusAnn-Marie KerrJivesh Parasram and Melissa D’Agostino as they offer their perspectives on the creation, process and reaction around Daughter at the end of their national tour.

Audience advisories: coarse language, loud noises, loud music. 

Duration

Performance is approximately 60 minutes with no intermission.

Adam Lazarus © Alejandro Santiago

Artists

  • Created by Adam Lazarus, Ann-Marie Kerr, Jivesh Parasram, Melissa D'Agostino
  • Written and performed by Adam Lazarus
  • Directed by Ann-Marie Kerr
  • Sound and Composition Design by Richard Feren
  • Lighting Design, Stage Management and Technical Direction by Michelle Ramsay
  • Producers for Pandemic Theatre Jivesh Parasram and Tom Arthur Davis
  • Producer for QuipTake Theatre Adam Lazarus
Menu

Cet événement est passé
Adam Lazarus © Alejandro Santiago
  • Création de Adam Lazarus, Ann-Marie Kerr, Jivesh Parasram, Melissa D'Agostino
  • Texte et interprétation de Adam Lazarus
  • mise en scène de Ann-Marie Kerr

Présentation du CNA

Une coproduction de QuipTake et du Pandemic Theatre.

Présentation du Théâtre anglais du CNA,

Présenté dans le cadre d’undercurrents.

La production la plus abondamment commentée du festival SummerWorks 2016 à Toronto. Adam Lazarus, maître clown, se penche sur les tabous de la paternité dans Daughter, une prestation provocatrice qui pose la question de la place que les papas devraient réserver aux idées et aux expériences un peu folles de leur jeunesse.

À la fois hilarant et perturbant, Daughter se situe à la frontière entre autobiographie et fiction. La pièce sombre et satirique porte sur un père frappé par un sentiment d’incertitude perpétuelle. Issu d’un monde patriarcal, le protagoniste est confronté à son nouveau rôle de père de famille et à une réalité jusqu’alors inconnue. Sommes-nous définis par notre passé? Quelles sont nos limites? Pouvons-nous pardonner? Changer?      

Daughter soulève ces questions et explore la beauté et la laideur de l’homme à travers des histoires qui mettent en lumière et ridiculisent l’hypocrisie et les difficultés qui caractérisent la race humaine. Un spectacle qui fait jaser!

Après la représentation de Daughter, vous êtes conviés à deux discussions d’après-spectacle.

Immédiatement après la pièce, la directrice artistique du Théâtre anglais, Jillian Keiley, et son invitée Kim Solga, professeure d’études anglaises à l’Université Western et auteure d’un ouvrage publié récemment, Theatre & Feminism, tiendront une discussion publique au sujet des thèmes soulevés dans la pièce. Le public sera invité à  livrer ses réflexions en direct dans Twitter à l’aide du mot-clic #nacdaughter.

Puis, joignez-vous aux créateurs Adam LazarusAnn-Marie KerrJivesh Parasram et Melissa D’Agostino qui feront part de leurs idées et points de vue sur la création de la pièce et sur la réaction du public, alors que s’achève leur tournée nationale à Ottawa. 

Durée

Durée approximative de 60 minutes sans entracte.

Adam Lazarus © Alejandro Santiago

Artistes

  • Création de Adam Lazarus, Ann-Marie Kerr, Jivesh Parasram, Melissa D'Agostino
  • Texte et interprétation de Adam Lazarus
  • mise en scène de Ann-Marie Kerr
  • conception sonore Richard Feren
  • éclairages et régie Michelle Ramsay
  • les producteurs du Pandemic Theatre Jivesh Parasram et Tom Arthur Davis
  • producteur du QuipTake Theatre Adam Lazarus
Menu