NAC Orchestra Chamber Concert in Iqaluit

Fundraiser for a Nunavut Performing Arts Centre

Leela Gilday and Sylvia Cloutier

NAC Co-presentation

Alianait Arts Festival is delighted to partner with the Qaggiavuut Society and the National Arts Centre to present this special concert as a fundraiser for a Nunavut Performing Arts Centre.

The world-class National Arts Centre Orchestra and music director Alexander Shelley are bringing their Canada 150 Tour north! Join Shelley, musicians from the National Arts Centre Orchestra, and some special guests for a unique, intimate concert of chamber music. Classical meets contemporary in a program including the world premiere of a work featuring throatsinger Sylvia Cloutier and Yellowknife’s Leela Gilday.

Sylvia Cloutier

Sylvia Cloutier, originally from Kuujjuaq, Nunavik (Northern Quebec) but now living in Iqaluit, is well-known for performing Inuit throatsinging and drum dancing. She has collaborated with many artists all over the world and joined Governor General Michaëlle Jean on a state visit to Norway and Ukraine in 2009.

Leela Gilday

A passionate singer-songwriter and soulful performer, Leela Gilday has a voice that comes straight from the heart. Confessing her stories to her audiences with a gutsy voice and open stage presence, Gilday weaves her experiences as a Northerner, a member of the Dene nation and a traveller into a beautiful world that transports the listener.

Leela Gilday and Sylvia Cloutier
Menu

Concert de musique de chambre de l’Orchestre du CNA à Iqaluit

Concert-bénéfice pour un centre des arts de la scène au Nunavut

Cet événement est passé
Leela Gilday et Sylvia Cloutier

Coprésentation du CNA

Alianait Arts Festival est heureux de s’associer à la Qaggiavuut Society et au Centre national des Arts pour présenter ce concert-bénéfice exceptionnel en soutien à un centre des arts de la scène au Nunavut.

Le prestigieux Orchestre du Centre national des Arts et son directeur musical, Alexander Shelley, visitent le Nord dans le cadre de leur Tournée Canada 150! Joignez-vous à M. Shelley, à des musiciens de l’Orchestre du CNA et à leurs invités spéciaux pour un concert de musique de chambre unique et intime. Le programme se compose à la fois d’œuvres classiques et de pièces contemporaines, et comprend la première mondiale d’une composition de l’interprète de chant de gorge Sylvia Cloutier et de Leela Gilday, de Yellowknife.

Sylvia Cloutier

Originaire de Kuujjuaq, au Nunavik (dans le nord du Québec), et vivant aujourd’hui à Iqaluit, Sylvia Cloutier est bien connue pour ses talents en danse du tambour et en chant de gorge inuit. Elle a collaboré avec de nombreux artistes dans le monde entier et a accompagné l’ex-gouverneure générale Michaëlle Jean lors d’une visite officielle en Norvège et en Ukraine en 2009.

Leela Gilday

Auteure-compositrice-interprète passionnée et artiste d’une grande profondeur, Leela Gilday possède une voix qui vient directement du cœur. Confessant ses histoires devant public sur un ton hardi et avec une généreuse présence scénique, Leela dépeint, par ses expériences de Ténoise, de Dénée et de voyageuse, un magnifique univers qui transporte l’auditoire.

video: En répétition avec Leela Gilday et Sylvia Cloutier
En répétition avec Leela Gilday et Sylvia Cloutier
Leela Gilday et Sylvia Cloutier
Des musiciens do l'Orchestre du CNA © Marnie Richardson
Menu