In the third concert of its 2017-2018 season, the Ottawa Jazz Orchestra presents a tribute to the incredible talent of Billy Strayhorn. Strayhorn’s evocative and seriously swinging compositions and collaborations with Duke Ellington will be performed by a full Ellington-style big band and OJO resident vocalist, Diane Nalini. Featuring music from the tribute album, And His Mother Called Him Bill, excerpts from the fabulously exotic Far East Suite, a wonderful collection of Strayhorn tunes sung by Ella Fitzgerald with the Ellington orchestra, and more.

The Ottawa Jazz Orchestra (OJO), based in Ottawa and founded in 2006, brings together many of Canada’s finest professional jazz and symphony orchestra musicians under the direction of bassist Adrian Cho. This unique ensemble has garnered kudos from both critics and audiences for its highly entertaining, innovative and educational presentations of seminal jazz-centric music performed by a diverse range of small and large ensembles.

Purchase tickets for all five season concerts for $140 (regular price $165).
Purchase tickets for any three season concerts for $89 (regular price $99).
Offer available in person at the NAC Box Office or by phone at 613 947-7000 x620.

One lucky audience member at this concert will win a dinner for two at Madisons New York Grill & Bar where a trio from the OJO performs each Saturday night. Details of the weekly lineup of musicians at Madisons can be found at the OJO website at ottawajazzorchestra.com/#madisons.

Menu

Cet événement est passé

Dans le troisième concert de sa saison 2017-2018, l’Ottawa Jazz Orchestra présente un hommage à l’extraordinaire talent de Billy Strayhorn. Les compositions swing éloquentes et brillantes que Strayhorn a créées seul et en collaboration avec Duke Ellington seront interprétées par un big band complet, « à la Ellington », avec la chanteuse résidente de l’OJO, Diane Nalini. Au programme, on entendra la musique de l’album hommage And His Mother Called Him Bill, des extraits de l’exotique Far East Suite, un florilège de chansons créées par Ella Fitzgerald avec l’orchestre d’Ellington, et plus encore.

Basé à Ottawa et fondé en 2006, l’Ottawa Jazz Orchestra (OJO) réunit bon nombre des meilleurs musiciens de jazz et de musique symphonique du Canada, sous la direction du contrebassiste Adrian Cho. Cet ensemble hors du commun s’est attiré les éloges de la critique et les vivats du public pour ses présentations très divertissantes, à la fois novatrices et instructives, d’œuvres musicales de référence dans la sphère du jazz, interprétées par un éventail d’ensembles de différentes tailles.

Achetez vos billets pour les cinq concerts de la saison pour 140 $ (prix à l’unité : 165 $).
Achetez vos billets pour trois concerts de la saison pour 89 $ (prix à l’unité : 99 $).
Offert en personne à la Billetterie du CNA ou par téléphone au 613 947-7000, poste 620.

Un membre de l’auditoire de ce concert aura la chance de remporter un repas pour deux au Madisons New York Grill & Bar, où un trio de l’OJO se produit tous les samedis soirs. Pour savoir quels sont les musiciens qui se produisent chaque semaine au Madisons, consultez le site web de l’OJO : ottawajazzorchestra.com/#madisons.

Menu