The Wooden Sky

The Wooden Sky

Swimming in Strange Waters, the title of The Wooden Sky’s fifth full-length album is an abridged quote from Frank Herbert’s 1965 sci-fi novel, Dune: “Survival is the ability to swim in strange water.” It’s a phrase that seems especially apt in 2017, as many of us are still reeling from the previous year. For Gavin Gardiner, the frontman of the Toronto-based indie rock band, the way to understand and reconcile these unknowns — from oil pipelines and refugee crises to his own family’s personal history— is through songwriting.

 The band (made up of Gardiner, multi-instrumentalists Simon Walker and Andrew Wyatt, violinist Edwin Huizinga and drummer Andrew Kekewich) started writing and recording demos in a small farmhouse in rural Quebec in January 2015, but then put them aside as they embarked on a year-long tour in support of their previous album, Let’s Be Ready.

The resulting album is a sonic maelstrom that sees the band exploring unchartered waters, where textural psychedelia inspired by the Paisley Underground movement melds into quiet, acoustic cyclical guitar melodies. While Let’s Be Ready found the Wooden Sky writing a pure “rock and roll” album, Swimming in Strange Waters sees the band experimenting once again.
 

video:
The Wooden Sky
The Wooden Sky
The Wooden Sky
Menu

The Wooden Sky

The Wooden Sky

Swimming in Strange Waters, le cinquième album de The Wooden Sky, est une citation abrégée du roman de science-fiction écrit en 1965 par Frank Herbert intitulé Dune: “Survival is the ability to swim in strange water.” Il s’agit-là d’un énoncé particulièrement pertinent en 2017, puisque la plupart d’entre nous tentent encore de se remettre de l’année dernière. Pour Gavin Gardiner, membre principal du groupe indie-rock torontois, la meilleure façon de comprendre et de rapprocher ces inconnus — des oléoducs aux crises de réfugiés, en passant par les antécédents de sa propre famille — est de composer des chansons.

C’est en janvier 2015 que le groupe (composé de Gardiner, des multi-instrumentistes Simon Walker et Andrew Wyatt, du violoniste Edwin Huizinga et du batteur Andrew Kekewich) a commencé à écrire et à enregistrer des démos dans une petite maison de ferme située dans le Québec rural. Ces enregistrements ont été mis de côté puisque le groupe a entamé une tournée d’un an afin de promouvoir son album précédent, Let’s Be Ready.

L’album qui en est ressorti est un tourbillon sonore par lequel le groupe explore de nouveaux éléments, où la texture psychédélique inspirée du mouvement Paisley Underground se fond aux douces mélodies acoustiques cycliques de la guitare. Avec Let’s Be Ready, Wooden Sky a écrit un album purement rock and roll, alors qu’avec Swimming in Strange Waters, il s’est permis un retour à l’expérimental.

The Wooden Sky
The Wooden Sky
The Wooden Sky
Menu