The Julian Taylor Band

Beautiful songwriting that connects. I absolutely love every beat, every note, every nuance.

Pat Blythe, Cashbox Magazine

What a pleasure it is to find in the monoculture of the current musical moment a group of musicians bold and talented enough to be various. In an era when music lovers seem to be required to like one thing, one style, one genre we get the protean of the Julian Taylor Band confident enough in their own abilities to delimit the genres and let the soulful beats resound from wider horizons. Here we have rhythm and blues, hard rock, thoughtful folky songs, and even a little hip-hop.

In one way it signals something new —an exciting amalgamation of musical styles too long held apart. But in another way it’s a return to roots – the roots of the Toronto sound.  Julian Taylor is a natural heir to this rich tradition.

His music arises naturally from deep steeping in the historically mixed musical milieu that begat it. It has the comfortability of an open mind a wide palette and an experienced and inspired musical talent. So, welcome to the smorgasbord. I think you’ll find it very flavourful. Or as the song says “Ooh that spice is nice.”

 

The Julian Taylor Band is supported by Slaight Music.

video:
The Julian Taylor Band
Menu

The Julian Taylor Band

Quel plaisir que de trouver la monoculture du moment musical présent, un groupe de musiciens suffisamment ambitieux et talentueux pour adopter un style diversifié. Dans une ère musicale où les adeptes de musique semblent devoir aimer une chose, un style, un genre, nous découvrons The Julian Taylor Band, suffisamment confiant en ses aptitudes pour redéfinir les genres et permettre aux rythmes émouvants de nous parvenir de plus vastes horizons. Ce groupe nous offre du rhythm and blues, du rock, du folk et même une touche de hip-hop.

D’une certaine façon, il s’agit d’un vent nouveau – un amalgame de styles musicaux qui ont trop longtemps été tenus à l’écart les uns des autres. D’une autre, il s’agit d’un retour aux sources – les sources du son propre à Toronto. Julian Taylor est un héritier naturel de cette riche tradition.

Sa musique émane naturellement du milieu musical diversifié dans lequel il a baigné. Elle présente l’ouverture d’esprit et l’inspiration des talents musicaux dont le groupe est composé. On accueille son caractère éclectique à bras ouverts. Vous trouverez sans doute que sa musique a du goût, ou comme l’une de ses chansons le rend si bien, « Ooh that spice is nice. »

 

The Julian Taylor Band reçoit l’appui de Slaight Music.

The Julian Taylor Band
Menu